hey all. im after some pics and ideas on a dry sump design for rb26. after much searching ive not had much luck.

i need to know what sort of bracket setup will work for drivers side mounting of the pump.

and more importantly, will the more common chev pumps be able to be used on the drivers side? etc etc.

ive got some acces to some auto verdi nascar pumps...

thanks in advance

ps, how many stage is needed, i was thinking 4 would be heaps, but can be done with 3?

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/293736-rb26-drysumpexternal-oil-pump/

• Replies 53

im keen on pics too as ive been researching this topic for a fair while now as im building a dry sump for mine.

im interested in sump designs using the 4wd sump setup too

Get in and buy parts from the US while the dollar is strong, it will save alot of cash overall.

Anyone got any good online stores to buy Peterson gear from in the US?

So far ive found this shop...

http://www.pitstopusa.com/Categories.aspx?ID=3375

Edited by unique1
im keen on pics too as ive been researching this topic for a fair while now as im building a dry sump for mine.

im interested in sump designs using the 4wd sump setup too

Get in and buy parts from the US while the dollar is strong, it will save alot of cash overall.

Anyone got any good online stores to buy Peterson gear from in the US?

So far ive found this shop...

http://www.pitstopusa.com/Categories.aspx?ID=3375

we do the 4wd sumps if your interested...they have a 3 pick-up option...but most people like to only use 2 and do the rear head thing.

Edited by DiRTgarage

thanks Paul but i'd prefer to make it here rather than buy one, i wanted pics of designs but i know they dont come easily on things like this, so ill have to speak to some experts i know and suss it myself. I assume they are around the 2K mark going by the others ive seen? Im also going to be using a 5 stage pump so 3 pickups is needed. Any chance of a PM with the price if you dont mind and dont want to mention it in the thread?

I have dry sump kits available for anyone that is interested Check out the for sale section (use search function rb26 dry sump kit) I have a post in there with some pics and what is included in the kit. It is a complete kit minus hose and fittings and has been tested for over 18 months now on several GTRs. The kit I have developed mounts the pump on the laft hand passenger side of the engine and does use a 5 stage pump.

As far as buying the peterson stuff directly from the states i think you will find that on a one off purchase buy the time you add freight and duty you will not save a great deal. As i have researched fairly extensively on the supply of parts and as i have been buying quite a few pumps tanks etc I have negotiated a good price on supply from one of the australian distributors. If anyone would like pricing please feel free to pm me.

wrxkilla from this forum can attest to the quality of my kit as he has just recently purchased one for his engine build.

And just to give you the heads up unuique1 you will not be able to run a 5 stage pump and mount it on the drivers side of the engine as there is physiclly not enough room as you will find that the pump will foul on the post for the engine mount. 4 stage will be the largest pump that you will be able to use and the clearance with a 4 stage pump will be quite tight.

Edited by dazmo
thanks dazmo i plan on running the pump in the air con spot because the air con is long gone (track car). PM sent to you as well.

No worries mate. I have not recieved a pm though you may ahve to try and send it through again.

Majortiy spin around 50% (half engine speed) 38tooth gear on pump 19 on crank. But you can increase/decrease that to suit flow and vacuum requirements. As an indicator, the BDG pumps flow 42cc/rev, now thats some oil!

+1 for Barnes!

I think the 57% is about the maximum you can go, or so the mechanic from Performance Wholesale informs us, any faster and it starts to cavitate...

Edited by r33_racer
I have dry sump kits available for anyone that is interested Check out the for sale section (use search function rb26 dry sump kit) I have a post in there with some pics and what is included in the kit. It is a complete kit minus hose and fittings and has been tested for over 18 months now on several GTRs. The kit I have developed mounts the pump on the laft hand passenger side of the engine and does use a 5 stage pump.

As far as buying the peterson stuff directly from the states i think you will find that on a one off purchase buy the time you add freight and duty you will not save a great deal. As i have researched fairly extensively on the supply of parts and as i have been buying quite a few pumps tanks etc I have negotiated a good price on supply from one of the australian distributors. If anyone would like pricing please feel free to pm me.

wrxkilla from this forum can attest to the quality of my kit as he has just recently purchased one for his engine build.

And just to give you the heads up unuique1 you will not be able to run a 5 stage pump and mount it on the drivers side of the engine as there is physiclly not enough room as you will find that the pump will foul on the post for the engine mount. 4 stage will be the largest pump that you will be able to use and the clearance with a 4 stage pump will be quite tight.

i searched but could not find (will keep looking)

but in the meantime can you email or pm me some info as i am abuot to do a kit and if you have one ready to go (brackets sump etc) i will just buy the lot from you.

Ive been using 5 stage Barnes pumps for a couple of years now in several cars and never had an issue with them.

Dazmo is right you will struggle to fit a 5 stage on the alternator side of the engine. Even with the Barnes pumps on the turbo side we have to modify the turbo inlet as the pressure out line fouls on the factory alloy intake.