So After All The Hype, Speculations Etc, Is The R35 Gtr What It's Cracked Up To Be?

• Replies 126

I have found that Women appreciate driving the R35 more than any other performance car, I have ever owned. But as a mature owner it can be a bit boring.

my every day car = 320 kilowatt Auto VE Commodore ute. Extremely practical and fun car for anyone. most economical of all my cars.

My special occasion and extreme fun car is a TVR Chimaera. raw muscular outrageous

R35 = track and rally only.

Edited by Dominic

I did the very opposite when i got married and had a family. Shortly after our big day, i went out and bought myself a wedding pressie. My first S15. After our first born, I bought a 350Z and shortly later the first R34 GT-R.

Once we have our 2nd child, here comes the R35 :rant:

Yeah but the problem is you are both comparing stock cars to modified ones.

Go and find a bog stock R33 GTR and/or R34 GTR and tell me how wonderfull and exciting they are.

And then get Slip to take you for a spin in his R35 GTR and tell me how boring and tame it is! Hell even find someone with $2K spent on one with a midpipe and a Cobb tune and tell me how tame and boring it is. Like all GTR's they change a lot with very little effort.

So you can't compare the "tameness" of a modified car to a stock one. Hell a modified Gemini will feel less tame than a stock R35 GTR. But you will stuggle to find any stock car out there that compares to a moddified R32-R34 in wild factors.

Yep...........my R35 stock was the worst purchase ever.....as It has spoiled me forever......will never purchase another Porsche

and hardly drive my Exige or Elise anymore and no good looking at anything else........just not as good unless I sell my house

and spend 500k plus....

Now with my midpipe and Cobb custom tune installed....... :(:rant::happy:

I have found that Women appreciate driving the R35 more than any other performance car, I have ever owned. But as a mature owner it can be a bit boring.

my every day car = 320 kilowatt Auto VE Commodore ute. Extremely practical and fun car for anyone. most economical of all my cars.

My special occasion and extreme fun car is a TVR Chimaera. raw muscular outrageous

R35 = track and rally only.

My Wife preferred the Porsche to my R35.......GTR is Just a little to quick for her.

I must say that my Exige is more of a track car feel then my R35 as it's much easier

to live with and a hell of a lot better and more fun on longer trips......

I have always had a soft spot for TVR's......but would most likely opt for more current

models as they are better sorted .

As for Ford's and Holden's...............................I deserve and want and have better.

PS: All good...what ever spins your wheels..........."Stay Sweet" :rant:

Yeah but the problem is you are both comparing stock cars to modified ones.

Go and find a bog stock R33 GTR and/or R34 GTR and tell me how wonderfull and exciting they are.

And then get Slip to take you for a spin in his R35 GTR and tell me how boring and tame it is! Hell even find someone with $2K spent on one with a midpipe and a Cobb tune and tell me how tame and boring it is. Like all GTR's they change a lot with very little effort.

So you can't compare the "tameness" of a modified car to a stock one. Hell a modified Gemini will feel less tame than a stock R35 GTR. But you will stuggle to find any stock car out there that compares to a moddified R32-R34 in wild factors.

exactly. a stock 32/33/34 GTR are as boring as it gets. they have far more grip and chassis than power so you can't really cause yourself any trouble in them. my stock FD RZ RX7 was way more fun than my stock 34 GTR and I owned them both at the same time so I remember it clearly. the fact was though even standard the 34 would do higher corner speeds etc but the FD felt twice as 'fun' at half the speed. I've owned stock 32,33,34 and 35 and of them all in standard form the 35 is probably the most exciting as the pure acceleration can keep you entertained for a while in a straight line and on the track is way more fun than any of the other 3 in standard form.

like snowy said a modded 35 will get the pulse going. change the exhaust or at least the mid-section, get a chip in it and some boost, some good pads basically the same basic mods you'd do to any other GTR and away you go. :D

+1 to that...I think your comments have summed it up. I don't think the R35 is for me. I have yet to test drive the Audi R8 but will do so sometime next year and may just save long and hard for it with a view of purchase later next year instead.

Thanks fellas...much appreciated.

This may be of interest. Will walk an R35 and still happily accommodate bubs :(

http://www.trademe.co.nz/Browse/Listing.aspx?id=259634078

Hey we have our R32 RH9 for sale that would make that NZ R34 look like a small childs toy in terms of outright performance and sheer power....but the OP probably didnt want another 10+ year old GTR. Food for though! :)

I think it is wise to buy the best/latest car that you can afford at the time. Dont make a decision about R35 without

driving one with midpipe/tune. They sound & feel SO much better. I doubt I would put up with my R35 as a daily driver

but when I do take it for a fang it is just awesome. When you get used to "cruiser" cars then jump in the R35 it does seem

a bit brutal. All the above advice is pretty good. If you are an adventurous hills driver & love a good track day then putting up with its hard ride etc is worth it. You wont buy a better car for the money.

If you seriously have the money for a new R8, I would still buy the R35 as your "sports" car & spend the "change" on a really nice luxury family cruiser like a new AMG C63 or Audi S5 or BMW 550i etc.

If you just want to scare the living s*&t out of yourself & anyone game to jump in the car with you then buy Willalls RH9 R32 GTR. That thing has the biggest, hairiest balls on the streets & it you can tame it you are one sick unit.

Might have to keep the kids out of it though - they might get brain damage from the acceleration!

Keir has owned that R32 from new since 1991 & it is probably one of the best developed GTRs in the world. I will be surprised if he actually lets it go..........

BTW, I was assuming you were talking about the new V10 R8. I dont think you could compare the old V8 model R8 to a new R35 GTR. I have not driven one, but from the specs it would not appear to be in the same league. I have driven the new Audi S5 which has the same engine (slightly detuned) & it was a very nice car. Just not an animal like the R35.

I'm a bit divided on the R35 actually. I haven't driven it at the track but on the freeway and through the twisties in Japan I felt like you would need to push this car really hard to get good feedback out of it. It's a weapon no doubt, but I almost felt like the car was doing all the work for me when it came to the corners. The drive wasn't as involving as I'd hoped - maybe it would have been more involving if I had pushed the car even harder than I did but without a race track to test this theory it shall remain a mystery to me.

hmm, Ive got a modified auto stagea with balls-out modifications, wicked to drive every single time. a real surprise

just picked up this week an R32 gtst 4door with rb26dett conversion. an amazing engine - how anyone can say 'boring' as stock is surprising.

this is my first time driving a GTR engine/gearbox and I am loving it! amazing engine, so strong.

monkey - keep the R33 GTR for a few yrs more, then grab the R35 once they come down a little more, and say once you hit 30.

Gives you a few yrs to drive & tame the r33 gtr, and a future goal to own the R35.

Or trade the GTR R33 in for a 260RS stagea? family wagon right there. let the wife keep that while you grab the R35 in the near future :D

loving the RB26DETT with rebuilt turbos / single puck clutch - rwd. awesome fun car, my new dedicated track car.

The sale is a hypothetical one John, with the R32 being more of a museum piece than anything else as it simply doesnt get driven, only occassionally on the track. It may well end up in the Birdwood Mill :D

If you have a need to go fast on a track then buy an R35. If you need a car for anything else from scratching that gentlemans 'trouseur challenged' itch with the fake snake crew through to cruising caffe strips at 6000rpm in first gear, there are better alternatives :)

Edited by Martin Donnon

Arent R8s ~265K?

If you can afford one of those, test drive it. If it is good to drive and somewhat comparable to an R35 buy an R8, they look 10 times better than an R35 plus most other cars on the road.

Arent R8s ~265K?

If you can afford one of those, test drive it. If it is good to drive and somewhat comparable to an R35 buy an R8, they look 10 times better than an R35 plus most other cars on the road.

I think a V10 R8 would be close to $400k on the road.

If you can afford it today, just do it. Buy the 35, spend $30k on mods, and you've got a $200k weapon that sounds like a monster, pulls 0- 100 in 3 seconds flat or less, runs a ten second quarter,looks different to anything else around, stops so hard it makes your chest hurt, and sticks to the corners like wet sh*t to a blanket.

I agree entirely with the comments about mods. You get in a stock 35 after driving a modded one and they are quite sedate. However if you are prepared to spend the money (which you clearly are) the modified 35 will amaze you, and you can drive it to work every day and take the kids to the Wiggles. When you are done at the wiggles you could drop the kids off, nail a few laps of your favorite track then drive home for tea! Nothing compares to a modded 35 for overall flexibility.

Just to be thorough, I went & had a look at a V10 R8 today which had a few options on it (Carbon pack, titanium wheels etc) &

they are one sexy car. This one is Black with 280km on it & is going for $380k +ORC! Absolutely gorgeous car.

Makes the R35 look like a bargain, but if I had the money I know which car i would rather be rolling around in.......... 0000

(they are rings - not tail lights!)

Makes the R35 look like a bargain, but if I had the money I know which car i would rather be rolling around in.......... 0000

(they are rings - not tail lights!)

Thats because you still have lots of hairdresser in you Munro.

Get it out, bad, exorcise it - or get the Audi and the bag and shoes to match :banana:

Anyone else think the R8 is an ill proportioned looking thing with a big black band around the middle to hide the seam?

Get it out, bad, exorcise it - or get the Audi and the bag and shoes to match :banana:

Anyone else think the R8 is an ill proportioned looking thing with a big black band around the middle to hide the seam?

That's exactly what Jeremy Clarkson said, but I tend to disagree.

The R8 is a very sexy looking car, turns way more heads than the R35.

I was in an R8 V8 the other day as a passenger, never hurt the back of my head on a leather seat before.

I tell you what, the instant power of the N/A V8 just belts on.

Anyway here's my 2 cents.

If you're single and prefer young women, they like the R33 the best.

:cheers:

Get it out, bad, exorcise it - or get the Audi and the bag and shoes to match :down:

Agreed... ugly people turn heads too!