whatsisname Posted August 31, 2002 Author Share Posted August 31, 2002 Originally posted by Freebaggin Just remember .... "Side Way, Don't be afraid of the Slip Way"... Japlish quote from the latest HPI My first cruise with SASA, top stuff, especially having the Holdens there...more please! I'd love to have a combined LS1/Skyline/WRX cruise. G'day Lachlan, It didn't look like you were too "afraid of the slip way" last night mate :lol: Japlish, funny stuff :lol: "They present comfortable & unknown car life with ARC magic power" I guess that means all ARC performance parts are magical!!! LS1/Skyline/WRX cruise, hmmm, that'd be interesting! Thanks for the invite to play with the Microtech too! Have you got a copy of the software from Tim yet? Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/2945-30th-aug-cruise-change-of-meeting-point-read/page/3/#findComment-54444 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freebaggin Posted August 31, 2002 Share Posted August 31, 2002 Matt, Yep thanks for the reminder, I'll burn off a copy for ya next week. As you've seen, the program interface looks real good, can't wait to hook it up and get some data.....hey, it will be just like "The Fast and the Furious", street draggin with laptops BTW my favourite is "Gialla. When a man see the car, he feels it gorgeous. Powerful and attractive. That's a Gialla". Maybe it should say "That's a Skyline":burnout: Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/2945-30th-aug-cruise-change-of-meeting-point-read/page/3/#findComment-54449 Share on other sites More sharing options...
whatsisname Posted August 31, 2002 Author Share Posted August 31, 2002 Thanks for that mate, much appreciated! :lol: Well if we're gunna' have some F & F action we'd better bolt on our "Motec exhaust systems". We're also gunna' need NOS, lots of NOS! Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/2945-30th-aug-cruise-change-of-meeting-point-read/page/3/#findComment-54457 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nightcrawler Posted September 1, 2002 Share Posted September 1, 2002 Cops Yeah I got off lucky 'cos they were fully drooling over my baby .... (cops) "oh, so the number plates mean Performance Car of The Year ... cool" - they were so funny ... they went on: "SO that blue thing was an R34 GTR hey? ..... bet they're quick" (me) "yeah 12.1 down the quarter and it's almost stock" (cops) "damn .... maybe we shoulda pulled him over for a look *grin*" They were funny as, and came out with comments like: "hey you're only human and you guys were going pretty quick - peer group pressure and all .... but there is a time and a place for everything" LOL I was trying not to laugh. Anyways they let me off with a formal caution .... lucky a cop got me there cos that was by far the slowest I had been going all night, and cos it had dried up somewhat I was actually getting traction rather than 1st and 2nd gears sideways - bet they woulda been less impressed if they'd seen me doing that! All in all a top night 'cept for the rain .... I agree a map would be better next time with progressive meet-up points for ppl who get left behind/lost. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/2945-30th-aug-cruise-change-of-meeting-point-read/page/3/#findComment-54523 Share on other sites More sharing options...
GFXman Posted September 1, 2002 Share Posted September 1, 2002 Despite the rain, was a great night Was definately good to see a mix of cars! The Jaffamobile headed off after you all "tried" to go down Rundle STreet... we didn't realise and missed the turn Ahh well, early start for Jaffa on saturdays. Bring on the next cruise!! GFXman & JAFFA Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/2945-30th-aug-cruise-change-of-meeting-point-read/page/3/#findComment-54529 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nightcrawler Posted September 1, 2002 Share Posted September 1, 2002 You know what we REALLY need to do?! .... As the warmer, sunny weather approaches, get the SASA, LS1 and WRX groups together to hire out AIR for a day of 1/4 mile / dyno / burnout fun .... Have a bbq lunch etc in the middle of the day and see what our cars can do on a properly prepared 1/4 mile track. Also tee up someone to bring out a dyno as well and I'm sure if we could get like 50+ ppl together each prepared to pay say $50 each (includes many 1/4 mile runs and dyno printouts = value) + say $10 for spectators/friends that would give a pool of maybe $3,000 to front the event. What does everyone think? Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/2945-30th-aug-cruise-change-of-meeting-point-read/page/3/#findComment-54568 Share on other sites More sharing options...
RevsPerMin Posted September 1, 2002 Share Posted September 1, 2002 I might be able to get RPM Performance Centre to organise the dyno. Let me discuss it with Tim when he comes back from Brunei this weekend then we can organise the date. It should be a great day. As long as it doesnt rain. Cheers, Ivan:) PS: Just joining the chorus in saying , John ,the 34 GTR looks wicked man. Cant wait to see it in the AIR drags again. If you need someone to pit crew for ya , I'm available. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/2945-30th-aug-cruise-change-of-meeting-point-read/page/3/#findComment-54624 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Munro Posted September 1, 2002 Share Posted September 1, 2002 Hi Guys, Glad they didn't pull me over though!! Track day is an excellent idea - I will bring both GTRs. I think a dyno day is a separate event.It would be much easier to organise one at Tilbrooks like the SVD dyno day a while ago. It costs around $3500 all up to hire the track including track preparation, timing equipment, officials, fire/ambo etc. If we have 35 cars it will cost $100 each car.If each crew member puts in a little towards the car they come out with it would be quite viable.I'm sure Martin Donnon & Theo would be very interested in coming out and making a video of the day for us.They are the guys responsible for Hard Tuned Imports videos. It looks like I will be ordering a Holinger gearbox, but by the time it arrives & the R33 is ready to race it will be mid November! Still, that would give us plenty of time to organise a top track day. If the R33 runs well, & we can get it hooking up off the line, it might even be the day my R33 GTR breaks into the magical 9 second bracket! Hmmm - I can only hope??? Anyway - I'm sure there will be plenty of cruising action before then.I went for a cruise up the gorge today(after washing it of course). The R34 is just a superb car.Glad I bought it. When are we going to do an afternoon cruise in the hills? Speed - give me what I need.:burnout: Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/2945-30th-aug-cruise-change-of-meeting-point-read/page/3/#findComment-54735 Share on other sites More sharing options...
BRUTE Posted September 1, 2002 Share Posted September 1, 2002 hey guys I'm in the process of organizing a Dyno day for the LS1 guys and was gona ask if any of you guys would be interested in coming along, haven't decided on the date as yet. let me know if ya interested Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/2945-30th-aug-cruise-change-of-meeting-point-read/page/3/#findComment-54856 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nightcrawler Posted September 1, 2002 Share Posted September 1, 2002 Count me in! Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/2945-30th-aug-cruise-change-of-meeting-point-read/page/3/#findComment-54859 Share on other sites More sharing options...
RevsPerMin Posted September 1, 2002 Share Posted September 1, 2002 Count me in too. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/2945-30th-aug-cruise-change-of-meeting-point-read/page/3/#findComment-54869 Share on other sites More sharing options...
whatsisname Posted September 1, 2002 Author Share Posted September 1, 2002 A dyno day, & a track day would be great (i.e. 2 separate events The dyno day should be easy to organise, either through Tim @ RPM, or Mark @ Tilbrooks. A track day would be a blast! John, you sound like the man to tee it up mate :uh-huh: Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/2945-30th-aug-cruise-change-of-meeting-point-read/page/3/#findComment-54873 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cubes Posted September 1, 2002 Share Posted September 1, 2002 Really what is $100 to have a good time on the track. I think i'd come out to have a bit of fun before I go to UNI next year as i wont be able to do bugger all for the next 3 years after this year. This EBC is a strange thing but.. I think the std bleed was spiking to 16 - 16.5psi When the std boost guage needle is right over the +7 top line it according to the controller is making just under 15psi and when it is reading like it was with the boost controller it makes 16.5 PSI OMG... Surprised the turbo hung in there for all that time.. Top end is a lot nicer now even with the fuel pressure bleed wound all the way in :burnout: Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/2945-30th-aug-cruise-change-of-meeting-point-read/page/3/#findComment-54879 Share on other sites More sharing options...
GFXman Posted September 2, 2002 Share Posted September 2, 2002 droooool... a drag meet at AIR sounds awesome!! Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/2945-30th-aug-cruise-change-of-meeting-point-read/page/3/#findComment-55016 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bugalugs Posted September 2, 2002 Share Posted September 2, 2002 Great to see so many ppl. turn up for the cruise,pity about the weather.Sorry i made it so late(putting front of car back together).Because of the weather we thought for safety reasons that we cancel the hills part and we didnt really have a plan B(oops).So everyone else had there plan B`s after lofty and that was it. John-I noticed when we were cruisin Rundle that your car was a real head turner. Next time it will be bigger and better with a plan B even. Matt Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/2945-30th-aug-cruise-change-of-meeting-point-read/page/3/#findComment-55314 Share on other sites More sharing options...
RevsPerMin Posted September 2, 2002 Share Posted September 2, 2002 Matt, Sorry that I my driving was a bit crappy when you were behing me going down the hill during the cruise ( I think it was you- silver 33). I had a tough time trying to keep the car stable. I just found out my RHF shocker is cactus. I'm amazed I didn't roll down the cliff as I was all over the place but there. I bet u wouldn't want to be following me anymore next time. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/2945-30th-aug-cruise-change-of-meeting-point-read/page/3/#findComment-55329 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bugalugs Posted September 2, 2002 Share Posted September 2, 2002 R.P.M.-I did mention to a couple of guys at the end of the cruise about that.I was wondering what was going on cause we wernt going that fast and you were all over the road:confused: Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/2945-30th-aug-cruise-change-of-meeting-point-read/page/3/#findComment-55331 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Munro Posted September 2, 2002 Share Posted September 2, 2002 No problem - I will have a chat with Anna at AIR soon & get all the finer details. Then we will need exact car numbers & crew details.There are no spectators allowed due to insurance reasons so every one coming out will need to be nominated as crew by one of the drivers.I'm sure I'll need at least 10 crew- haha. Brute - love ya ute mate - looks tough. Dyno day sounds good. I'm interested in doing exhaust/computer like yours at some stage Hey, whats the address for the LS1 forum? Might check it out. Subject to weather & everyones schedule - how about an Arvo cruise in the Hills on Sat 14th Sept? We could meet around 1-2pm near Tea Tree Plaza somewhere & cruise up to Birdwood via Williamstown.From there we could head to Mt. Torrens - Lobethal - Woodside - Littlehampton - then down the freeway into town. I do this cruise regularly & it's great. This is just an idea, whats everyone think? If its bad weather we would just postpone it to another suitable time. I would like to get some good photos of my R34. Maybe we could get some cool group shots too - digital camera anyone? :uh-huh: Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/2945-30th-aug-cruise-change-of-meeting-point-read/page/3/#findComment-55394 Share on other sites More sharing options...
RevsPerMin Posted September 2, 2002 Share Posted September 2, 2002 Munro, 14 sept sounds good. Any cruise is a good cruise for me, after last Friday night, hell I'm hanging for another one. This time I think the Proton wants to come out and play. Ivan. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/2945-30th-aug-cruise-change-of-meeting-point-read/page/3/#findComment-55397 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nightcrawler Posted September 2, 2002 Share Posted September 2, 2002 Sounds good to me Munro - that route sounds like a sweet run .... though chain-of-ponds would be some serious (but dangerous) fun too .... AND I have a swanky digital camera that records straight onto 200Mb CDs .... perfect for lots of those high-res car shots - available anytime of course .... it does short-length video too - perfect for burnouts and the like (just ask Drift_spec and David). Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/2945-30th-aug-cruise-change-of-meeting-point-read/page/3/#findComment-55425 Share on other sites More sharing options...