Hi Guys! New to the forum and just wanted to ask a few quick questions about importing.

At the end of the year I may be looking at purchasing a 34 GT-R. I have been looking on the net at some Japanese car sale sites as I am led to believe that it is cheaper to import this particular car than to buy local.

Now correct me if I'm wrong, but the Skyline is legal to import as it is on the DOTARS (right organisation?) register. So my question is, what extra cost is there on top of the vehicle purchase price? From my readings I assume that there the 10% GST, plus a 5% customs tax, as well as shipping fees and compliance for the vehicle once it lands. Is that all? And what is a rough estimate of this cost?

And being an Aston fan, I couldn't help but notice that the Aston Martin Vanquish and DB7 are also on the list. Is the process and cost for importing one of these the same as the Japanese cars? I would assume that the luxury car tax would also be included once the car costs more than $56,000 or so.

Thanks for the help guys!

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/310231-some-import-guideline-questions/

Welcome to the forum,

yes you could save a few dollars on importing, but there are also negatives to importing, for one you dont get to test drive the car before you drive it.

There are heaps of other little fees and charges that add up, like a set of tyres, custom brokers, rego, etc.

Importing the European cars can be troublesome, you will have to find ones that are RHD and then you will have to find a compliance centre willing to do the compliance.

Heres a link to NS.com importing section, some great stickies - CLICK

Hey there mate,

Yes there is no problem bringing in a GTR Skyline, but what i can recommend is that you use our online quote system to get an idea on costing from Japan. You will still need to add your states rego and stamp duty fee and a RWC, but it should give you a good ballpark figure to work with. Our fee for SAU people is only $550 also

Hope this helps

http://carizma.com.au/Pages/online_quote.php

Paul @ Carizma

Hi Guys! New to the forum and just wanted to ask a few quick questions about importing.

At the end of the year I may be looking at purchasing a 34 GT-R. I have been looking on the net at some Japanese car sale sites as I am led to believe that it is cheaper to import this particular car than to buy local.

Now correct me if I'm wrong, but the Skyline is legal to import as it is on the DOTARS (right organisation?) register. So my question is, what extra cost is there on top of the vehicle purchase price? From my readings I assume that there the 10% GST, plus a 5% customs tax, as well as shipping fees and compliance for the vehicle once it lands. Is that all? And what is a rough estimate of this cost?