Questions About Skylines In Victoria (p Plate Question)

Ok, Im thinking about getting a Skyline. My first car is starting to go into the ground and i been looking into getting a skyline for the past 6 months trying to learn as much as I can.

Im looking at a 32 GTR but how much trouble am i going to have getting it P plate legal.

Am i just better off getting a GTS non turbo and sticking with it for the next 2ish years I think i have left on my P's. If so, where are some good places to go looking at buying brand new cars, I been on Carsales for a fair while looking every week but thought i would get some input from you guys :P

Thanks for the help in advance guys :D

• Replies 60

Yes you are better off buying a non turbo and NOT modifying it inline with the Victorian Laws.

3 points if you are picked up, then that means you only need to get pinned for one offence after that (3km/h over for instance), and you loose your license.

It is simply not worth the risk especially if you require your license for employment.

Plus, sadly, any R32 you could likely afford will be clapped out. Just because they are super cheap doesn't mean a lot. If you want a decent one it's still going to cost.

i reckon u should buy another boring car n drive it for 2 years and then when ur off ur p's buy a turbo car. that way you would have saved up some more money, and if u still wanted an r32 gtr they would have depreciated a bit, and you can buy a car with everything u need. cheaper option i guess, but while ur on ur p's you might as well, driving around in a skyline with p's on it cops pick on u... less hassle. well thats my 2 cents worth....

On that note...

Just stick with what you got at the moment.

That would save you from buying a N/A Skyline, then selling it then buy a Turbo model.

Just hang in with what you got for 2 more years, save up and find a decent GTR.

imo not worth buying a n/a skyline.

Due to them being legal for p-platers, they sell for a lot of money. Most cases more than turbo versions. I'd aim towards a car which was designed as a sport n/a from the beginning instead of a derivative of a turbo model. Reason for this is usually the manufacturers have spent time making the car lighter and the engine more responsive instead of pulling off a turbo on a heavy turbo car.

Here is a good list;

http://www.overclockers.com.au/wiki/Fun_P_plate_legal_cars

Note: the 125kw/tonne law doesnt apply to p-platers anymore so ignore any cars with turbo.

If you search in the NA section of the forum, there's HEAPS of post similar to this.

And pretty much what everyone will tell you is either buy an NA skyline for your P's, then upgrade when your off P's. Or just drive a shitbox and buy a turbo when you have your full license.

Have a read of this thread, I've typed up a fair bit of info that you might need to know:

http://www.skylinesaustralia.com/forums/Car-t292150.html

If you still have questions, lemme know, because I was in your shoes awhile ago :D

If you search in the NA section of the forum, there's HEAPS of post similar to this.

And pretty much what everyone will tell you is either buy an NA skyline for your P's, then upgrade when your off P's. Or just drive a shitbox and buy a turbo when you have your full license.

Have a read of this thread, I've typed up a fair bit of info that you might need to know:

http://www.skylinesaustralia.com/forums/Car-t292150.html

If you still have questions, lemme know, because I was in your shoes awhile ago :D

Thanks Charles89 and the rest of the guys, I would love to keep the pintara since its what i learn't to drive in but its just starting to cost to much to keep going and spent almost more on it than what i got it for and it still keeps giving me grief.

From what I learnt today and talked to some friends who drive skylines or know about them i;m going to stick with either a 32 / 33 GTS, Hell if i somehow pull some more money out the wazu i might get a 34 but I think i should just stick to keeping it cheap and not wasting to much so I can save to keep me keen for when im off the P's to work on building it up from there or getting a new one.

Also, one last thing. I been on carsales a fair bit looking around since im working full time at my dads pet shop at the vic market so not much time to go have a look around caryards all day haha :D What am I looking at... carsales is anywhere from 6k to around... 14k ish give or take. What am I looking at a caryard on avrage?

Thanks for all the help by the way guys :D

My first car was a Pintara (1991 model). Few people paid me out for it but it was perfect as a first car. Any early 90's NA smallish passenger car is perfect as a first. Any of these are up rather cheap and easy to fix.

If funds and space allow, work on getting a project car (Skyline of any model) and use the opportunity to build it on the side to learn the bits and pieces without having to worry about putting it back together everytime you need to drive somewhere. Once your passed your P plate years, you have your dream car built up ready to go, plus a bit more experience behind the wheel which will allow you to enjoy driving it more, plus with the time you've spent building it up you'll have a lot more respect for the way you look after it once it is on the road.

I dont believe your first car needs to be a hotted up beast, you will most likely create a bond with it anyway that wont be matched long after it is gone. If given the opportunity i would buy back my old Pinny in a heartbeat, the little baby did over 5000 pizza deliverys during my silly years and only ever asked for a gearbox rebuild and a clean every now and then.

Well yeah, it did well for about the first 8 months of driving (its a TRX also) but it had this one lingering problem that when it started, it would conk out very... very slowly after about 3-5 seconds of the car being turned on. Almost like it was struggling to get fuel. Then all of the sudden it didn't do it for a few months and then bang, past month and a half every day its happened. Been waking up 30 minutes early to make sure i can get it started incase i need to take a tram into the city.

Taken it to god knows how many mechs to check it out and everytime they check it out they either can't find the problem, or its running 100% for the 3days to a week they keep it. I love the car and even tho I didn't get a VE like my brother did (4 weeks older than me, half brother :D ) i still loved it but its just starting to cause me a heap of shit :D

I acually like l_uk3y;s idea, i thought about just one and slowly buying parts and learning about everything slowly over the next 2 years so that when i can do whatever i want to it i'll know what im doing and able to appreciate it more knowing that i put time into my miniture beast over the years :D

All's looking good at the moment, thanks guys really helping me out ;)

Hmmm....What's your budget for a Skyline? if it's about 10-11k, then it can get you a decent series 2 manual R33. And if I was you, I'd consider that, because R32's are getting old and most series 1 NA R33's has been thrashed by other P platers lol.

When I first got my P's I imported a series 2 manual R33, it drove like a dream, only recently I sold it for 12.7k and the buyer still sms me saying how awesome it drives and how much fun he's having.

And to answer your question, caryards can charge you 9k-13k for a R33. But if you have the patience, then you could pick up a cheap manual R34 for maybe 12-14k.

I think my mate is selling a black manual NA R34 for 13.5k

na r32's are madd sure you would have to spend money here and there on it so what. it will look good and be reliable. do it up as much as you want wheels, suspension, body kite, paint, etc etc. by the two years drop a turbo engine in it. or better rb25det. cant go wrong..

R34 GT-V IMO... pretty sure it is pretty much the same to a GT-T, minus the turbo... so even if you spend money on suspension, exterior/interior etc, once off your p's, make it turbo with the turbo brakes/stud already there

get a turbo, ignore all the enthusiasts on this forum saying its a bad idea. getting a turbo was the better choice i've ever made in my life. haha. totally worth the 3 points if u ever get done. :]

And if you hit a ferrari, you're f**ked :)

dude if u r red Pz don't bother with a skyline that is turbo! even on green Pz an r33 turbz will be to powerful! having said that i got an r33 for 2 yrs now and never had a cop pick me up or said anything (2 months to go!). i think that police pulling over every skyline is really overated- if it sits 1cm off the groud then yer u will have troblems! do date (touch wood) never had any police issue where i had to negotiate my way out of defect and done have mods done to it. i have ensured that everything on the car is legal or at least attempted to

I would definately considering getting an N/A skyline as they are extremely fun cars and reasonable reliable. Steer away from commys etc although i feel your pain about not been able to drive a turbo, cause i probably won't bother with an N/A skyz.

Personally even if i had the cash i wouldn't NEVER buy a cheap GTR. they are cheap for a reason and not sure wat kind of job u got, but i reckon that u don't need that kind of head aches. stick to a single turbz and be happy, u will find that there more second hand parts for a tubo then for GTR and N/A, skylines getting wrecked cause other p-plater "trying" to drift all the time :) so just enjoy the benfits

If u get a skyline (tubz), don't mod it for at least 9 Months cause i reckon about 90% for us young guys can't handle the power of a stock skyz around a track/ corners anyway. Any tom dick and harry an flog a car down the straight! even my younger bro on his Lz enjoys doing it!

I'm on my Green P's,

I'm not so worried about the turbo anymore or a GTR, I don't mind waiting the 2ish years I have left on the P's to do the upgrade. Over the past few days reading around the site i got it out of my system. I don't want to have trouble with the cops every day and have to worry about cops everyday on my way to work ect hoping i don't get pulled over if you get my drift. Not going to mod it to the point where cops are going to want to hammer me don't want it sitting 1cm off the ground. Don't mind keeping things legal... Or atleast things that are going to get noticed left right and center.

Don't plan on thrashing it around either. I got 3 older brothers (I'm 20, Ones 20 (4 weeks apart half brother) another whos 27 and oldest at 28) and I know all to much trouble they had with cars they way they drive then and how many times each of them has lost there licence. I don't plan on following the same path they did :D

Money wise I was looking around.. 14k mark.. give or take. I plan on borrowing the cash off the old girl from my saving for my house deposit (Don't think im ready to get a house yet) to save me getting a loan out from the banks and paying intrest.

Gotta keep reading and trying to learn as much as I can about the car, only got really into cars and learning about them (not just how much i can smoke a set of tires) past 2-3 months. Stuff like series 1..2 etc... gotta learn all the differences about this stuff haha.

Thanks Charles89 and others :stupid: Really helpful bunch :(

P.s, Charles89, Have a link for your friends car his selling?