Defected part Duex

EnricoPalazzo

yeah, thats a pretty good idea, as it would highlight all the shit we have to put up with for owning a import car

Although I remember a while back they did a story about street drags in Sydney I think, something about how they had no drag strip to race legally on so they raced on the streets. From memory it kinda backfired and there was a huge police pressence and a crackdown on any sort of street racing

Might be a good thing though, at least we can get it out in the public, and hopefully get some support. Has anyone ever though about a petition to get a heap of signatures to present to the correct members of parliment to try and get them on board and help us get some sort of help in regards to the problems we are all having?

• Replies 122

Here is a link to current legislation http://www.transport.sa.gov.au/legislation...ation/index.asp - click on Road Traffic Act and you go to the current parliament legislation page, click on 'R' then scroll down to road traffic act

Media - I think it would be a big rock show, where import owners would be painted as a pack of hoons and whingers.

BOV - only stock is legal, as according to Tim Ireland (head of regency) anything else may alter the emissions and would therefore contradict emissions standards

Suspension - different views depending on who you speak to. I was told 'we wont let you drive out of here with suspension you could lower below legal height within 5 minutes', even though the suspension is not illegal per se. Here it is assumed the individual will break the law, and the option of obeying the law has been removed. Bad luck if you wanted your car for the occasional track day.

With the road traffic act, have a look at Part 4A - basically an inspector can not pass a vehicle whenever he likes (even if it has been engineered) if he feels it may not be roadworthy. He has no liability either if he is wrong

Limitation of liability

163K. No person who does any act in pursuance or purported pursuance of this Part, or omits to exercise any power conferred under this Part, is under any civil or criminal liability in respect of that act or omission if the person acted, or omitted to act, in good faith and with reasonable care.

Basically they can do what they want, nothing you can do about it. I suggest you ring up the modified vehicle department at regency, they can at least head you in the right direction, take a record of conversation, be polite, and at least you will have grounds to protest if you get screwed around. Also, if anything on your car is not standard, make sure you ask for a permit slip to be issued - once again Tim Ireland told me this is current practice at regency (yeah right)

Also have a look at para 160, all about defects

Also some info in Road Traffic (miscellaneous) 1999 Regs, and Road Traffic (vehicle standards) Rules 1999 - both available via the above transport sa website.

They cover their arses by saying all cars must comply with applicable ADRs - in effect any aftermarket or non original part 'could' be reason for a car to be defected or not passed through Regency, or, if the inpsector/cop believes the part may be non standard or defective.

Like I said before, not a bloody hope, they have themselves covered in every possible way. I have even been told that there has never been a successful class action taken out against Regency or its inspectors, but that is only hearsay.

They should go back to the days where, the cops left you alone however low or illegal (to a point) your car was. Only time you get done is if your acting like an idiot ie racing or speeding. That was it would be a give and take situation.

yeah the good old days when it wasnt all bout revenue raising so that politicians can get escorted around in cars that suckers like us pay for with our fines defects etc

Arn't you only 18?? That means u've only been driving for like 2 years?? :D:D

How do you remember the "Good old Days" :)

Alternativly we could all donate our old stock bits (as we replace/upgrad them) to a well equiped back yard shed. For a small fee of $50 members of this forum could drive in, borrow the bits and use some tools to return the car to stock specs again, and then go through regency.

Question is dose anyone here have access to such a shed/workshop? I am sure that organising the parts wouldnt be that hard (I have a standard exhaust, cooler, ECU for a 33), and I am sure many of you have also kept bits "just in case".

Hmmm thats a top idea.

Anyway i called regency on firday. Spoke to a guy names Justin. Anyway he tells me adjustable suspension is legal as long as its set to legal height. he also said that pods are legal if the standard afm is still attached and also that fmic are legal.

Due to regency being so inconsistent i took down his name, time of call etc. so hopefully i should get through alrite. Lets hope anyway

I was told you had to weld the adjustable suspension for it to be legal. Pods i heard are legal as long as the don't move which is easy to do. FMIC is fine as long as it doesn't hang down past the front bar. Good luck with it, let us know how it goes with the adjustables, filter and FMIC when you go through, would be interested to know what they say

Guys im still ****in defected and whats worse is that the wanker inspenctor found a bend/dent in my chassis rail, so now my car is at a chassis repair shop gettin fixed! Gonna cost about 400 bucks :D alll that money i saved up for mods is gone.

Dammit i hate regency. I got done for exhaust to loud :( 100db so i really need to borrow someones stock exhaust pls pls pls.

Then i should be good and on the road again :(

ohhh so u have stock cat back? thats exactly what i need mate. I would be forever greatful if u could lend them to me. I would onlyu need it for 1 day around tuesday on wed.

Also the time we went on a cruise which started at ingall farm? i saw u turned off at N.E rd. Where did u go. u missed out on all the fun.

Im so pissed off about this chassis rail thing. The car has been thru regency 2 times already b4 today and now they pick on it. the dickhead inspector said it prolly happenened in japan on the docks the car would of been picked up by a forklift. I dunno but i mean if they found it the first time, the company that imported the car would of been responsivble for it not me and would of had to pay for it. Grrr oh well.