• Replies 343

Hey Chris,

You are right on this one the passenger side headlight is slightly higher than the driver side.

check out the Gap underneath the lights on this one between left and right ...

I reckon it also looks slightly pushed in more compared to the drivers side lights...causing it to look slightly higher

look at the bonnet clearance between the top of the two lights as well.

Edited by jaxt

I did some quick calculations for ya bro.

3 mil yen + your usual FOB of 100,000-150,000 yen would be about $39,500 AUD

Duty on 39,500 bucks is $1975 (5% as of 1/1/2010)

GST would be (39,500 + 1,975) x 10% equals $4148.

So total inclusive of taxes is about $45622 AUD

Then allow about $2300 for shipping and misc shipping/customs/port charges, aqis inspection, quarantine cleaning, local tow truck

Compliance fee, depends where you go, between 2 to 3 grand.

Then finally rego costs, im guessing about 1k.

So what's that, about $51,500 all up.

There you go :D

Todays GTR search experience.

Have just got off the phone about another GTR i saw myself crawling back to out of curiosity.

http://www.carsales.com.au/all-cars/privat...id=1256BC163248

It is already in Sydney, previously had the number plates POSSM. 'Lady owner', after posting up on SAU and asking about its history - it appears that it was the husband and the sons which gave it quite a hard life and that explains why it is in the condition it is today. Husband and wife were not on talking terms, and from how she had advertised the car - she said that she didnt even want her husband to know where she lives.

Its had a full engine rebuild, seller originally told me a few months ago that it was because there were plans for the car to make it even quicker. It had a rick shaw racing sticker on the back, so i called rick shaw directly - and he told me that the engine was rebuilt because it spun the bottom end and needed a rebuild.

Car is rough as guts, inside and out and drove like complete shit, but at the recent 40k negotiable price drop - i thought to myself, hey - maybe i'll give it a second chance.

However, i just got off another phone call with the seller, and she told me that her ex husband now has the car again. WTF? The same ex husband that she was afraid to know where she lived, the same ex husband that apparently thrashed the car. Whats going on here?

Worst case scenario - If they are not on good terms, and he knows that she's selling the car - its probably getting an ever harder time right now than it ever did before.

Walking away again.. but a real a shame to see what was once such a sexy car get thrashed in what is apparently the middle of a domestic dispute. Or is she even divorced and its just a sales tactic? hmmmm..

End of the day, price would have been dropped because its coming up for rego in feb - and theres no way it would pass in its current state

YEAH YOUVE DONE THE RIGHT THING WALKING AWAY FROM THIS ONE.

still... $40k for a early model v-spec, bought locally is a pretty nice price.

you should buy it then let us know what happens. i always enjoy a good laugh.

there are a 2x midnight purple, black and silver r34 gtr's going to auction tomorrow for anyone whos interested. all grade 4 - 4.5 and look pretty sweet :D

Edited by KR4-GTR

QUOTE: (KR4-GTR @ 20 Dec 2009, 12:19 AM) post_snapback.gif1) i dont want to directly impact the chances of anyone selling their car, so i'll have to stay very light on the details with this one. anyway, my personal experience - this guy constantly lied through his teeth about the car just to get me to fly over to melbourne, and then turned into a complete 2 faced immature and arrogant c*nt when i told him politely that im not going to go through with buying it (even though i never actually made any promises to start with!) on a side note, it would be perfect if you're after a car which is 2 completely different shades of blue - front / back.

http://www.carsales.com.au/all-cars/privat...id=125A907BF199

hah so it is you! I am a close friend of the seller of this car. He was saying Chris had been calling him all week (I personally witness a few of it), asking all sorts of questions and requesting photos. My friend obliged to all requests (so how did the seller lied to you to get you to Melbourne?) and even took the day off to have a third party inspection with him. Chris came to Melbourne and it took him ten minutes to decide the car has been repsprayed at the back panel. With that, my friend is still happy for him to do an third party inspection to verify his suspicions and Chris refused.

I have seen the car in real flesh and it has been verified by the mechanics who have worked on it that the car's panel has not been resprayed and the car has no accident history.

Come on Chris, you did not like the car or couldn't afford it, please do not put up posts like that. Basically, you have nothing to prove that the car has been reprayed other than your visual inspections (maybe get your eyes checked?)

Imagine if you have done the same thing with this seller as with a dealer, you would have been f**ked as well depsite your so called "politeness". Grow up mate! I felt sorry for my friend when I heard the story from him and now you are posting this on the forums.

Who is the complete 2 faced immature and arrogant c*nt now?

you should buy it then let us know what happens. i always enjoy a good laugh.

there are a 2x midnight purple, black and silver r34 gtr's going to auction tomorrow for anyone whos interested. all grade 4 - 4.5 and look pretty sweet :D

any chance of putting up the auction sheet/pictures of the midnight purple r34's ??

QUOTE: (KR4-GTR @ 20 Dec 2009, 12:19 AM) post_snapback.gif1) i dont want to directly impact the chances of anyone selling their car, so i'll have to stay very light on the details with this one. anyway, my personal experience - this guy constantly lied through his teeth about the car just to get me to fly over to melbourne, and then turned into a complete 2 faced immature and arrogant c*nt when i told him politely that im not going to go through with buying it (even though i never actually made any promises to start with!) on a side note, it would be perfect if you're after a car which is 2 completely different shades of blue - front / back.

http://www.carsales.com.au/all-cars/privat...id=125A907BF199

hah so it is you! I am a close friend of the seller of this car. He was saying Chris had been calling him all week (I personally witness a few of it), asking all sorts of questions and requesting photos. My friend obliged to all requests (so how did the seller lied to you to get you to Melbourne?) and even took the day off to have a third party inspection with him. Chris came to Melbourne and it took him ten minutes to decide the car has been repsprayed at the back panel. With that, my friend is still happy for him to do an third party inspection to verify his suspicions and Chris refused.

I have seen the car in real flesh and it has been verified by the mechanics who have worked on it that the car's panel has not been resprayed and the car has no accident history.

Come on Chris, you did not like the car or couldn't afford it, please do not put up posts like that. Basically, you have nothing to prove that the car has been reprayed other than your visual inspections (maybe get your eyes checked?)

Imagine if you have done the same thing with this seller as with a dealer, you would have been f**ked as well depsite your so called "politeness". Grow up mate! I felt sorry for my friend when I heard the story from him and now you are posting this on the forums.

Who is the complete 2 faced immature and arrogant c*nt now?

I hate people that do this crap in threads so..

Way to back up your friend by swearing and being an immature idiot.. It gets things no where and damages your integrity.

If you have a problem don't go about it this way, Send him a PM or speak to a moderator as its irrelavent to the thread.. Also sounds to me from your description you only have second hand information so some of what you heard can be exaggerated..

Also saying your mechanics have verified the body work of the car with no examples doesnt really do much, considering a mechanic would work on internals unlike a spray painter/panel beater who would know a great deal more.. Feel free to get the proper inspections done with a refference to prove if you wish, Though most reading this thread wont care as they are not in the market for a GTR.

Chris was obviously interested in buying the car, hence why he travelled to another state. If he didnt like it for whatever reason he had then there would be no need to do any further inspections as he had made a decision. Thats the kind of things that happen when selling a car..

Try calming down before posting next time as your post doesnt make complete sense.. Also please dont respond attacking me as I wont dignify it with a response..

Look guys, Chris swore when he wrote about my friend's car.

Secondly, the thread is about importing a R34 GTR and now he is listing the cars he had seen locally and listing the bad things about each car and the seller as well. Some of it maybe true and some maybe not. Regardless, it is irrelevant to the thread as it is about importing cars.

He should also maintain his integrity as a buyer even though he has every right and obligation not to buy a car. Listing bad things about the car itself is one thing, attacking the seller is another. That is all I am trying to say and aggroman, you are right, I should PM the moderator about this thread.

Chris just wants to share with us his opinion about what to expect from some advertised cars and what to expect from the seller as well.

that's all ...

Edited by isr3

Secondly, the thread is about importing a R34 GTR and now he is listing the cars he had seen locally and listing the bad things about each car and the seller as well. Some of it maybe true and some maybe not. Regardless, it is irrelevant to the thread as it is about importing cars.

He should also maintain his integrity as a buyer even though he has every right and obligation not to buy a car. Listing bad things about the car itself is one thing, attacking the seller is another. That is all I am trying to say and aggroman, you are right, I should PM the moderator about this thread.

Hey Mate,

Just Chill dude ... We are here to check what's on the Market wanting to share the GTR Hunting Experience.

Chis is here to share his experience from what he see and if only you could look at things from his point of view.

Nobody would like to spend like 50K and realized it's a Lemon (Not saying you friends's car is one)

Obviously Chris is a very interested Buyer that Flew Interstate to view the vehicle and if your friend can provide all the details required and it's to Chris's personal liking, this could have been a Sweet Deal ...

But unfortunately this didn't happen and personal comments from Chris were Greatly appreciated as part of his GTR Hunting experience.

I wish your friend luck with finding another buyer ;)

i dont need to personally pay $300 for third party inspection just to prove a point and just to tell me the whole rear of a car has been resprayed when i already know. i can figure these things out on my own. however the fact that the paint was completely two different tones of blue, had a shit load of orange peel and a faded clear coat makes it blatantly obvious. id question the workmanship of these 'mechanics' if they couldnt point it poor body work for you or your friend.

your ‘friend’ lied to me saying the car had all original paint and was in mint condition. its far from it. even the drivers seat was falling to pieces when I last saw it, it even had sticky tape all over it holding it together. and after the paint, I didnt even see a need to view it any further and walked back to my hotel room in disgust.

i did fly to melbourne to see that car, and to be honest - i dont give a f**k if your ‘friend’ had to take 15 minutes out of his day to show me the car. He didn’t take the day off, he even went back to work after I saw the car. What is with you both? You just cant stop lying can you. im the one who flew there from Sydney based on this web of lies and deceit. And to top it off - your mate has an attitiude and its what sent me over the edge in the first place, snapping when I told him im not going to go forward buying it. f*ck him - nobodys going to pressure me into buying a car.

anyway - your friends car is old news, and a depressing experience that i personally would like to forget. so i suggest you do the same and simply just move on. im documenting all of my gtr experiences, so dont feel f**king special.

And yes, please PM the mods and ask them kindly to clean up all of the unnecessary mess you have made.

Edited by KR4-GTR
He was saying Chris had been calling him all week (I personally witness a few of it), asking all sorts of questions and requesting photos.

Ok, looking at the pics which the seller did send me as requested, i admit - it is partially my fault, i should have been able to pick out the lies just by this particular photo. The car is two completely different shades of blue and its very obvious in the picture, even more so in person. Even though it crossed my mind, i took the sellers word and this is where i failed.

Your 'friend' has already wasted enough of my time, money and energy so sorry to dissapoint you, but im not going to even bother writing anymore about it - even if you do happen to reply. A picture (even the one attached below) tells 1000 words.

And you're both off my Christmas card list.

post-54322-1262002378_thumb.jpg

Edited by KR4-GTR