lets be fair nismoid an r31 is barely a skyline and would not raise the ire of most nan an pop hoon haters since most r31's are driven by the grey hair brigade anyway.. kinda like a kingswood. :D

and their is numerous articles dating back when i had my first skyline i got pulled over 38 times in 12 months and it was far cleaner/more stock then my current one.

lets not forget noble park maccas thats been a hoon hot spot since forever.

• Replies 104

what your saying is true to a point when i had my first 33 in 2003/04 i havent seen anything change at all got targeted back then still do now, sure this Hoon reporting is far more common place i'd love a definition of "hoon" but thats a topic for another day.

be upset all you wish it wont change a thing, the world around you is full of stereo types and generalisations i dont see how its worth while to whinge about it every single day sure their is dikheads out there they wont go away

as for your bolded points i refer u to random metal detector scannings in footscray and north melbourne station of late, widely covered i dont see that happening in Toorak, so yeh we do get victimised in the west cos of junkies and brawls and stabbings and so on.. not that the east is any better you dont see forums up in arms over this everyone instead everyone says oh well done about time somebody did something to get knives of the streets. i dont own a knife never have and i'd say never will but that wont stop them checking me should i fall into their zone of inspections.

so yeh i think i am alowed to say harden the fk up cos its a loosing battle, which in fact it isnt even a battle.

as for your members having every right to be upset clearly the vast majority of them are skyline owners/drivers the reputation didnt make itself so perhaps they are good now but i tell you every little of zealous traffic light take off, or little "sidestep" out of the petrol station has created this reputation.

look at terrorist countries.. entire countries are now on watch lists every single citizen because of a few dikheads.. we say oh well, im simply saying the same i own a skyline and i dont care what ppl think hoon or no hoon its not my problem what thoughts go through their head.

Horses for courses, have you seen the amount of AFP cars in Toorak going about their business? Every suburb has things it needs dealt with, I'm just glad around here it isn't junkies with their knives :D

Thread A:

most stock skylines wouldn't be likened as hoon mobiles a they arent low,loud and obnoxious and they'd barely raise an eyebrow with the law

Thread B:

and their is numerous articles dating back when i had my first skyline i got pulled over 38 times in 12 months and it was far cleaner/more stock then my current one.

Do you take devils advocate in a thread for the hell of it? I think so. And reading the previous page in this thread, apparently I write novels...but hey...atleast mine aren't a grammatical pain in the ass to read lol.

alr33x you talk about us whinging and moaning and that we should get up and do something.

Well the thread starter is a journalist and will most likely read all the comments mentioned in this thread. We have a direct link to a journalist and yet you are whinging about us whinging?

Lets hope Ian will change his view after reading this. Maybe this whinge-fest could pay off

hmm If anyone referred to me as a dude I would hardly respond with a hi, let alone anything to do with my car. No serious "journo" after a decent story would surely say that, would they?

As for the thread, was a bit of fun last night...now its all shot to shit with seriousness, name calling and waffle........

it was clean and more stock then my current one that does not make it STOCK u clown compared to your 33 it would be considered highly modified but meh lets not throw mud all day, it was modified but not as much as my current one is the point.. so no im not playing a devils advocate at all i wouldnt drive a stock skyline its about as enthralling as a hyundai getz to me.

and as for this thread and the missing in action journalist i doubt he is more then a troll many journalists and news companies have attended meets and none of them resorted to a blatant shout out to a forum..

and as for it being a grammitical pain in the ass as if i give a flying fk about that on a forum i actually have things to do other than make sure my 400 word response is correct and proper for the 1% who cares. Not to mention its vast improvement on half the junk people post.

Rekin this "whinge fest" wont pay off and niether will the 4 other threads actively floating around filled with the same moral high ground bs.

haha give it up birds n get some new rims :D

i like where you're going with this R31 to Kingswood comparison alr33x ;) I always tell my mates that they will have nothing to fear from cops due to being confused with grandpas :O

Edited by bozodos
and as for this thread and the missing in action journalist i doubt he is more then a troll many journalists and news companies have attended meets and none of them resorted to a blatant shout out to a forum..

The guy is legit, matching name on Age stories and his public wall on facebook mentions previous articles he has written. Give him some time, hasnt even been 24hrs since his post.

As for the thread, was a bit of fun last night...now its all shot to shit with seriousness, name calling and waffle........

Next SAU food meet should be here: http://yourrestaurants.com.au/guide/waffle_on/ "Waffle On"

He wants "street racers" so by saying that he does actually want a 'hoon' he doesn't want to talk to a car enthusiast. He wants to hear 'why' they do it and how these people justify reckless driving on the street.

I for one have never street raced my GTR nor lost my licence, or had a speeding ticket for that matter. I wouldn't mind putting my 2 cents in like many other enthusiasts here but the fact is he isn't looking for someone like myself, he's looking for the idiots.

I'm sure there's a bogan forum somewhere he will find the trash he's looking for.

CLARIFICATION: I am not trying to stitch anyone up. Yes, I am a freelance writer, and yes i have been asked by the Melbourne magazine to write and research a lengthy piece on car culture in Melbourne. The reason given by the editor is that the (generally) young men in the scene (in its many manifestations) who range from genuine enthusiasts to reckless deathwishers do not have a voice in the mainstream media which you so abhor. I am not interested in trading in cliches or putting my name to some piece of scare-mongering bullshit. I'm intent on giving a balanced picture. Yes, i do want to speak to some of the people who you might classify as "idiots", but not just to confirm their idiocy - I want to hear them trying to explain why the f**k they do what they do. I ALSO want to speak to blokes who love their cars and a part of a genuine community. In all honesty, I've only just started looking into this, and this site was one of the first I found which I thought might be useful. I wanted to get some attention, so wrote a deliberately provocative, in retrospect crappily worded post. No offence was meant.

Sounds legit to me

[email protected]

Using Optus in Melb... probably freelance journo

Feel free to spam him emails, and other things email might give you...

Stupid idioc mainstream media trying to give everyone a fken bad name, and then you have the nerve to come here and try and bait people.

GTFO!

CLARIFICATION: I am not trying to stitch anyone up. Yes, I am a freelance writer, and yes i have been asked by the Melbourne magazine to write and research a lengthy piece on car culture in Melbourne. The reason given by the editor is that the (generally) young men in the scene (in its many manifestations) who range from genuine enthusiasts to reckless deathwishers do not have a voice in the mainstream media which you so abhor. I am not interested in trading in cliches or putting my name to some piece of scare-mongering bullshit. I'm intent on giving a balanced picture. Yes, i do want to speak to some of the people who you might classify as "idiots", but not just to confirm their idiocy - I want to hear them trying to explain why the f**k they do what they do. I ALSO want to speak to blokes who love their cars and a part of a genuine community. In all honesty, I've only just started looking into this, and this site was one of the first I found which I thought might be useful. I wanted to get some attention, so wrote a deliberately provocative, in retrospect crappily worded post. No offence was meant.

cheers for the clarification.

As mentioned throughout the thread, this forum/club tries hard to stay away from this hoon image. Anyone boasting about illegal racing, idiotic behavoir etc on this forum are frowned upon and banned. We have police officers who are members on this site/club and are invited to any meets/cruises we have.

You wont find any idiots here, but if you are truly interested in hearing our side of the story im sure R31Nismoid has a few words to say *handballs to R31Nismoid :D*