R35 Gtr Or F360 F1?

N/A®

Apologies Bunta, something got lost in translation and for some reason my mind had you in with construction, but road project...wasn't far off. Point still relevant though...I think that your example of the house also helps my view on this, as many people don't really need that much room in a house (e.g. 5 bedrooms when only 2 are being used), yet almost every possession we buy in life has an element of image to it (be it car/house/boat/mobile phone). Some people just care more about image than others. We all have different ways of gauging people and the kind of people they are (hard worker, lazy worker, foolish with their money etc.), but when it's six and seven figure salaries image truly is everything amongst that demographic. Egos fly and you're on a constant search for polite ways to show people you earn more than them. American Psycho is a good satirical (yet very real) look at this kind of culture :(

Why do you think people spend so much money on cures for baldness :D

• Replies 280

Yeah, Ferraris are slow pieces of shit. Wait a sec, what car holds the Nations Cup record at Wakefield Park? (F360 GT) And how does that compare to even the V8 SuperCars? (The Ferrari is 0.1s faster)

Hyping up the GTR and dissing Ferraris is extremely short sighted. They are capable cars. Sure, they are expensive. But so what? Cars are a matter of taste, irrespective of price. Some people like them and appreciate them for what they are.

Performance of the 10 year old Ferrari.

Top speed : 183 mph (295 km/h)

Acceleration, seconds:

0-30 mph (48 km/h) 1.3

0-40 mph (64 km/h) mph 1.9

0-50 mph (80 km/h) 3.0

0-60 mph (97 km/h) 3.9

0-70 mph (110 km/h) 5.2

0-80 mph (130 km/h) 6.5

0-90 mph (140 km/h) 7.8

0-100 mph (160 km/h) 9.7 Standing quarter mile, sec/mph 12.2/113.5 mph (182.7 km/h)

Hardly slow, similar to some times the GTR has done with its launch control disabled.

Nice points^

Thanks. It's pretty easy to bring some objective points in, despite a thread full of opinion of those that are clouded by talking up their own book or are full of emotion and prejudice of individuals who like these cars.

Acceleration, seconds:

0-30 mph (48 km/h) 1.3

0-50 mph (80 km/h) 3.0

0-60 mph (97 km/h) 3.9

0-70 mph (110 km/h) 5.2

0-80 mph (130 km/h) 6.5

0-90 mph (140 km/h) 7.8

0-100 mph (160 km/h) 9.7 Standing quarter mile, sec/mph 12.2/113.5 mph (182.7 km/h)

Hardly slow, similar to some times the GTR has done with its launch control disabled.

I don't know if these are claimed or observed times, but, I reckon you'd have to be Dario Benuzzi (ferrari test driver) to be getting those times out of a 'regular' Ferrari 360...you'd have a better chance with the 360 Challenge Stradale and even then most times seem to be low to mid 4's for 0-100km/h. for example

In 1999 the 360's performance was right up there, (which is why I think some people here have been unfairly critical here) but in reality , in 2009 it's no comparison with an R35 and many others for that matter. The main problem is lack of torque, 373Nm..and it's at about 7,000 rpm too!, on a roll a Gt-R (or 911 turbo) will absolutely walk away and disappear into the distance....a non contest...a more interesting and fairer comparison will be the 425kw/550NM 458 Italia, I think it will match the R35 in the dry...but at $550K of course! :ninja:

Yeah, roll on and average power (not torque!), as I said, is a different kettle of fish. Regardless, the F360 is holding a 400kg weight advantage. It's not slow by any means and its performance on various tracks in varies guises demonstrates that.

I don't know if these are claimed or observed times, but, I reckon you'd have to be Dario Benuzzi (ferrari test driver) to be getting those times out of a 'regular' Ferrari 360...you'd have a better chance with the 360 Challenge Stradale and even then most times seem to be low to mid 4's for 0-100km/h. for example

In 1999 the 360's performance was right up there, (which is why I think some people here have been unfairly critical here) but in reality , in 2009 it's no comparison with an R35 and many others for that matter. The main problem is lack of torque, 373Nm..and it's at about 7,000 rpm too!, on a roll a Gt-R (or 911 turbo) will absolutely walk away and disappear into the distance....a non contest...a more interesting and fairer comparison will be the 425kw/550NM 458 Italia, I think it will match the R35 in the dry...but at $550K of course! ;)

Also is it just me or does every guy I see driving a red Ferrari look like a try-hard tool in it..........

Yeah anyone in anycar can be a tool, but the highest concentration of tools are Hilux/Rodeo/BT50 ect.... drivers, who are under 30 years of age and are asshole tradesmen who for some reason think they ALWAYS have right of way, tend to be very horn happy, are always angry, tend to have "aussie Pride" stickers on the back and always tend to have arms and gestures flying out the window acompanied with harsh sware words usually directed at old people or small nervous asian women.

Must make their egos bigger i guess, or maybe because they were the people that laid the roads, they recon they can do what they like because of it. Yelling at senior citizens and little nervous drivers must make you a tool in an instant in anyones books.

I agree, skyline drivers cop more slack about being hoons and what not, but at the end of the day its young/tradesmen in utes that are the biggest cocks of all. Any nationality, any area in Australia, ute+tradey+ under 30 years old + doing stupid cosmetic work (stickers, lowering, chroming or rebadging) = biggest tools you will ever meet lol

Acceleration, seconds:

0-30 mph (48 km/h) 1.3

0-50 mph (80 km/h) 3.0

0-60 mph (97 km/h) 3.9

0-70 mph (110 km/h) 5.2

0-80 mph (130 km/h) 6.5

0-90 mph (140 km/h) 7.8

Whilst it is nice you are quoting figures, I have say that Wikipedia is not what I would be quoting to back up performance figures.

Road tests for this car ranged from 4.3 to 4.5 (More commonly 4.5) for the 0 - 60 sprint.

Either way we are comparing vastly different cars, either way I would not be using Wiki for my sole resource as to what is right and wrong.