So you falsified evidence relating to your car to make it legal for you to drive and then post that information on a public forum along with all the information required to identify you should someone from the police read this? You might want to edit your original post mate...

He can't edit it.

• Replies 76

When I first got my skyline, got pulled over asked to pop the bonnet. Had a Turbosmart supersonic BOV with the massive trumpet...

Cop says, thats externally venting ha? I just denied all knowledge of anything, expecting to get reamed. Went to his car, grabbed a camera & took photos of my BOV. But, never heard any more about it. Pure luck but... Was a nice cop & was maybe just having a good day.

Plus this was before every man & his dog had a skyline so they werent quite as hard then.

All I can say is best of luck!

yeah but thing is he didnt even mention the boost controller :S just the bov and cooler...and all you others saying "omg man you shouldnt be saying that on here they might read it" well then..you shouldnt post up what mods you have on your car because then they might track your i.p and then send you a epa notice. and no he did not take any photos...to be honest i was polite and he was nice too..it was mostly just a check up just to breatho me because it was schoolies period...so yer i feel pretty confident.

...and all you others saying "omg man you shouldnt be saying that on here they might read it" well then..you shouldnt post up what mods you have on your car because then they might track your i.p and then send you a epa notice.

Couldnt have put it better myself. Do people honestly believe that at every station there is a cop that sits behind a computer screen and reads every car forum so they may find some information on a some poor bloke in a small town talking about what is legal and what is illegal on there own car. Seriously, do you think that in every station there is a cop looking at facebook or something and looking at someones profile who says that they got into a fight and go arrest them for assult, or someone talking about how there bong broke at home, cops arent gunna go and do a drug bust on this person just because he said something on a public forum. Not every post on every forum site is looked at by the cops. When i had my EPA done in macleod i kept my power fc in, they never saw it, i mentioned it on this site, i havent had the cops come and bust my door down and issue me with another EPA check or even a warrant for my arrest because i lied to a police officer.

YES police may go through a few sites here and there but i doubt very much that the gvment is paying a cop to sit behind a screen and go through every post in SAU so they can pull over every member on this site on there way to work/uni. Because i reckon if they did, 75% of the people on this site have written about something they have done illegally, weather it be speeding, doing a burnout, putting a boost controller on, BOV swapping, parking illegally, not displaying there P's, even throwing a smoke butt out the window, 'spirited' driving, they wouldve already had the cops on there door step.

Nismoid - Tell me, just outa curiosity, you keep going on about how cops are known to read this forum, out of all the years you've been on here, how many people have pulled over and fined or worse as a result for something that has been posted up this site. Im not a lawyer but shit, even i would be able to represent myself in court and get off any charge they would throw at me as a result of something that has been posted under my username on this site.

People need to lighten up a little bit.

Lucky you muztek, you tried to do the right thing and get a lift back to drink - smart, you got a nice cop and you took it all in your stride. If you get an EPA its unlucky in my books. Oh, and i doubt it would be cos you wrote what you did.

Couldnt have put it better myself. Do people honestly believe that at every station there is a cop that sits behind a computer screen and reads every car forum so they may find some information on a some poor bloke in a small town talking about what is legal and what is illegal on there own car. Seriously, do you think that in every station there is a cop looking at facebook or something and looking at someones profile who says that they got into a fight and go arrest them for assult, or someone talking about how there bong broke at home, cops arent gunna go and do a drug bust on this person just because he said something on a public forum. Not every post on every forum site is looked at by the cops. When i had my EPA done in macleod i kept my power fc in, they never saw it, i mentioned it on this site, i havent had the cops come and bust my door down and issue me with another EPA check or even a warrant for my arrest because i lied to a police officer.

YES police may go through a few sites here and there but i doubt very much that the gvment is paying a cop to sit behind a screen and go through every post in SAU so they can pull over every member on this site on there way to work/uni. Because i reckon if they did, 75% of the people on this site have written about something they have done illegally, weather it be speeding, doing a burnout, putting a boost controller on, BOV swapping, parking illegally, not displaying there P's, even throwing a smoke butt out the window, 'spirited' driving, they wouldve already had the cops on there door step.

Nismoid - Tell me, just outa curiosity, you keep going on about how cops are known to read this forum, out of all the years you've been on here, how many people have pulled over and fined or worse as a result for something that has been posted up this site. Im not a lawyer but shit, even i would be able to represent myself in court and get off any charge they would throw at me as a result of something that has been posted under my username on this site.

People need to lighten up a little bit.

Lucky you muztek, you tried to do the right thing and get a lift back to drink - smart, you got a nice cop and you took it all in your stride. If you get an EPA its unlucky in my books. Oh, and i doubt it would be cos you wrote what you did.

thankyou..finally a down to earth person who knows how to write a decent post.. p.s guys im gunna go blow up the servo down the road..o shyt cops probably gunna read it n be at my door in 30mins..o well. :)

Who knows?

If it happened to you, and you looked like that much of a donkey/fool, would you post up about it?

I'd say... probably not. Being that is what got you into the pickle in the first place, it's highly likely you might learnt your lesson just to "be quiet".

I do know there has been 1 peorson done in recent times, however i will not be going into details of it.

And no - good luck getting out of something you post. It's no different to youtube videos or blogging about your antics.

Add to the fact that as enthusiasts we try to distance ourselves from the fools and idiots. Openly admitting to lying to the Police really does not help anyone.

yeah but thing is he didnt even mention the boost controller :S just the bov and cooler...and all you others saying "omg man you shouldnt be saying that on here they might read it" well then..you shouldnt post up what mods you have on your car because then they might track your i.p and then send you a epa notice. and no he did not take any photos...to be honest i was polite and he was nice too..it was mostly just a check up just to breatho me because it was schoolies period...so yer i feel pretty confident.

It's not just for the police. We don't really want the public and potential members of our club thinking we're a bunch of hoons who lie to the police. There's a difference between posting up this and talking about a modification in a car (also note that not all modifications are illegal).

Here's the info I've collected thus far and this is based off your original post alone. Information all readily available to the public:

Your first name is James. You live in Donvale. You drive a white series 2 R33 Skyline GTS-T. You're a green P plater. On the night of the 27th of November you were passing through Rye when a local (i.e. Rye police station) TMU stopped at a bus stop gave chase to your vehicle, pulled you over to have what you've written here as a somewhat distinctive and detailed conversation...in which you concede to have lied several times during the course of it. I wonder how many times this happened on Friday night for the boys in blue down at Rye?

Now I wonder how hard it would be to jog the memory of an officer at Rye police station if a colleague (or member of the public who didn't like you) were to pass this information around the station? Given the cop knew the name of the engine under your hood, he sounds savvy enough to remember exactly who you are.

Even if you get away with doing this or you think you can, is it worth the risk?

Damo_c it may interest you to know that we have an active member of the police force who browses these forums out of his own personal interest. Remember, they are regular people just like you and I. Now suppose you come across one looking for something to do tomorrow...

you keep going on about how cops are known to read this forum, out of all the years you've been on here, how many people have pulled over and fined or worse as a result for something that has been posted up this site.

Not just on this forum, but from other forums and internet related mediums, there have been a lot more than you realise.

And by the way.... Just because a member of Vic Police is off duty whilst browsing, doesnt mean they cant follow up a possible lead when they next start their shift. :)

;)

I was pulled over in Rye once, bottom line was the officer was very polite and understanding of the circumstance etc. I ended up keeping my license. remember to pin up those p plates kiddies.

oh and this was in a nissan pintara not a skizline

Lol, since you are on your P's, you are not allow to do any engine mods to increase the power of your car.

So I guess you got lucky :down:

wrong. since if hes allowed to drive turbo, those laws don't affect him. f**k, should have been a lawyer.

License before july 1st 2007, old power to weight laws. turbos/superchargers allowed, v8s banned though. p's for 3 years.

License after july 1st 07, turbos/superchargers banned. however, the new p plate system wasn't inplace for at least 6 months, so old p's just turbos/superchargers banned. p's for 3 years.

New system, turbos/superchargers banned along with stricter p/w restrictions and engine performance mods banned. (however, its debatable what they could considering engine mod). p's for 4 years.

wrong. since if hes allowed to drive turbo, those laws don't affect him. f**k, should have been a lawyer.

WRONG, dont bother being a lawyer, the no modifications rule was brought in when the power to weight rule was first introduced 10-15 yrs ago.

strange, how no police have never told me that. i have seen heavily modified cars inspected and they didn't talk about such "rules"

link me this rule that magically affects me?

also, i never said it was legal to drive the r33, i was stating under the old laws, p plates only have p/w restrictions. Same rules apply for all drivers apply for p platers, such as you cant run different turbos, ecus or two intake mods etc. however, as long as you follow EPA and road worthy rules, should be fine.

Edited by Peter89
link me this rule that magically affects me?

How about you go research your own problems, im not on P's so it has no effect on me, obviously you havnt done your research and have probably taken the word of some one else on the internet as gospel.

errr? didn't you read that fact that i have had enough first hand experience with police to know what the rules are?

i don't need to research, i know the laws, you just cant backup your claims.