I am writing a lead article for The Age's "Melbourne" magazine on "hoon" drivers in Victoria. Your chance to have your say. I want to talk to you, see what you do, and join in. Confidentiality guaranteed, if you want it. Get your car, your triumphs, your bitching out there.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/309552-calling-all-car-dudes-and-hoons/

• Replies 104

LOFL

Since when has the media EVER given a toss about the real deal...and as if any enthusiasts would EVER WANT to be in an article about HOONS...

I call bs

exactly my thoughts. although there are plenty on here that claim to be enthusiasts, but behave otherwise. he is going to get the sources he wants, and the ones he wants are the idiots that would respond.

yes but who says the person posting is Ian Rose?

Meet in person at a public place in daytime(cafe), don't take your import, ask for ID.

The Age did a piece on motorvate melbourne. seen here: http://theage.drive.com.au/all-revved-up-n...00220-omrn.html

mate change your approach, there is no way ppl are going to give there side of the story and been called a hoon for it lol sound like you are looking for intelligent ppl to give there opinion on the current car scence and provide their opinion of a resolution?

Your looking for the wrong ppl, what you will find is a typical wanker that will take you for a cruise down princess hwy and not show the true situation

You want to join in illegal racing lol?

if you want meet gen ppl look into the sau events speak there buddy, but don't come uninvited with cameras etc and speak to the moderators/ club president, otherwise you will be asked to leave

Edited by P1OTR
I am writing a lead article for The Age's "Melbourne" magazine on "hoon" drivers in Victoria. Your chance to have your say. I want to talk to you, see what you do, and join in. Confidentiality guaranteed, if you want it. Get your car, your triumphs, your bitching out there.

hmm sounds sus, if this is a troll good work haha. Nothing like calling us hoons to anger the blood.

If you are after "hoons" or the typical 'car enthusiasts' you see on todaytonight talking about street racing and other illegal activities, you have signed up to the wrong forum. The majority here drive sensibly and if anyone contacts you about any illegal activities, their views do not represent ours.

Here's an article that I wrote for a local newspaper's 'Thumbs up Thumbs down' section.

"Once again the topic of Hoon behaviour on our streets has permeated public discourse, forcing us to question why this issue remains largely unresolved.

My mind is cast back to 2007, where a business located in a Melbourne industrial estate had set up an indoor driving simulator, allowing real vehicles to be brought in and driven in front of a large screen, using full control of brakes, steering and the accelerator. Not surprisingly the business was a success, and many young car enthusiasts would 'race' their mates indoors safely and legally off the streets, taking advantage of this remarkable new technology.

Despite the safety-oriented intentions of organisers, the local police would intervene, regularly blocking off the street subjecting drivers exiting the site to questioning, vehicle searches and defect notices. The intense police scrutiny ultimately served to drive users away, leaving the business suffering to the point where it now no longer exists, and leaving car lovers with one less off-street place to go.

Thumbs up to those who play a role in the solution to this issue and thumbs down to the counter productive attitudes of those who seek to do the opposite."

Can you get me a job with The Age?

Sounds legit to me

[email protected]

Using Optus in Melb... probably freelance journo

Feel free to spam him emails, and other things email might give you...

Stupid idioc mainstream media trying to give everyone a fken bad name, and then you have the nerve to come here and try and bait people.

GTFO!

Meet in person at a public place in daytime(cafe), don't take your import, ask for ID.

Ahh I'm not actually interested in meeting up with some random. Simply stating that anyone can be anyone on the interwebz :)

The Age did a piece on motorvate melbourne. seen here: http://theage.drive.com.au/all-revved-up-n...00220-omrn.html

So what?

i agree with him taking the club approach, but yes the title suggests that it's just going to be another beatup, though I like to think that the Age has more journalistic credibility than the Herald Sun. I wish that Skyline owners would be labelled as enthusiasts like muscle car owners, but i doubt it will happen.

EDIT: that screencap needs to copypasta'd onto all the major car forums LOL.

Edited by bozodos