In light of all the cop-hating in the first 5 odd pages of threads in the NSW section, I just wanted to bring an example of cops that are ok.

Last night I was dropping two mates off at the pub and on the way got pulled over for an rbt, and while the cop was at it, went over my car with a fine tooth comb. I sank 4 beers at a mates place then left to go home. When i did the count to ten into the machine, it obviously registered a reading, and the cop asked me if I'd been drinking. I said I had 4 beers while eating dinner and waited around for an hour before leaving because I didn't want to get done drink driving. The cops reply was "fair enough mate, you've got a reading, but it's under the limit, so thats ok, now pop your bonnet".

Thats when I went 'uh-oh'.

Cop: Have you got any illegal modifications, pod filter, bov, exhaust, big rims, anything like that?

Me: Yes officer

Cop: Do you have any engineers certificates for any of these things?

Me: No officer

Cop: (looking in engine bay) What else isn't standard in here?

Me: Erm, the pod has an enclosure, the front mount isnt a stock item, theres a boost tee type boost controller, but the blow off valve is a stock item, the loud atmo one's arn't really my style.

Cop: Yeah, me neither

Me: Umm, I've also bought an exhaust that advertised it was under 90db, but I haven't had it tested, and my wheels are at the maximum allowable limit according to the sticker on the drivers door.

Cop: Yep, ok

The cop then checked my licence, came back and said this:

Cop: Mate, it's good to see that your trying to do the right thing - we see skylines and supra's and silvia's and all the imported cars giving us nothing but attitude and blatantly doing the wrong thing. Keep doing the speed limit, mod your car to the limit of the law, and save the speeding for track days.

Me: No problem officer, in all honestly, I realised it was going to be hard to be an enthusiast of skylines when so many idiots spoil it for me when I bought this car.

Cop: Yep, true mate, have a good night.

I realise that police can go either way when it comes to imported cars. When i try and sum up what happened, I'm a 23yo male, in a 33gtst (possibly the most 'flogged by bogan' model skyline) with illegal mods done to my car, with two mates sinking beers in the car. And I got no fine or warning.

Moral of the story: Don't be an idiot when you get pulled over. Be honest and truthful, and explain your actions respectfully to the cop. It really can't hurt.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/296247-love-for-cops/

well said, I personally have never had any issues with cops & my cars (always had skylines) knock on wood of course

I never acted like a dick when pulled over either so it must go a long way

only time I don't agree with cops is when I see them in uniform & marked patrol cars doing the exact thing that they pull over others for I won't go into detail in this thread as it is the love for cops thread after all :(

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/296247-love-for-cops/#findComment-4936379

yes beening up front with cops is the best way i had 2 encounters with cops in my 33's. First time they where leanate which i was pretty happy about i didnt get a fine for the defects which was good, and i was very poilite ect as always to the cops. The 2nd time howevere there epa where envolved and i swear there the worst people on earth to deal with no madder how nice or polite and trying to do the right thing the will screw you over to the best of there ability 4 months i tryed to clear a deffect for a hi flow cat which i didnt have fitted but i did have other mods which they could defect which was fair enough but yes they can go both ways, cops arnt to bad usually its the pricks at the epa you have to watch out for.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/296247-love-for-cops/#findComment-4936771

I got done after i came back from my deployment,

i goes 'mate i haven't drove this car for a while, just got back from my deployment, and here to visit family'

cop 'Oh okay, got any id with you?'

i goes ' yeh '

cop walks around the car with a torch, checking inside and out, then points at the fuel reg, 'that's not a bow off valves is it?'

i goes 'nuh mate, i haven't got one'

he goes 'yeap one looks pretty good, all you need a cover for the air filter, but i'm sure you can get that sort it '

i goes 'yeah cheers'

then they pulled up next to me at the next set of light, had more coversation, then i turned right as they give me a thumbs up lol..

i love coppsss

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/296247-love-for-cops/#findComment-4936819

Ive never had a problem with the cops but I drive at the speed limit (most of the time), When I do get pulled over they walk up and see a crusty old bloke and when I ask if everything is OK they usually say they pulled me over because they thought some young guy was driving and they usually act like a idiot so are easy targets for fines, Ive had my bonnet popped and the cops have laughed and said if I was kid the car would never see the light of day again with the amount of defects it would get.

I also hand my Army Licence over first to try and calm the waters, LOL.

Its the experience of the older drivers that lets us get away with it I think, Me at 44 with28yrs of driving experience and the 20 yr old with 4 yrs.

I did get smashed by them in the early 80s when I got my licence and was racing around the streets in Minis then moving on to Lj Toranas,

Thinking back Im lucky not to have killed myself or some other poor bastard street racing when I was young.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/296247-love-for-cops/#findComment-4937445

Yeah ive had no probs, but lastnight I was watching "THE FORCE" and this dopey general duties cop pulls over a Mauritian driver because they knew his license had expired, long story short the guy had 3 near new tyres and one rear tyre that was deemed "unsafe", thats not the issue i'm getting at, the cop said something very stupid and they played it on tv.

Cop: Why is that one rear tyre bald and the others are near new

Reply: I bought the car like that

Cop: Its not from doing too many burnouts in it? (in a smart assy tone)

LOL i started laughing like crazy because this car that the cop suspected it for doing burn outs was a early 90's honda Preluede, you know the front wheel drive ones. thought i'd share that

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/296247-love-for-cops/#findComment-4938137

cops are usually pretty cool if you don't act like an asshole UNLESS they have a quota to fill and unfortunately due to massive budget deficits that we read about in the papers every day, more and more of them are turning to absolute twats to the point of faking speed readings to hand out fines (personal experience), just to fullfill their quotas.

The labour state government has really and truly f**ked this state up the ass. Most depressing thing is there's no one else to vote for because the other side is even worse.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/296247-love-for-cops/#findComment-4943234

cops are usually pretty cool if you don't act like an asshole UNLESS they have a quota to fill and unfortunately due to massive budget deficits that we read about in the papers every day, more and more of them are turning to absolute twats to the point of faking speed readings to hand out fines (personal experience), just to fullfill their quotas.

:) Riiiggggggghhhhhhhhhttttttttt.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/296247-love-for-cops/#findComment-4943375

Given that nearly all our cars are probably illegal, I can't see how it makes sense to be anything other than polite to the cops.

It's dumbass hoons and tailgaters I can't be bothered to be polite to...

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/296247-love-for-cops/#findComment-4944140

i bring that down to luck wait till you come across one thats had a real "bad" day not to say ive never been let off in the past , but just goes to show you law is only enforced at a complete personal level.

Edited by Hiroshima Screamer
https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/296247-love-for-cops/#findComment-4962716

Moral of the story: Don't be an idiot when you get pulled over. Be honest and truthful, and explain your actions respectfully to the cop. It really can't hurt.

agreed got a simeler story with my supra ( but i was doing the wrong thing at a rounderbout ( when i got pulled up i told the cop what i did when he asked why he puld me over ) just be honest and see if you get a cop in a good mood at worst you are still goign to het fined for it or you can get lucky and let off

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/296247-love-for-cops/#findComment-4964896

You get some bad and some that are like wnkers, either jealous or just bored and want to screw you over, depends on day and time I guess.

Since switching from my RB 180SX [sKY-180, some chic owns it now] I've gotten less trouble from the cops if not any. Stock/sleeper look ftw :blink:

Seems like Silvias have a worse reputation than Liner owners.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/296247-love-for-cops/#findComment-4971137

i find it funny all those cop hate threads, when 90% of the time, the drivers/defectees who were publishing them, gave the cops a hard time.

DER!, of course if you give lip to cops there more likely to f**k you over.

This is prime example of how to deal with cops.

Honest, up front, respect, yes sir, no sir etc...

gets you far!

got pulled over for speeding, (90 in 50 zone, but only got caught doing 62 :| ) and the usual question "Any reason why you were speeding?" i replied: "No, i was just being a dickhead sir, i was being stupid." Cop was staring my 'cooler right in the face when taking down my rego, and even commented on my loud exhaust, nothing more than $150 and 2 demerits...

Again, ive never had a bad experience with a cop, and ive had a few dealings i.e. >10 in 18 months.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/296247-love-for-cops/#findComment-4971221