• Replies 14.2k

Off to nissan tomorrow to get prices on the following. Hope i get change from 1500.

• Timing Belt

• NSK timing belt idler bearing

• Tensioner Bearing spring

• 2x Cam seal

• 1x Front crank seal

• NSK timing belt tensioner bearing

re all of the above

call CBC and ask for joel (joeleo87) he can get the gates racing rb26 kit damn cheap, tell him dohmar sent ya

-D

Apparently theres some good/bad stories going around with gates so going genuine. Get trade price anyways :)

the gates belt is the same thing as most other blue backed belt kits (i cant recall the company name but i know the gates kit is also sold under 3 other names yet it is the same kit).

I'm with heslo, my kit has never been an issue since i fitted that, my n1 waterpump, silicon radiator hose and isc 52mm rad - was all done at the same time, im quite happy to trust the gates kit for a street car.

if you're pulling 1000kw then OK. maybe not the right application. do ur research is all im saying, from me, imho, +1 gates

-D

http://www.skylinesaustralia.com/forums/Ti...03#entry3879503

Take a read. Some very interesting points.

inconclusive

i got mine done 8 months ago in feb

no noise noticed

have not had a single issue

a poster in tha thread makes note of gates making the original replacement unit

and if this is so, a simple hard backed lacquer would not impede the function

i dont know of anyone of the non mechanics have looked at old nissan rubber belts, most of them have dimples upon the rear side of the rubber, a sure sign that its worn in anyones book. the blue coating is simply there to reinforce teh rubber and prevent it from deforming. naturally it will happen with any belt,.its just the hardended blue tar backing can handle the torque of big buggeroff engines

regardless of the kit you choose, it'll last u proportionatlely as to how u drive ur car

-D

Are the Toyo R888's road legal? I know they're semi's, but I thought the R1R's were the 'slickest' road tire?

I sometimes use my R888's on the street, haven't used them in the rain though. Awesome grip on the street but very noisy on smooth road surfaces.

i seem to get a fair bit of bubbling noises outa my car when i switch it off in this weather.

tripple checked the coolent levels after it cooled down and they seem ok, temp gauge seems pretty happy to while driving :) strange cars

My skyline does it to. Think i might replace my coolant and see if it helps stop it.

anyone want to donate to my winch fund?

im sick of pushing busted cars onto my trailer............they're fecking heavy LOL

buy a hand winch you lazy SOB :P

i seem to get a fair bit of bubbling noises outa my car when i switch it off in this weather.

tripple checked the coolent levels after it cooled down and they seem ok, temp gauge seems pretty happy to while driving :action-smiley-069: strange cars

Temp gauge wont show anything until it's too late. It'll sit half way until the head gasket has warped, then it might jump up slightly. Bubbling noises means it's bubbling in the over-flow tank. You might have a block in a hose or it's over-heating.

My mate had the same issues in his old car. Bubbling when he turned it off which came from the over-flow tank but the temp gauge showed fine. A few days later one of the hoses split open... then the head gasket warped itself.

Dohmar, do you know what water temps your car is running on an average day, with the ISC radiator?

Mines currently running at 80 degree's but that's on a 41 degree day. Never gets higher than that.

couldnt tell ya as like u said, the water temp gauge sits in the centre most of the time and I dont have an aftermarket one

-D

couldnt tell ya as like u said, the water temp gauge sits in the centre most of the time and I dont have an aftermarket one

-D

Best investment I made was fitting a 52mm alloy rad. Stagea stays cool all day every day, even in 40+ temps.

:action-smiley-069:

i get up to mid 90's (warmer as in not the weather weve been having) on warmer days. should probably do something about that.

What's the point where you have to basically change your oil? Is it 120 degree's it starts to break down?

Mine sits on 80ish on most days yet it was up to 100 on that 41 degree day when I was trying to go up that Willunga hill. Ah. Then once I made it to the top it went back to 90.

^ top one is a 300ZX :P

any one wanna add to my work van fixing fund?

Problem #1... put diesel in it when i picked it up, didnt start, had to wait half hour for it to ''cool down''

Problem #2...smashed the rear window on my gate when i opened the door

Problem #3... scratched the Mc'fek outta the insulation on the side walls while loading in the crane.

Problem #4... dented the refridgeration unit with said engine crane.

Problem #5...leaked about 3 litres of engine oil all over teh inside floor.

wasted 9 bucks with the high pressure hose trying to squirt it out, sorta succeeded.

oh and dont forget the speeding fine i got on the way home, 67 in a 60 me thinks ;)

I REALLY HOPE YOU APPRECIATE THAT CHEAP RB20 WITH ''FREE'' DELIVERY ANDREW!!!!!

:(

lol damn man that wasn't the luckiest arvo for ya I guess. You could probably also add 'Problem #6...stupid GPS wasted a good 15 minutes making me do laps of Lobethal' to that list as well :action-smiley-069:

Nah cheers heaps for bringin it up here mate, gonna drive the sil to Jake's today and get shit happening :rofl:

Edited by AndrewJZX100