Great drive from Marky Mark, dominant, confident and pretty much flawless.. Kudos to Kubica, he drove a fantastic race and proved once again it wasn't luck or miracle, he's really punching a weight division or two above his weight.. Bad luck has finally struck Jenson and a poor showing in the sphincter of the universe could signal a turn in form... Alonso drove hard and aggressively to make up positions and it was a fine choice to whack on the mediums at the first safety car, and one cannot look past Schuey, the old fox got one up on his Spanish foe at the last gasp!!! Sensational.. Michael's now got 2 up on Nico's 4... Things are getting interesting I think... :-)

• Replies 3.6k

Webber was awesome same for the koob, but Webz dominated it.

Also Schumacher on Alonso at the end was fantastic I thought it might have been hamilton trying it on Massa but the the old dog still has a few tricks up his sleeves it seems.

Loved it early in the race watching Alonso get stuck behind Di Grassi who was driving the wheels off an absolute dog of a car to keep Alonso behind him. Good on him for fighting that hard I reckon he was fighting for position and had every right to get in Alonso's way.

Good on him for fighting that hard I reckon he was fighting for position and had every right to get in Alonso's way.

I agree, if it is for position it is anyone's game... Reminded me of Enrique Bernoldi and DC back in 2001/02 iirc... Same thing, if it is for position it is fair game!

Oh, and how about Chandhok nearly losing his head!!! I may get flamed for this but I think Jarno made the move, I did notice he slid a little but Chandy left him no room, considering the next two corners were righties as well, I think it was definitely in Jarno's favour!

Edited by Marco-R34GTT

Yeah that I think it was probably Chandok's fault but it was amazing to see how easily Trullis car went over the top of Chandok at such a low speed. I think Chandok was lucky not to be hurt pretty bad the way the other car landed on him

its a bit of a sad realisation that mark might win every race i attend over here. so much for mixing it up in 2010

well done though, only overtaking moment that counted was seb on kubica in the first turn... and then not a hell of a lot after that!!

mark clearly had them today, he was pretty much cruzin to the end, much like hamo and nico. and speaking of nico, webber unfortunatly shafted him by coming out in front after his pit. shame cause he would have been on for 5th or 6th.

on to the sphincter of the universe and the RBR domination the the high speed stuff

Schumi penalised.... WTF!!!

A bit of a tiff at crash.net lol, a fiarly passionate discussion about said matter. tbh it is another poorly worded, half-baked and totally contradicted rule fumbled by the FIA...

What an insane place to race, thats nerve racking to watch, there are so many variables to bring you unstuck, the incident with 3 laps remaining is a good example.

apparently big aero package upgrade coming for RBR in the sphincter of the universe.......will they become the untouchable. or will it make little difference.

big decisions to be made in RBR garage now, and talk of Webber packing it up is all but gone. Koobs rumored to go to Ferrari and Massa to RBR........are they going to run 3 cars? Massa might find himself in a Williams lol.

i hope that happens too, mark was paying better money to win the championship

was a pretty good race, webs had so much time on them, shame he was told to slow down with countless fastest laps.. then to finish under safteycar just abouts.

the scraps at the back were the best tho. and some good crashes!

Had my eyes glued to the live timing the whole time. The apparent ease with which Webber pulled out a buffer after each SC period was tremendous. Definitely showed up the difference in the two RBs' setups.

I've also lost a little respect for Seb. Gotta give credit where it's due. And respect your elders! :D

Schumi penalised.... WTF!!!

A bit of a tiff at crash.net lol, a fiarly passionate discussion about said matter. tbh it is another poorly worded, half-baked and totally contradicted rule fumbled by the FIA...

"The FIA stewards, which included his old sparring partner Damon Hill, have deemed the German breached Article 40.13 of the Sporting Regulations, which states that “if the race ends whilst the safety car is deployed it will enter the pit lane at the end of the last lap and the cars will take the chequered flag as normal without overtaking."

Yes, article 40.13 makes for such exciting racing... :D It's almost as if the FIA want each race to be a parade.

Article 40.13 yes it is worded as a parade finish,

Yet even the BBC commentary as well as some of the teams were running under the interpretation that once the SC pulls in, you can overtake from the 1st white SC line prior to Pit-Entry......

I thought it was a cheeky move that brought back memories of Ze German knowing the rules and zapping sleeping drivers.

Alfalfa was spinning his tyres and was well out of shape leaving the second last corner open for a dive once passed the SC control line.

Hill,

Hope this takes away the pain from getting zapped in '94

Sheepdog!

webber was unbackable last i checked :thumbsup:

ah, I got on him on Saturday morning before qualy and he was paying 5:1 at the TAB. thanks TAB, my faith in the web-meister has been justly rewarded. :banana: I learnt my lesson after backing him last race at 2:1 I thought bugger it, this time I'll get on him before he qualifies it. I mean it doesn't take a genius to know he's good at monaco, he stuck that crappy old JAG on the front row for crying out loud. there was no way he would be anywhere other than pole in the RBR. So I figured if I'm going to bet on him anyway may as well get in early and get some good odds. after qualifying he was 1.65:1. lol.

arrggggghhhh!!!

Liuzzi's glasses. Too lame for words

I know!! I was so pleased baird commented on them. they were fkcing shocking.

Man, i am nervous

me too. I was shitting my pants for pretty much the whole thing. I couldn't believe it when there was a crash meters in front of mark 3 laps from the end! He was just unstoppable today. his usual bad luck would have seen those 2 cars completely block his path and cause him to stall it and then see seb fly past somehow. but not on this day. :thumbsup:

that is f**king bullshit that schumacher got a penalty. according to the rules that was 100% legit. he passed an out of control dirty sanchez after the saftey car control line. very cheeky but 100% legal. damon hill you old bitter f**ker. get over it. yes schuey is a dirty bastard and he shafted you nicely many times, but I don't remember old damon being completely blameless either.... get over it. he did nothing wrong.

yeah I've always thought seb was a little tool. I still hate him for taking out webber under safety car in japan. webbr might forgive but I don't. that was going to be webbers first win for sure. and vettel "f**ked it up".

anyway, great, great drive by webber. do we now dare to dream of an aussie WDC? it's a long way off but it seems possible.

god I wish koob had gotten a decent start and kept vettel in P3. cause it would be so much nicer if webber was clear at the top of the charts instead of sharing the points lead wit vettel. :thumbsup: damn you koob and your wheelspinning renault.

I like Vettel, but i have to say there is a difference between disappointment and being a bitter little boy. Webber always says Seb was too quick, but i am trying to keep him honest...its a good tussle etc. Vettel says "we need to look why i was slower...problem, blah, blah..i find myself wanting stuff to go wrong with him so he goes and has a sook. Its almost like Hamo to an extent. He has had an immediate rise in the sport, straight into a team that gave him one of the quickest cars on the grid...and he seems his competitive streak may be getting the better of him.

Meanwhile all the self imposed pressure that Webz used to put himself under seems gone. He seems to realise that it may have been negatively impacting his driving...but at the moment he is comfortable, confident and enjoying it. I was shocked after he binned it in Aus how he didnt seem to be talking about missed opportuity...he just moved on!>!> Not the Webber i remember who normalky pines over spilt milk....but now seems to be looking onwards and upwards

Sorry i missed your call Count. Phone was in room and i was lagering up in the bar watching the pre-race.

glad to hear it. much better than sitting in your hotel room with only me on the phone to keep you entertained!

agree with everything else too. there has definitely been a bit of an attitude shift in mark and with recent results in mind it's not hurting his performance that's for sure.

on current form red bull would be nuts to let him go. and I can see why ferrari might want him as a team mate for dirty sanchez.

I loved the radio call to Hamilton when they said " can you take it easy on the front brakes" (or something to that effect) and Hamilton's reply.... "what, am I here to race them or just circulate" (sorry, probably got the quote wrong but the sentiment is right).

Gold

I thought he said: "what the hell? it's not even half race distance!".

edit, we are both right:

Hamilton replied: “Am I not even halfway through the race yet?

“What the hell! Do you want me to race these guys or look after the car?”