• Replies 116

I've wanted an R33 GTS-T for a long long time, long before they were considered hoon cars in the public eye and before the R34 was released. When opportunity in life came right to purchase one I did. But how long I've been interested in the car is not really relevant...I should be able to drive any car without people assuming I'm a twit because this car is commonly associated with hoon behaviour. I dislike the idiots who assume I'm a hoon, but I also dislike the idiots who give ammo to their assumptions by supporting the stereotype. It doesn't matter if you think it's driver mentality and not the car, I happen to share this view but public consensus says different. And Skylines aside, people are allowed to whinge about people doing dangerous shit on the road.

most stock skylines wouldn't be likened as hoon mobiles a they arent low,loud and obnoxious and they'd barely raise an eyebrow with the law, although this guy is an idiot for the way he drove he could have been driving any car, you who whinge and carry on need to get off your horse as joe bloggs pays little attention to the fact it was a skyline you just like to be martyrs and throw yourself in the firing line. Every week a thread is popping up about this crap last week it was some muppet pulling a burn out in a school and then a guy doing a burnout into the back of another car rar rar rar.. if your all so disgraced join nan and pop in a mitsubishi magna and be done with it

skylines are exceptionally common and so the likelyhood of them being involved in "hoon" offences is increased suck it up princess.. or sell up.

I disagree, Joe Blogs can and does recognise that a Skyline is a Skyline...no one has the mentality that ride height or a set of wheels is going to somehow reflect whether a hoon is driving or not. They just see a Skyline and they think hoon, that's the stereotype right there. Mine looks stock as...even factory wheels and people are always shouting out that crap to me. This tool could have been driving any car, I don't disagree with that...but he wasn't. The fact is this shit is happening with Skylines.

How about the hoons suck it up that they have to obey the law? Or sell up? That sounds a bit fairer to me. I'm allowed to bitch about someone harming the image of one of my favourite cars.

Now the problem with the stereotype stretches beyond merely someone's perception of me. If I'm involved in a car accident I don't like the idea that I'll be assumed by average Joe and possibly the law to have been hooning at the time...or that the other party can get away with lying about me hooning at the time. People already do that with age: case in point, my brother was involved in a car accident not long ago and the other party included in their statement that he was "clearly a young driver in a hurry". Add a hoon mobile to the scenario and perception swings in favour of the guy driving a Corolla being the one in the right.

mate i call bs. my car is visually very "hoon" orientated and no body yells anything at me, and i dare say when i drive it i give it more then yourself, so perhaps you have some fkd up people around your area or your talking it up ALOT, whinge all you want but let me tell you nobody else cares except you and your fellow whingers in here.

and dont give me bs about if u have an accident its ur fault ur a hoon blah blah what a joke! your pushing the bounds of reasonable argument..

I should be able to drive any car without people assuming I'm a twit because this car is commonly associated with hoon behaviour.

This happens everywhere in life, in a perfect world, this might be the case. When someone says the world Muslim the first thing that comes into your mind probably isn't peace and love. Others have ruined it for the majority, nothing new.

The police air wing and dog squad were called in after the first short pursuit when the driver allegedly sped off at speeds of up to 170km/h.

I rekon this is perfect example of media hype. Why the f**k would you need to mention the dog squad? Clearly those pooches aren't literally going to chase down a car @ 180km/h... So why Mr. Journalist, did you need to include that? It just makes an even worse name for us car enthusiasts...

But what a f**khead, i bet hes a no hoper anyway. Well he is now haha

Should never have a license again and have a hefty punishment to go with it...

I rekon this is perfect example of media hype. Why the f**k would you need to mention the dog squad? Clearly those pooches aren't literally going to chase down a car @ 180km/h... So why Mr. Journalist, did you need to include that? It just makes an even worse name for us car enthusiasts...

But what a f**khead, i bet hes a no hoper anyway. Well he is now haha

Should never have a license again and have a hefty punishment to go with it...

The dog squad would have been called into the area so when the chase was over if he ditched the car the dog squad would be close by and able to track him down, who the f**k would think that the dog squad would be called in so the dog could chase the car, ffs all you dream boats need to grow a pair, skylines have the reputation they do largely because of bathurst, before that very few aussies knew what a skyline was (apart from the R31) and after that most aussies knew they were jap crap and they were f**king fast, of course every jdm skyline then got the label as being a factory race car to most no matter if its a GT or GTR, its the reputation the brand has, it was also the image that nissan was looking for and probably one of the main reasons most of you own one, live with it or sell up and buy an echo.

The dog squad would have been called into the area so when the chase was over if he ditched the car the dog squad would be close by and able to track him down, who the f**k would think that the dog squad would be called in so the dog could chase the car

nah, really??

I still don't think its necessary to mention it. The entire article reeks of name and shame. i.e. all these articles go out of their way to mention they were driving a "high powered, turbo" skyline (or similar words).

I disagree, Joe Blogs can and does recognise that a Skyline is a Skyline...no one has the mentality that ride height or a set of wheels is going to somehow reflect whether a hoon is driving or not. They just see a Skyline and they think hoon, that's the stereotype right there. Mine looks stock as...even factory wheels and people are always shouting out that crap to me. This tool could have been driving any car, I don't disagree with that...but he wasn't. The fact is this shit is happening with Skylines.

How about the hoons suck it up that they have to obey the law? Or sell up? That sounds a bit fairer to me. I'm allowed to bitch about someone harming the image of one of my favourite cars.

Now the problem with the stereotype stretches beyond merely someone's perception of me. If I'm involved in a car accident I don't like the idea that I'll be assumed by average Joe and possibly the law to have been hooning at the time...or that the other party can get away with lying about me hooning at the time. People already do that with age: case in point, my brother was involved in a car accident not long ago and the other party included in their statement that he was "clearly a young driver in a hurry". Add a hoon mobile to the scenario and perception swings in favour of the guy driving a Corolla being the one in the right.

Dude, then there's possibly something wrong with your driving. My daily driver is a low R34 GT-T with an aftermarket exhaust. I drive a hell of a lot. I get treated no different by other road users (except rubberneckers because it is a nice car), police leave me alone and I get waved through booze buses.

Dude get the f**k over it!

Every single thread these days is ruined by this sort of blabbering about this same damn shit.

Put the keyboard down!

I'm sorry, an "idiot of the week thread" about hooning was ruined by someone complaining about hooning? Am I missing something here? Don't like it, don't read it mate...use the scroll wheel on your mouse. What did you expect to read when you clicked on this thread? Something about unicorns?

mate i call bs. my car is visually very "hoon" orientated and no body yells anything at me, and i dare say when i drive it i give it more then yourself, so perhaps you have some fkd up people around your area or your talking it up ALOT, whinge all you want but let me tell you nobody else cares except you and your fellow whingers in here.

and dont give me bs about if u have an accident its ur fault ur a hoon blah blah what a joke! your pushing the bounds of reasonable argument..

I never said if you have an accident you'll be 100% blamed but you best believe that people get very very dirty when it comes to car accidents, they use what they can and blame gets swung around like a blind man's stick. You seem a bit naiive on this one. Media reports enjoy talking up that two cars involved were a 300ZX and a Skyline...now when average Joe or even you hear about these two cars being involved in a car accident, do you assume it was a case of people not giving way or does the hoon factor play on your assumptions?

This happens everywhere in life, in a perfect world, this might be the case. When someone says the world Muslim the first thing that comes into your mind probably isn't peace and love. Others have ruined it for the majority, nothing new.

Does that mean that peaceful and loving Muslims can't complain about the people who ruin it for fellow Muslims? I know it's nothing new but we aren't just going to say that's alright keep doing what you're doing, I'm happy to live with you making me look like an idiot too. I'd sooner space myself away from that.

not too mention birds you are just as prejudice as everyone else you see a VL or a slammed falcadoor im sure first thing you think is bogan/wog mobile..

No. I don't.

Dude, then there's possibly something wrong with your driving. My daily driver is a low R34 GT-T with an aftermarket exhaust. I drive a hell of a lot. I get treated no different by other road users (except rubberneckers because it is a nice car), police leave me alone and I get waved through booze buses.

I don't think there is. It happens to me on a weekly basis throughout the course of normal driving. I was at Good Vibrations festival on the weekend, sitting in my car idling and waiting for a gap in traffic to pull out of my car park when a number of people started shouting out crap like "Skyline bro" and "do a burnout etc". It's hard to hear people's shoutouts when you drive past them fast / spin the wheels, so maybe I am driving my Skyline the incorrect way when I drive sedately past a group of people?

If you don't think bad press reflects badly on the rest of us, I don't know what fantasy world you are all living in.

It is however something we have to live with given our choice in cars and modifications. It doesn't take away Birds right to bitch and moan about it tho.

I have no love for bad press for Skylines, when I bought my first Skyline it was like Utopia compared to now.

I didn't realise the entire population of Australia's whiney bitches purchased skylines. Suck it up princesses, the guy just happened to be driving a skyline. He'd have been a hoon doing stupid shit regardless of what car he was driving.

you high horse riding penis jockeys seem to be missing the fact that he was a derro from beaconsfield with no respect for authority, which is a stark comparison to most of us. so what if you're targetted, if you've done nothign wrong and have nothing to hide then you'll be left alone. simple as that.

</stir>

It wasn't you was it?

Seriously though, why did it make your day? Basically any cop that was involved will now pull over Skylines (particularly silver R33 on their L's) on sight.

No... obviously it wasn't... i was just like wow, a learner + R33.... lol

So now we can change the topic to "Nick is the idiot of the week"

Dont bother becoming a crim, our jails are already full with dumb crims who dont know how to get away.

Did your mate in the wrx get caught?

Sigh... *FACEPALM*....

Double post... and dude, if you saw it you would have realized its a s2..... (on the "TEEEEVEEEE") Do you have one of those?

So i think you should be the idiot of the week for jumping to conclusions.. idiot.

Edited by Nick.