• Replies 1.4k

You're right, Ian is going way out on a limb and the amount of work he's put in it deserves to and will do well.

I still find pro class a little rich though, I won't deny that.

I stand corrected just to hire the track it is way more than the $12k which it was about 4 years ago when I was looking to hire it. I just spoke to Ian and I was shocked at the real cost of this huge event.

yeah guys it's not cheap, but there has been nothing like it before in this country. The international entries alone make this an event well worth entering. Like John said Ian has put his nuts on the line for this event both financially and his reputation. by the time it comes off it will have been nearly 12months of work for him and the expense of getting international entries, 2 days of track hire, super screen, staff etc.

This is our chance to show we want guys to invest heavily in events that are targeted at the types of cars we love. If we don't support it now, don't expect to see one again. We need to make this event a success so that guys like Ian will want to run future events and then we have a chance to help tweak them to be run the way we want. If we don't get behind it now it'll be back to paying $200 for a couple of 3 lap session with nearly 200 cars at a supersprint filled predominantly with cars running 20 seconds slower than we are. Were is the fun in that? we might as well just all buy old alfas and circulate around the 2:10 mark so as not to get our panties soiled... :D

So you guys get heaps of shitbox rusting oiling Alphas down there too huh? LOL

Again said well Baron, I do see we can all be a prt of the "birth" if you like of a great yearly international event bringing the best cars the world has to offer here (and maybe sending some of our good over there), and if we have to pay a premium for that in comparison to a normal boring track day then so be it.

So, who's car is available for a few track days leading up to the main event for the lil Queenslander to get some practice in? :D ha

Good work on bringing the price down!

Anyone have access to a planned event schedule for the 2 days?

edit:

Does anyone know does the following mean the cage must be CAMS approved?

8. be fitted with a safety cage as required by Schedule J (refer to “General Requirements for Cars and Drivers” in

the CAMS Manual of Motor Sport);

Michael

I reckon that for what it is, that's pretty reasoble pricing. If my car went around corners better and if my house wasn't taking all my money at the moment I'd definatly be entering and be happy to pay the entry. Instead I'm just going to watch. But hopefully if this year's goes well there'll be a next year for me.

Might have to meet up with some of the other SAU pissheads on the hill this year but.

x2, this is no club track day, its should be lookd apon as the Mecca of our motorsport events.

I will be entering probably next year after i get some track time around EC.

Marlin if there are some open practice days id be happy to bring the skyline up as i too would like to get a few laps around there.

So you guys get heaps of shitbox rusting oiling Alphas down there too huh? LOL

Again said well Baron, I do see we can all be a prt of the "birth" if you like of a great yearly international event bringing the best cars the world has to offer here (and maybe sending some of our good over there), and if we have to pay a premium for that in comparison to a normal boring track day then so be it.

So, who's car is available for a few track days leading up to the main event for the lil Queenslander to get some practice in? :P ha

edit:

8. be fitted with a safety cage as required by Schedule J (refer to "General Requirements for Cars and Drivers" in

Similar question raised on another forum

correct me if your wrong but wouldnt the cage have to be cut out and redone to cams specs for the time attack competition? I think Cams would deem it very unsafe to run it how it is, being chromoly and mig welded will cause you some dramas getting the current one cirtified.

Hi Neil,

No log book is required, so long as the cage is up to Cams specs you will be

fine.

Nathan Welland

EVENT CO-ORDINATOR

SUPERLAP AUSTRALIA PTY LTD

Which it is...it was built by a mate who worked for one of the v8super car teams. We used the exact same materials as what he normally uses on their cages.

Been thinking about this all night, and I'm really hoping everyone interested gets behind it guys, either as spectator or entrant.

If this International Superlap flies this time around, going forward it will really be something special I reckon.

im behind it... as a spectator, so is the missus, old boy, and a few mates... ill be in it in a few years.... id pay $100 entry both days to see the awesomest cars on the planet!!!

i totally agree with the great baron.. we are still a young, unpopulated country, with limited (if any) events for ballistic, outrageous cars... most competitions have to race around in different classes, stick to rules and regulations, etc and be well within their limits..

with international interest, this event can only get bigger.. if the politicians and random turds in charge can see it as a good thing, then there will be no stopping it.. it will be bigger than the F1!! or not... probably not... but it will be similar to the old group A days, seeing a variety of street cars battling it out for top spot.

Good work on bringing the price down!

Anyone have access to a planned event schedule for the 2 days?

edit:

8. be fitted with a safety cage as required by Schedule J (refer to “General Requirements for Cars and Drivers” in

Michael

the requirement for a safety cage depends on the type of event permit. If its just a multiclub supersprint permit, then Schedule J allows non-complying cages as long as the chief scrutineer doesn't think its unsafely constructed. If its state level or national permit and your car is unreg, then it would have to be a CAMS compliant cage. Anyone know what status this event is?

Edited by hrd-hr30

Rest assured the OS cars won't have CAMS cages, so my bet it will be up to the chief scroot.

I reckon if it doesn't look like a piece of shit made out of exhaust tube ala VN SS from Ipswich, then you're good to go bro.

cage made out of exhaust tube, sounds pro. lighter than cromo.

i've got no doubt the international cars will be let in, just stuff I didn't even think of hosting an international event. The yanks were complaining cause their superlap is run on full slicks

cage made out of exhaust tube, sounds pro. lighter than cromo.

i've got no doubt the international cars will be let in, just stuff I didn't even think of hosting an international event. The yanks were complaining cause their superlap is run on full slicks

Yeh but the Septics are the only ones who've recently started running slicks, Japan and Europe still run R comp as far as I'm aware.

I like the use of R comp in the Open class as the tyre is the natural limiting factor of performance, sure you can a 11ty million killerwaspes but you got to be able to use it and get it down. That's why I'm going to smash them all with my internally standard RB20. Yep, you heard it here first, The Woo is gonna take out Open!

Yeh but the Septics are the only ones who've recently started running slicks, Japan and Europe still run R comp as far as I'm aware.

I like the use of R comp in the Open class as the tyre is the natural limiting factor of performance, sure you can a 11ty million killerwaspes but you got to be able to use it and get it down. That's why I'm going to smash them all with my internally standard RB20. Yep, you heard it here first, The Woo is gonna take out Open!

Gotta love the "internally standard"...... let's not worry about all the other stuff that bolts on!

Onya Benny!!

Anyone got any idea on a format/track schedule as yet ??

I'm going either way, but would love to know how much track time to expect and how many sets of tyres etc, etc, may be required.......