wtf done for dragging when not even traveling at 50kph...fark that, seems a little rough to me however you said there was a group of ppl as well, how is it only you got done for it?
I've only got a mate in the car, and the guys I were following who also got impounded.... I can't believe the cops can just do that coz "they reckon" it was dragging when it clearly wasn't.... I'm just shocked
  • Replies 160

I have seen that guy on channel 31, judging by his brief history written there he wouldnt be cheap.

Well hiring legal representation is never 'cheap', but for the likely charges the OP would face on summons you should set aside ~2k regardless and Kuzilny would be within budget if you can afford that.

Ring around for Lawyer, most will do no win no fee so it won't cost you anything, down side to this is they won't pick up your case if they don't think they'll win :banana:

That intersection would be nearly impossible to drag race on too. It's at the start of the bourke st mall. Sound a bit dodge to me mate. I'd fight it for sure.

With all due respect, the above is utter nonsense.

They do not have to literally prove you were racing, all they have to do is say they 'saw' you racing and as I said earlier it will be assumed that the police officer is bona fide. The onus/burden of proof is on YOU to prove that you were not (i.e you need to come up with mitigating circumstances.) Random witnesses will not help your cause, can you imagine how 'random' witnesses could be used to get you out of all sorts of trouble? Think about it and give the magistrate some credit.

Oh, legal aid is better than nothing, but again, i would suggest you seek professional legal advice when the time comes.

Yeah well I'm off uni til enxt year so just concentrate on earning money for it I guess...

wtf done for dragging when not even traveling at 50kph...fark that, seems a little rough to me however you said there was a group of ppl as well, how is it only you got done for it?

So if this is all it takes for an impound, what about all those ppl who pull into the ending lanes to "get in front of traffic"?

What a complete load of fkn bs.

Its about now I thank the son of rajab I'm a chick.

G/l with it.

I said to the cop "so you can get anyone for anything at any time?" he said "yes I can impound anyone anywhere for any reason, even if there are not enough clicks on the handbrake if i want to"

Ring around for Lawyer, most will do no win no fee so it won't cost you anything, down side to this is they won't pick up your case if they don't think they'll win :banana:

That intersection would be nearly impossible to drag race on too. It's at the start of the bourke st mall. Sound a bit dodge to me mate. I'd fight it for sure.

Yeah well the only thing I SHOULD of got done for was not hook turning, I've never been driving in the city before so I just took it as per normal, well so I thought, I now realised it has signs saying hook turn, but i wasn't really looking for that rather trying to concentrate where my friends were going so I wouldnt get lost and have no clue where to go or how to get out, same thing i told the cop when they said "surprised u didnt see us 2 cars back".

Did not go above 50km/h but my car is loud so it might of sounded faster to them...but again which they dont care at all.

Wasn't there a TMU member on here? if so and you read this could you help us out with some advice please, also any chance of getting CCTV footage of it, that would should there was no speed involved...what do you guys reckon my chances of that are?

I'm going to make an appointment for legal aid on monday, i'll let you know how it goes.

I did hear about these laws but after actually seeing them in action on me, for doing reasonably nothing wrong, just a wrong hook turn - no speeding nothing I think they're a tad unfair how someone is judged on somebody's opinion and discretion...it seems fairly corrupt to me.

I'm going to make an appointment for legal aid on monday, i'll let you know how it goes.

I wouldnt even bother going, i got done for driving whilst disqualified and went to legal aid, they told me that there is a 50/50 chance that i would do time for it, went to a REAL lawyer and he told me that if i did time he would sit in the jail with me, by the time it went to court i had my license back, not only did i not do time but i also got to keep my license, i did however get a $2200 fine, sadly that lawyer has passed away so if i need another one im going to have to find a good one.

Another ting is that if you get a lawyer and succesfully defend it and have all charges dropped i believe you can then sue them for costs, would be something you would have to ask the lawyer about tho, personally i would give the guy mentioned above a call, costs nothing to talk to him and tell him your story and see what he can do for you, for me the $500 i paid for my lawyer was the best money i ever spent considering legal aid couldnt even gaurentee that i wouldnt get locked up.

I don't think my guy does that stuff anymore, so you're outta luck there. But again, it would be 4 figures that's for sure.

Although, if you are fighting them and you win you shouldn't really be outta pocket at all far as i understand it?

Everything i've won over the years cost me zero. Im not sure of the inner workings of it all...

You might be lucky as well as there is PLENTY of CCTV footage now in the CBD that Police have access too, i know this for a fact. Plenty of camera access, especially intersections.

So you could easily attain it if you lodged a request ASAP, not sure what the keep time is on that kinda stuff. If you lodge it Monday should be no worries, i'd do that first thing.

Then get onto a lawyer same day, ensure you explain the FULL situation very honestly.

If you have other mates etc and you all go in together you might be able to work out a better price/arrangement. With that amount of witnesses etc you will have a reasonably good case without a doubt.

I mean they would have pulled you up shortly after the intersection i'd imagine to its impossible you were 'racing'.

I bet it won't even make it to the courtroom. A lawyer talking to the Prosecution, once the cases are drawn up, any reasonable prosecutor IMO will not even let that see a courtroom if what you are saying is 100% true.

Especially if the Police will look red faced and be stuck with a BIGGER bill after a courtroom session, as its all down to mitigated cost with a lot of things.

Simply not worth arguing a case that clearly is not in your favour for the Police.

I wouldnt be surprised same officer who assaulted me 3-4 months ago, sounds like the similarly retarded attitude/talk this guy displayed - was he short (less than 5"10')?

Graeme (our resident officer) won't be able to offer much over and above what i've put in already as he was not there so its all speculative.

Hope this post doesn't come off as sounding like a smart a** or accusing anyone... I'm no legal expert either.

I hang around that area alot. Cops "usually" don't really deal with motorists there they are too busy taking care of street crime in the area.... Besides its "too crowded" to even try a drag race

However - if it is obvious eg. screaming engines, traction issues, even just having an overly loud exhaust they may suspect it especially with some hot cars around you. Remember to "drag race" you don't need to be overspeeding - just the "act" of it is enough to make them to go at you.

And it doesn't help that you didn't do the hook turn properly - which they are quite strict on, few of my female mates have been fined with not doing hook turns properly or not doing them at all :banana:

Sometimes it could just be a noob cop with not enough experience to judge properly...

Good luck with it.

+1 for a real lawyer. Screw Legal Aid they are a waste of time. If you go to a proper legal firm they will tell you what the deal is straight up and then you can decide whether or not to go with them, you don't pay just for going and seeing them to get advice. You only pay if they take up the case and you accept.

The problem I see is, where you "playing" around before the intersection, like a fe kays before the city as they may have been following you the whole time and decided after the failed hook turn to sting the lot of you.

Edited by BeEnAr

You have a few choices I was impouded aswell for something that I did not do my car locked up becuase i slammed the brakes to stop and the cop changed it saying i did two 360s then contined to fishtail for a few hundred metres, the first thing I would do if you concerened about money as I was aswell is go see legal aid when you get the summons and tell him you do not agree with the description given then he will tell you which points you question and basically he will take this up with the police constsable of the particular station to see if they will drop any charges or if they say no and wish to go to court. With me I had proved to him what she wrote was wrong so he dropped all the charges and it didnt end up costing me a cent 9 charges dropped so thats what I would recommend you do first and if this doesnt work and they say we want 2 go to court with all the charges then I would highly recommend a lawyer since legal aid cannot defend you only help you if you plead guilty.

hock turns are annoying however, i try to avoid driving in the city anyways. too much traffic, too many rules like lanes with only 1 direction ie, must turn right and no right turns. plus the huge amount of police and idiots walking around the city at night.

I got done for this when the laws first came out in late 2005, in an R33. Same situation, was out drifting with the boys in the wet, and took a wrong turn with a mate in a old vl, went into a culdisack, turned around and I booted it in front of him, didn't go a K above 50, a cop saw it, called it a street race. I even flicked a ciggie butt and he said it was a hand signal saying GO! LMAO. So I got the solicitor the full monty, went to court. Got max penalty, 12 Months Disqual from driving, could not drive turbos for 3 years as new rules for P plates had come in, had to sell it, impounded for 3 months, had to pay towing fees, impound fees, court fees, solicitor fees, fine for racing was 1500$. LOTS of money. well over 3gs. I also had 2 suspensions which added to 6 months worth, so I lost it for 18 months.

Basically your screwed, no matter what you do, you will get shafted by the homosexual hand of the law.

Edited by steveo_r33
I got done for this when the laws first came out in late 2005, in an R33. Same situation, was out drifting with the boys in the wet, and took a wrong turn with a mate in a old vl, went into a culdisack, turned around and I booted it in front of him, didn't go a K above 50, a cop saw it, called it a street race. I even flicked a ciggie butt and he said it was a hand signal saying GO! LMAO. So I got the solicitor the full monty, went to court. Got max penalty, 12 Months Disqual from driving, could not drive turbos for 3 years as new rules for P plates had come in, had to sell it, impounded for 3 months, had to pay towing fees, impound fees, court fees, solicitor fees, fine for racing was 1500$. LOTS of money. well over 3gs. I also had 2 suspensions which added to 6 months worth, so I lost it for 18 months.

Basically your screwed, no matter what you do, you will get shafted by the homosexual hand of the law.

Sounds like you got what you deserved.

I wouldnt be surprised same officer who assaulted me 3-4 months ago, sounds like the similarly retarded attitude/talk this guy displayed - was he short (less than 5"10')?

Did anything come of that Ash? I heard about what happened at the time and was disgusted.

Sounds like you got what you deserved.

X2. Couldn't have said it better myself.

i'm not sure if this is taking this thread off topic, but i have allways wondered.... and i hope our resident cop is reading this and can help

if i am stationary at a set of traffic lights on a straight flat road with a speed limit of 80km/h and when the light turns green i accelerate away from the line with a fair bit if gusto, but during said acceleration i do not loose traction, i do not exceed the speed limit, and i stay fully within my own lane... is this considered hooning? and there for punishable under the hooning laws?

i'm not sure if this is taking this thread off topic, but i have allways wondered.... and i hope our resident cop is reading this and can help

if i am stationary at a set of traffic lights on a straight flat road with a speed limit of 80km/h and when the light turns green i accelerate away from the line with a fair bit if gusto, but during said acceleration i do not loose traction, i do not exceed the speed limit, and i stay fully within my own lane... is this considered hooning? and there for punishable under the hooning laws?

Yes. "Unnecessary show of speed" 3 points and fine.

I don't think my guy does that stuff anymore, so you're outta luck there. But again, it would be 4 figures that's for sure.

Although, if you are fighting them and you win you shouldn't really be outta pocket at all far as i understand it?

Everything i've won over the years cost me zero. Im not sure of the inner workings of it all...

You might be lucky as well as there is PLENTY of CCTV footage now in the CBD that Police have access too, i know this for a fact. Plenty of camera access, especially intersections.

So you could easily attain it if you lodged a request ASAP, not sure what the keep time is on that kinda stuff. If you lodge it Monday should be no worries, i'd do that first thing.

Then get onto a lawyer same day, ensure you explain the FULL situation very honestly.

If you have other mates etc and you all go in together you might be able to work out a better price/arrangement. With that amount of witnesses etc you will have a reasonably good case without a doubt.

I mean they would have pulled you up shortly after the intersection i'd imagine to its impossible you were 'racing'.

I bet it won't even make it to the courtroom. A lawyer talking to the Prosecution, once the cases are drawn up, any reasonable prosecutor IMO will not even let that see a courtroom if what you are saying is 100% true.

Especially if the Police will look red faced and be stuck with a BIGGER bill after a courtroom session, as its all down to mitigated cost with a lot of things.

Simply not worth arguing a case that clearly is not in your favour for the Police.

Graeme (our resident officer) won't be able to offer much over and above what i've put in already as he was not there so its all speculative.

I'm being completely honest here because I want to find a REASONABLE solution, or i want to know if im gonna get shafted before I do if you get what I mean. The guy said he was "incharge" of the CBD that night and said something like hes incharge of all the cops out that night... He was bald, and his name was KJELL - pronounced SHELL his last name was some german bog, i dunno how much shit he talked.... They said they heard screeching tyres... I just got brand new potenzas and I know for a fact they didnt screech, not my car anyway, and if they did NO WAY IN HELL theyd hear that over my exhaust which is well over legal limit... thats why i thought i was getting pulled over -.-

OK so scrap legal aid, i'm off to a real lawyer... only ones i know are slater and gordon... dont have much choice in melton... :S i'll call the guy above aswell, anyone tell me where hes based, i'd prefer 1 on 1 with him.

Definately going to get all involved and all people in car to come explain, even the one that got away.

UM who do i ask for CCTV? shops or what?

Hope this post doesn't come off as sounding like a smart a** or accusing anyone... I'm no legal expert either.

I hang around that area alot. Cops "usually" don't really deal with motorists there they are too busy taking care of street crime in the area.... Besides its "too crowded" to even try a drag race

However - if it is obvious eg. screaming engines, traction issues, even just having an overly loud exhaust they may suspect it especially with some hot cars around you. Remember to "drag race" you don't need to be overspeeding - just the "act" of it is enough to make them to go at you.

And it doesn't help that you didn't do the hook turn properly - which they are quite strict on, few of my female mates have been fined with not doing hook turns properly or not doing them at all :dry:

Sometimes it could just be a noob cop with not enough experience to judge properly...

Good luck with it.

Yeah i though i was going down for my exhaust or hook turn, but no they doubled fisted me and called it drag racing. There was 3 of us all in the same lane, lancer that is riced to max, au falcon stock with exhaust and me with just a loud exhaust.... i dont see how u can drag at 11:00 - 11:30 at night through the corner of russell and bourke when its bumper to bumper and we were all in the same lane!

Well there was 1 cop car at start then 2 more, and like 5 cops on foot who "witnessed" it, the first cop car had this guy who was running the whole city so he reckons, and he had 1 chick with him. My mate who got his car taken too had this chick talking to him and I had hitler, the chick didnt look very old like maybe 20-25 and she looked like a noob, messed up the times on our tickets or whatever they gave us it said 10:50 and the 1 has an 0 behind it, might be a help to me, but the guy talking or should i say going off tits at me, was just over aggressive and plain voilent. I stood with my hands behind my back the whole time, denied everything, fully cooperative, he tapped me on the chest a few times with his torch - invading my personal space, cops may have that right though im not sure, i just didnt wanna end up in cuffs in the back of a van, never want to experience that.

Sorry for double post..

+1 for a real lawyer. Screw Legal Aid they are a waste of time. If you go to a proper legal firm they will tell you what the deal is straight up and then you can decide whether or not to go with them, you don't pay just for going and seeing them to get advice. You only pay if they take up the case and you accept.

The problem I see is, where you "playing" around before the intersection, like a fe kays before the city as they may have been following you the whole time and decided after the failed hook turn to sting the lot of you.

We went to willy beach then St kilda then back to western suburbs through the city. Honestly we sped a little til the west gate freeway, would of been happy toget done for that because i'm guilty as charged for that, but no we did nothing over the top in the city, always below speed limit, booted it a few times up to 50km/h then stopped, and only had 1 or 2 opportunities to dothat because we were in traffic all of the night and thats all i did. They said they followed us for abit but as I said to them when they said "we were 2 cars behind u surprised u didnt see us" I said, "first time in the city, didnt want to lose my mates as i'd shit my pants and have no idea where i was or where id go" but cops being cops don't communicate like proper human beings especially to a 19year old p-plate driving a skyline, they talked to me like a peice of shit (been pulled over twice ever for random breatho and speeding before this, and same bullshit every time like im a mass murderer, i bet they talked to julian knight in a more civilized manner) and didnt give a f**k what i had to say.