• Replies 52

Assholes, I just got defected on Sat night in my standard Stagea, guess what for...

old oil on the engine block (oil leak he says)

tint on rear windows that isnt tint film that can be removed, also I just had an Id check done on the car to rego it in SA 2 days beforehand and they said its fine because its in the glass (to dark says he)

and my pod had no bracket (my fault I say)

Sends me to Regency for a full vehicle inspection... Gave me half hour to get home...

Im going to file a complaint against him for harassment and damage of property, he has pulled me over several times and defected me every time for stuff that I go through Regency with on my car, also when my 33 got impounded (i know, my fault) he left my lights on for a week so my battery was dead and I had to buy a new one. He thinks its funny everytime he see's me... Thanks Neil (cop).

Sorry for hijacking ur thread!

Edited by HOWIROL

I hardly think you were "threatened" but 10 points for creative topic title :D

I was expecting car jackers with hand guns or something...

but yes that sucks... unfortunately some cops just have the wrong attitude :banana:

Hahaha yes the multiple bogans in the VN/VP automatic commodores, putting it into neutral, reving it, then making a go for it, but the look on their faces as the note of an rb25det at full boost shooting past - :D

back on topic i cant say ive been done yet by the police, trust me ive tried but the policemen in the joondalup/wanneroo area are pretty fair, civilized people. 2 times ive been let go, for opening the taps a little (yes, skylines have bladders and need to be regularly drained).

You must have just had an officer on his bad day, they do have it tough not only dealing with skyline/import drivers, but with all the other crazy shit out there they have to deal with these days.

No, I tried that once and I was told I would be arrested if I didn't stop filming them.

Apparently you can't film them in the course of their duties, but the media can and plaster it all over the TV for everyone to see.

You should have laughed at him and said you can't arrest me for that. And if he did, he'd look stupid when he got back to the station. Cops will always demand you to stop filming, but they have no right to take your phone/camera/recording device unless it has potential information on it that will help them with a case (in a situation like this, they generally just ask you nicely for the footage), or footage that might interfere with a case, etc. I have a Triple J (popular radio station in NSW); radio recording of this guy who works for a human rights association, some shit like that... and he stated that Police are only allowed to confiscate your device on the reasons I listed above. I am talking about NSW here but I'm pretty confident that the same rules would apply for WA.

@OP: It's a good thing you continued to be polite even though he was a dick. I suggest you continue doing this as one smartass comment and they'll get you for everything. =[

just do what i did when i nearly got my car impounded. take down his badge number his partners numbers both their names vehical number time and date all the info you can if they harass you (i got called a see you next tuesday and a wasted life) then i told him "cya in court" by then he told me to go home.

Edited by Niksmo

Fuc nick lol i when i was close form loosing mine too... i just played allong feeding them infromation so it makes me some what sorry and and i got let off but coped a fine and some demerits during double demerits lol

FORCEDOBSESSIONS.COM (perths elite Perfromance cars)

A lot of people here saying to take it and move on... I think you guys are the exact reason the police treat HPI drivers like they do. Because they think they can get away with it.

When i got yellowed by a cop and the pits inspector told me everything was fine, i sure as hell followed that shit up. Im not paying $100 for a pits inspection that is bogus. In the end after a couple of phone calls, letters from the pits inspector and my mechanic, and inquiries, i was given a full refund for my expenses on behalf of the WAPOL, and the Chief Officer offered me an apology on behalf of the officer that issued the yellow sticker.

+1

I would say thats one of the main reasons & they will get into the habit of doing it as time goes on. Because everyone is either too scared or can't be bothered.

Somewhat related to the topic, a couple of years back a Junior cop came knocking on our door with a fine which stated that an off duty cop (who happened to be his Senior supervisor) filed a fine against my mum & claims that she had cut him off in her commodore while he was riding on his push bike.

Fine was $100 or so I think, but my mum is the classic cheap ass Asian type, who doesn't even give out 5c coins for free so there is no way in hell she just going to let $100 go fly outside the window. She proceeded on filling the forum that she's not guilty & will appear in court.

& during the day of the court, she found out that the cop who filed the fine against her had withdrew from the case. So basically she just walked in & walked out again. When she came back she told me she should have filed a complain on the cop for wasting her time & resources & demand a compensation for that :D

No, I tried that once and I was told I would be arrested if I didn't stop filming them.

Apparently you can't film them in the course of their duties, but the media can and plaster it all over the TV for everyone to see.

I was referring to voice recorder. I have read threads on these type of issues and a couple that's got legal knowledge said you're right to do so. While you're at it, you might wanna get them to voice out their rank name etc., date location etc. Its just normal that if he cant find anything geniune defects in your car he'll back off due to the lack of balls on these type of cops and obvious knowledge. Show them you know a bit of two that they dont and you should be fine.

If they say you have a defect, take a photo of it if you know its not. Cops that defect you at the spit down at gold coast will take photo so to proof they're right.

Sucks to hear about this mate. YOu have such a bloody nice R34, one of the best I have seen around by far.

I'd say give his Snr Sgt a call at the Metro traffic division and have a little chat, explain what happened, what was said etc. Let him know that everything IS compliant and that you have made sure of this all through your build. I happened to do such a thing and the sticker was removed without cost and an apology offered and a reprimand offered for the copper who stickered me in the first place. Stand your ground and you should be fine mate :D

Might also be worth getting some permits for things aswel and make sure they are laminated so they cannot be questioned.

-Chris

Thanks for all the positive feedback and I have moved on, I just wanted to share my experience that's all.

Like I said I got home and it only pissed me of for about a whole 10mins.

At the time I was just so pumped I did not get a yellow sticker I forgot to ask for his ID number. I really cant take any time of work atm to go pits..

I am also interested in a video or voice recorder in my car seeing as I get pulled over so frequently for "random" breath tests.

I was told if I put a small sticker on my car "there is a video/voice recorder on board" its legal and you don't have to tell the police your recording.

Anybody know if this is true?

Now that I have this "warning" against my name I'm sure sooner or later shit is going to hit the fan so I might as well record it lol

Edited by KEN-R34
I was referring to voice recorder. I have read threads on these type of issues and a couple that's got legal knowledge said you're right to do so. While you're at it, you might wanna get them to voice out their rank name etc., date location etc. Its just normal that if he cant find anything geniune defects in your car he'll back off due to the lack of balls on these type of cops and obvious knowledge. Show them you know a bit of two that they dont and you should be fine.

If they say you have a defect, take a photo of it if you know its not. Cops that defect you at the spit down at gold coast will take photo so to proof they're right.

You can 100% voice record the conversation as long as you are part of the conversation... as in it cannot be a hidden recorder to record third parties... so as long as they are talking directly to you and you to them then you are 100% with in legal grounds to record... this does not mean you can record the 2 officers talking however unless they are directing the conversation at you... also do make sure that you ask for their name and badge number on the recording as you will not be able to use it as eveidence on the grounds you recorded it later...

i am not 100% sure on this but i also think you can use a video recorder and 95% of the time they pull you over they also video record you... trust me i have found this out on a few occasions and even once it got the officer in trouble due to the threatening way i was treated... i am always polite to them but ask a lot of questions to make sure they are doing their job correctly and with-in bounds of the law... such as i have no issue popping the bonnet if you could kindly tell me what you are actually looking for? they have to know what they are looking for or how can they defect you... i have never once been defected and that is with massive carbon on my back bumper and also FMIC loud zorst and lowered to legal..

guys know your rights and use your mobile to record... stand up for yourself and make them do their jobs correctly... i know this is extreeme but look how they back away from Bikies, is it cause if they make one mistake the bikie gets let off... we have to be the same and give them that sort of pressure and not just take it.

end rant

Brandon mentioned using a recorder. Is it true you have to let them know your recording them otherwise the tape doesn't count as evidence in court? also, has anyone done this and told an officer they are being recorded? how do they react? Do they ease off you or just try to bend you over w/o lube?

Poon did. there is a video in the WA wasteland of him filming the cops who pulled him over.

I searched Poon and it says he has done zero posts. Can you link us to the thread Dan?

What admin changed my topic title? Now my thread does not sound epic enough.