Superlap 2010 Ramblings

Bozman1

No - he was never in 2nd place, people are just looking at the wrong/last session times, not the aggregate / final results. Good effort nonetheless but evo's and gtr are in front.

Like i said if i missed the few session times looking at the last run of the day then woops. But the point is who would have thought a basic 2L rwd Nissan could be punted so quickly in what I expected to be a one make R35 show, with EVOs in tow. To be less then 2/10s of second place is a huge credit to the guy! He beat more EVOs and GTRs then beat him.

LSX-438, was that your best time on streets? It is absolutely moving to, curious to know what rubber you ran on, was it std Nissan rubbers? Is that about as good as you can get for the R35?

• Replies 1.4k

Like i said if i missed the few session times looking at the last run of the day then woops. But the point is who would have thought a basic 2L rwd Nissan could be punted so quickly in what I expected to be a one make R35 show, with EVOs in tow. To be less then 2/10s of second place is a huge credit to the guy! He beat more EVOs and GTRs then beat him.

LSX-438, was that your best time on streets? It is absolutely moving to, curious to know what rubber you ran on, was it std Nissan rubbers? Is that about as good as you can get for the R35?

yes definitely well done to Jacky, only a blink in it for 2nd, 3rd and 4th. long way back to 1st.

it was my r35 in 2nd and i am full of excuses let me tell you... suffice to say the tires didnt work for me. i tried advan 285/30's which were too short (VDC didnt work at all) and also some shagged 20" bridgestones (even slower!). A new set of 20" dunlops would be faster but i dont think it would have bested Nick on the day somehow. Well done to Nick he improved his PB something like 2 seconds or so, amazing.

It was a great event, a big shock coming from slicks to genuine road tyres i can tell you. well done to the evo boys i think they won every class?

Edited by LSX-438

So what was everybodies favorite car,,,Mine was the Panspeed Rotary,,,Oh and John Boston's 180 lifting the inside wheel about a foot off the ground through turn 2. Nice work mate!!!.

Neil.

My favourite cars were the club sprint cars that actually looked like could be daily driven.

My least favourite cars were the NA Hondas with megaphones for exhausts.

This weekend was a real eye opener. I'm glad I made the drive down from Townsville to see this unfold. I really wanted to see how this all works so hopefully I can tow the GTR down next year. It really just shows the level of dedication some will go to to be competitive here. A credit to all the organsies and competitors and condolances go out to the S15 owner. It would break my heart if mine ever looked like that.

Look at the bright side, at least there werent any smokey s6 rx7's and roger cordia.

Question about club sprint class, are they allow to run aftermarket lsd's? The rules say something about diff casings?

thanks to all the SAU members who dropped by and said hi, sorry i couldn't get to pop up to the tent. thanks to all that made what seemed like a unlimited feast of parts on call if needed.

Like everybody we have tales to tell and excuse books in hand but we came to do a low 1.36 and went away with a 1:35.8 so more than happy.

congrats to mark berry 1:34.1 is an insane time :(

congrats as well to all the other SAU members on the day

Dave Loftus

BSMpost-37870-1274570994_thumb.jpg

thanks to all the SAU members who dropped by and said hi, sorry i couldn't get to pop up to the tent. thanks to all that made what seemed like a unlimited feast of parts on call if needed.

Like everybody we have tales to tell and excuse books in hand but we came to do a low 1.36 and went away with a 1:35.8 so more than happy.

Dave Loftus

BSM

You had the best sounding car out there Dave.

Yeah good one Paul, I didn't know I had a hero car? Also, I skipped all the trader stands and watched the on track action the entire time.

Was a great 2 day, nice to see so many people there hope the event just gets bigger and better.

Meet alot of SAU people in the pits coming to have a look at my car, nice to meet you all :(

I was very happy to get in the 1:49 with full trim and bolt on suspension parts out the box with Kumho KU36's.

And what a drive from Jackie in the 200sx only running 210rwkw with E85, said he borrowed alot of parts of mates to bolt on the car for the event, Must have some very good mates.

post-36356-1274572620_thumb.jpg

post-36356-1274573357_thumb.jpg

I also liked to watch the white supra coming no to the straight, it must have had a rather large turbo it almost sucked my glasses off my face hehehe.

If its the one I think your talking about, he's from tassie, its packing a big turbonetics GTK 650 or simular.

Had a great day...met some nice people and sold 5K worth of bits out of my boot in the carpark....had a good laugh with ABM and Daz.

lol at N1GTR...went both days but steered clear of the Nitto stand. Its quite ironic your hero car required a Nitto part after a Jap brand name bit failed to do the job.

I don't know what issues you two have between eachother nor do I care but I do want to clear up the original head gasket failed due to the head stud between 4 & 5 pulling from the block. The fellow on the Nitto stand, Andrew I think it was, was most helpful in tracking down our requirement.

So what are you on about champ?

Dave Loftus

BSMpost-37870-1274570994_thumb.jpg

Loved the paint job lofty!!!

Here's a pic i took. Bit blurry but was my first attempt at motion shots :)

post-194-1274575239_thumb.jpg

Brian - your red GTR is just soooo beautiful! I cant beleive you track something so clean!! hehe Great time too - top stuff!

also, what happened with the pan speed and Berry's 34 at turn 4 in the arvo?

looked like berry was on a cooling lap and they got caught up cauing the pan speed off into the grass! looked interesting!!!

must say, my fav sounding casr was the XR6T. it sounded like an F18 bout to take off - loved it!

It was a great event, a big shock coming from slicks to genuine road tyres i can tell you. well done to the evo boys i think they won every class?

It amazes me that any car can get under 1:50s on road rubber, so interested to know what tyre works best on a an R35, as they are pretty big and heavy and would need as much tyre as possible. Any idea what tyre the EVOs ran? Were they 8s,9,s or 10s up front?

evidently their super low cars handle.. and their super stiff coilovers do suit austrailan tracks... who'da thunk it??

Horses for courses. I dont think anyone ever doubted they would handle and perform. Dont forget, if you have aero you need to have far firmer suspension. And looking at the pics I have seen and the times some were doing, then they were packing meaningful aero so with that downforce suspension is understandably very different for the cars at 1:30 with aero and the cars at 1:48 with std bodies

Was an interesting day where we somehow missed everything moving on wheels as we spent a bit of time at show and shine. Good to put names to faces and even the Z guys were in the same camp!