How much time do you generally get on the track at the Super Sprints? As far as I can tell it's one of the cheaper options to get onto Eastern Creek

Well at the last round at Eastern Creek, I got in 5 sessions. That was with 120 entrants and a few oil downs / break downs as well.

They try to give you at least 5 sessions and hope to provide 6 sessions. So if you count only the flying laps (3) you get between 15-18 hot laps.

You also get a full warm up lap which is awesome to get everything up to temperature and the eye in! So that adds another 5-6 laps making total 20-24 laps.

Warm down lap isn't really a lap, just a few corners, so won't add them total laps.

The best thing I love about Supersprints is the small window you have to lay down a quick time. Plus the fact it's extremely competitive and you don't have too many laps in a row to flog the bejesus out of your tyres, brakes, engine etc. In other words, it's quite challenging, fun and easy on the car! :)

• Replies 161

Radical's update,,,she has just spend a week at Redline Rotary. Alex has gone all over the car and dynoed it. Shit he used about 50 litres of fuel,,,I use about 5 litres a session at E/C sprinting so he's basically done two days running.

We are off to Sandown this weekend for their 1st State Supersprint round,,,so we are hoping she will run properly. I've watched tons of utube vids,,,now time to do a million laps on xbox.

I'll be stuffed come Wakey,,,I'm off to targa tas to help one of my fellow "Team Raceworx" drivers and flying back saturday arvo so go easy on me you lot.

Neil.

If you want track time doing a SuperSprint is about the least economical way of doing it.

Good luck Neil.

That maybe basically true Ben,,,BUT I think if you don't want or can't afford rubbing panel racing it's by far the safest. If you do a E/C practice day on a L2S you are out with anybody that paid for a simple licence. There's no scrut,,no brief and usually no flagies. I did a few practice days in the Sports Sedan and I didn't appreciate a braking dual with a commodore at turn 2 or a honda civic shutting the door on me through turn 4.

Neil.

Mate I have massive horsepower,,,all 126 of it @ about 10000 grand. We have it limited @ 12500 and I do go there on the odd occasion,,,. First time I've had it on the dyno but the last owner had 160 ponies,,, but we know Dennis used the much harder dunlops. I'm on much softer Goodyears,,,these things after a session remove paint from garage floors!!!.

And don't forget what I told you at Oran Park,,,You own a Nissan so my garage and help is always on offer. Never hesitate asking tiger.

Neil.

Cheers mate. I figured it would be "massive" horsepower lol!, but you know all that power to weight ratio talk etc!!!

Gotta love 12500 rpm, must sound sweet behind you left ear down the straight.

Appreciate your offer of help too, but same here, if you ever need anything, let me know. Us SAU guys have to stick together!

I find I'm just loving the supersprint competition and the crowd that are part of it. Good bunch of people, whether they drive torana's, alfa's or radicals!!! Aaawwwe can you feel the love?

It's just the waiting in between rounds that gets to me. Didn't Steve McQueen say in Le Mans something like "Racing is life, everything else is just waiting." So true...

sure....but as Duncan said "Racing is life, anything before or after is money and bleeding knuckles trying to get it working again"

cancel that, times are up....another good day for SAU class....and some damn quick cars these days

http://www.natsoft.com.au/cgi-bin/results....05/2010.WAKE.S1

2 1 Duncan Forrest Duncan Forrest Nissan R35 4D 29 24 1:02.4400

5 91 Michele Guyer Michele Guyer March 87B 5E 24 10 1:03.1591 0:05.4228

7 112 Stuart Inwood Stuart Inwood Nissan GTR R33 SVD 19 14 1:04.3460 0:06.6097

13 41 Neil de Pau Neil de Pau Radical Prosport 5D 19 14 1:05.6374 0:07.9011

19 551 Mark Smith Mark Smith Nissan Silvia 4D 17 14 1:07.4992 0:09.7629

Brian, did you not make this round?

cancel that, times are up....another good day for SAU class....and some damn quick cars these days

Brian, did you not make this round?

Yes i made just have to look down list more, im not in a Nissan LOL still playing with handling in the old R100 but this is how it looks just getting into the 1:07 :)

25 Brian Bugh Mazda R100 4C 16 15 1:07.9502

post-36356-1272798124_thumb.jpg

Hi Duncan,

Did you miss Marek's time in that list ? ...

4 32 Marek Tomaszewski Marek Tomaszewski Nissan GTR R35 4D 27 17 1:02.8354

5 91 Michele Guyer Michele Guyer March 87B 5E 24 10 1:03.1591

7 112 Stuart Inwood Stuart Inwood Nissan GTR R33 SVD 19 14 1:04.3460

13 41 Neil de Pau Neil de Pau Radical Prosport 5D 19 14 1:05.6374

19 551 Mark Smith Mark Smith Nissan Silvia 4D 17 14 1:07.4992

That's an awesome drive from Marek in his R35. Duncan Forrest was flying too !

Marek's posted a new thread here about his lap time today ...

http://www.skylinesaustralia.com/forums/Ae...ll-t318979.html

- The Tuners Group

Edited by TheTunersGroup
Yes i made just have to look down list more, im not in a Nissan LOL still playing with handling in the old R100 but this is how it looks just getting into the 1:07 :P

25 Brian Bugh Mazda R100 4C 16 15 1:07.9502

Well done Brian, top photo too

Yes i made just have to look down list more, im not in a Nissan LOL still playing with handling in the old R100 but this is how it looks just getting into the 1:07 :P

R100's are legendary cars.

- The Tuners Group

Edited by TheTunersGroup
wow some quick times there, Congrats to all.

Mark is moving in the Silvia.

Congrats to all for some very quick times.

Well done Mark. 1:07.4 in a S13 Silvia is seriously quick!

Get the video up asap!!

Cheers guys! It's a new PB for me and it feels great to be setting some semi-decent times in a car my brother and I built from scratch on a very tight budget.

I'm slowly climbing up the order and rankings but will never be able to match the might of the R35 GTR's!!!

The Silvia has more in it as I didn't have a perfect lap. I ran wide on one apex and out braked myself on the last corner causing understeerbut was still my fastest lap.

We could not have asked for a better day really, it was fine, sunny and 21 degrees. The first session of the day was extremely slippery with almost every car in my group running off or turning themselves around.

The track came to us later in the day with increased temperature and better grip levels.

MX5 club run a very well organised event and I can recommend going to any event they hold.

Met some cool guys yesterday and can't wait to catch up with everyone next round at Eastern Creek 16/05/10.

I have some in-car footage with me chasing a Torana SS and Brian's R100 but I've got to work out how to edit and upload on youtube and link it etc.

That maybe basically true Ben,,,BUT I think if you don't want or can't afford rubbing panel racing it's by far the safest. If you do a E/C practice day on a L2S you are out with anybody that paid for a simple licence. There's no scrut,,no brief and usually no flagies. I did a few practice days in the Sports Sedan and I didn't appreciate a braking dual with a commodore at turn 2 or a honda civic shutting the door on me through turn 4.

Very true - I found it's the cheapest way for me to blat my car legally. But at the same time I know I'm annoying the hell out of the proffesional guys that are there to do testing/practice etc.

I just try to get out of the way the best I can. And yeah, turn 4-6 must be annoying for the pro guys trying to get around amatuers haha!

Sorry Brian....I looked right down the list just didn't spell your name right :(

Adam, I didn't realise Marek was a member on here, after all these are just the SAU class results not all of them.....

If we are going to include ring-ins, how can we pass up Andre's time? Outrageously quick!

1 333 Andrie Tan Andrie Tanuwidjaja Radical Supersports 5E 16 15 0:57.7363*

BTW I'm not sure if Duncan took the supersprint class record again, but I would be amazed if he didn't. His times are amazing and a real creadit to the car, and to his skills as a driver. Sports Sedan lap record is 0:58.2024 held by Hossack, but to get within seconds of that in a production car is amazing. Supercars are about .59 so he is only a couple of seconds off.