So i realised a few days ago that a ...kinda loud knocking noise is coming from the bottom part of my engine near the gearbox. My car is a NA r32 GTS by the way... What happens is when im reving the car the knocking noise gets loud and when the revs start to drop it gets softer. Im really worried because i havent had the car for a long time. My engine oil seems black and its kinda low, you think it might be that? The car is on 210xxxkms. Im planning on changing the oil and the oil filter tomorrow to see if that fixes the problem. What engine oil do you guys recommend and what can you tell me about this dilemma im having? My friend suggested that it might be my bearings but i dont know...

Edited by IM-32-FK

OK you probably don't want to hear this, but what you have described sounds exactly like a spun big end bearing . how is your oil pressure? I would get a good mechanic to have a listen before going much further.

Big end sounds are quick rythmic knocking which get louder when you rev due to the extra force on the bearing.

OK you probably don't want to hear this, but what you have described sounds exactly like a spun big end bearing . how is your oil pressure? I would get a good mechanic to have a listen before going much further.

Big end sounds are quick rythmic knocking which get louder when you rev due to the extra force on the bearing.

Certainly sounds like a big end, i've never heard it describe in that way before though Duncan :cool:

FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU------ i was just gunna start my new job too!!!!!!!!!! ;):mad:

Get it checked out ASAP mate and go from there there are plenty of options if it is :P

i just got it checked and i was told it looks like a problem with the timing belt....another guy told me it was my bearings. Regardless, im going to change the oil and oil filter to see if it fixes the problem ;) hows penrite 15-60

if its an NA, try a thicker oil... thinner oils are only really needed for turbos..

go something like castrol gtx2 or gtx 3... with 210000kms i dare say shes ready to collapse.. get a high mileage thick oil and hope for the best.

if its an NA, try a thicker oil... thinner oils are only really needed for turbos..

go something like castrol gtx2 or gtx 3... with 210000kms i dare say shes ready to collapse.. get a high mileage thick oil and hope for the best.

200,000km isnt that high man...my dads ford falcon is on 450,000 and still going strong. i was initally gonna put 10-60 put couldnt afford it lolz...

anywho, im putting it 15w-60 penrite semi synthetic with a valvoline oil filter...ill let you know how it goes

Edited by IM-32-FK
i just got it checked and i was told it looks like a problem with the timing belt....another guy told me it was my bearings. Regardless, im going to change the oil and oil filter to see if it fixes the problem ;) hows penrite 15-60

Did they elaborate on why they thought it was the timing belt???

New oil (thicker the better) isn't going to hurt but it defiantly sounds like bearing knock from what you've described.

200,000km isnt that high man...my dads ford falcon is on 450,000 and still going strong. i was initally gonna put 10-60 put couldnt afford it lolz...

Cant really compare the two though mate and given its age and being NA 200+ is getting high in ks considering it would of sat around for 2-4years prior to being imported in the first place.

Throw that new oil in and see what happens but if i was you i wouldn't be driving it unless it was absolutely necessary :P

the sound is still there after the oil and oil filter change. The car still drives the same as prior to the knocking noise though..

i remember using e10 91 ron a few times recently though...i think that might of destroyed the engine...

actually if you've done more than say 50k since the noise started it probably is not a bearing afterall (ie most likely it would be totally f**ked by now).

either way.....the good news is rb20s are cheap to replace. Couple of hundred for the motor and a couple of hundred to R&R

the sound is still there after the oil and oil filter change. The car still drives the same as prior to the knocking noise though..

i remember using e10 91 ron a few times recently though...i think that might of destroyed the engine...

for it to have destroyed the engine it would've had to have been stuffed to start with.

as for driving more than 50km ruling out the noise being bearing, i wouldn't agree. my mate had a courier ute that had a big end rattle for a few weeks before it finally blew a hole in the block. he probably did 400kms or so in that time. and it would still do a burnout with a hole in the block, LOL

FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU------ i was just gunna start my new job too!!!!!!!!!! :P:down:

Chill out man. RB20DE's arent worth shit. You could probally get a long engine for like 200 bucks. Shit they should be paying you to take it!

Anyways if it is rooted, Get some newton metres into ya, RB30/25 FTW

actually if you've done more than say 50k since the noise started it probably is not a bearing afterall (ie most likely it would be totally f**ked by now).

either way.....the good news is rb20s are cheap to replace. Couple of hundred for the motor and a couple of hundred to R&R

My 308 has had a death rattle for well over 1500ks and other than blowing "a little extra smoke" when cold its still going *touch wood*

308's came with a death rattle from factory, LOL

that reminds me, i should really get my 253 going.

turn the stereo up... keep driving..

my civic chews oil and has a noise in the bottom end and a noise in the top end and it has had the same noises for 3 years... still going strong... done 276000kms... ignorance is bliss... while ever it is still running and the bog holds the body together, i will keep driving... till death do we part.

308's came with a death rattle from factory, LOL

that reminds me, i should really get my 253 going.

:happy:

ok so it might not be the engine after all...i realised the sound goes when i have my foot on the clutch.....so its the gearbox. Figures though, since i was learning to sit the car on the spot without dumping the gear :) sooooo much clutch smell dammit