• Replies 161

I think they will let you run first time up, if your car has the following,

• A fire extinguisher to CAMS requirements and fitted within reach of the driver.

• A blue triangle, 150mm on each side mounted to indicate the battery location.

• A secondary method of securing the bonnet.

• All forward facing glass lenses to be completely covered by a protective film.

• All loose objects are to be removed from the car.

• The battery is to be firmly clamped.

• Competition number on doors (about A3 size)

• Front and rear tow hooks

HOWEVER: Best to contact the Supersprint advisory panel via email here: [email protected]

and ask them any questions to be sure you can run before paying any money and being disappointed.

Yea mate I can type shit with the best of them.

News,,,

1/ Cams licence renewels on line is great but I have no confirmation that it actually worked.

2/ It will be bitterly cold but apparently no rain.

3/ There are still spots available,,,as of last wednesday.

4/ My rear tyres are shagged.

5/ Duncan's car is still not up on the S/Sprint web site displaying his well deserved No 1 Plate which sucks.

Gossip,,,

1/ Duncan's rear spoiler is still being talked about by other competitors.

2/ There will be less clubmans there because of mechanical failures.

3/ I will have more straight line speed.

Predictions,,,

1/ You will be still putting your windows back in while I laugh and have a beer.

2/ Brian will spin the R100 at least once at the paper clip.

Cheers and see ya all on Sunday

Neil.

Um that will do.

Nice reading between the lines Neil. Nice effort.

It's always a laugh hearing any info or misinformation!

Have to say the supersprint website could do with some more updates or additional features.

I have to log on here everyday to get my motorsport chat fix.

LOL at window comment!

My contribution:

Glad to hear less clubmans attending. They always take up all the good garage spots! They are a clicky bunch also!

Cold air will be good for the turbo cars :D but low track temps not so good for grip levels :)

I'm looking forward to try and extend some points lead over my competition in 4D i.e. the beetle and datto 1600. (Can't compete with R35 GTR's, Marek flogged me when I followed one session)

Wakefield circuit is more suited to my car and it's a good opportunity to get some more points advantage before the Eastern Creek rounds.

Another good thing about Wakefield is it's very kind to my tyres. Eastern Creek really flogs them.

I'm hoping to god my tyres will last me the rest of the season and now that we only have 4 rounds to go, I might make it.

I then have a decision to make for next season, whether to run full slicks or buy another set of semi-slicks. Pro's and con's for both. A bit to weigh up.

Haven't priced any full slicks, but I imagine they will be dearer than the last semi's I got for $330 each. I know the silvia will go quicker on slicks but then what to do if it rains? Ideally I'll need to buy another set of rims with another set of semi's on them! So it could be an expensive exercise.

Maybe I just buy the slicks and gamble on no rain for all the rounds next year. hmmmmm...

Edited by nismoman
I then have a decision to make for next season, whether to run full slicks or buy another set of semi-slicks. Pro's and con's for both. A bit to weigh up.

Haven't priced any full slicks, but I imagine they will be dearer than the last semi's I got for $330 each.

Have a look at the Hoosier slicks. They are actually cheaper than RE55's

The guy who stocks them is in Sydney.

News,,,

1/ Cams licence renewels on line is great but I have no confirmation that it actually worked.

5/ Duncan's car is still not up on the S/Sprint web site displaying his well deserved No 1 Plate which sucks.

Gossip,,,

Predictions,,,

1/ You will be still putting your windows back in while I laugh and have a beer.

Neil.

Um that will do.

Well the new suspension in the Mazda was great made it better to drive and i did not have a spin at all Niel but you left to eraly to see it. Hope all is well with the red Radical and see you at the creek

I had a good day all in all got a 1:07.8 in a R100 but still some room for improvment.

Also great times from Mark in the Silvia to get a 1:06.5 great work

Predictions,,,

Marek will run a 1:01.xx

wth a FIXED wing, ha ha.

You should have put a bet on this Duncan before the event could have made some extra money LOL

Well done to Merek with an outstanding time to get in the 1:01 :)

You should have put a bet on this Duncan before the event could have made some extra money LOL

Well done to Merek with an outstanding time to get in the 1:01 :P

awesome isnt it? who would have thought a genuine street driven 1700kg luxomobile could run 1:01's (albeit with a track wheels / slicks bolted on trackside). Insane. We're not done yet, 59's anyone?

Yay!!! I managed to get into the 1:06's!!! Very pleased with 1:06.5

Great day, nice temps and not too busy. Was good for a change, it felt a little empty there towards the end of the day.

One thing though... the last couple of sessions of the day, say after 2:30pm they started giving us 5 hot laps. Did anyone else noticed this?

I didn't mind, more laps = more chance of getting it right!

This helped me on the last lap of the 5th session to post a 1:06.33 (according to my lap timer), HOWEVER... it didn't count. Results show only 4 timed laps per session (which I guess is correct according to supp regs and all) just a little frustrating that my fastest lap of the day didn't count.

I wonder why they were giving us 5 hot laps instead of the normal 4 laps like at the beginning of the day? Why let us run them if they don't count?

Very confusing....

Edited by nismoman
One thing though... the last couple of sessions of the day, say after 2:30pm they started giving us 5 hot laps. Did anyone else noticed this?

I didn't mind, more laps = more chance of getting it right!

This helped me on the last lap of the 5th session to post a 1:06.33 (according to my lap timer), HOWEVER... it didn't count. Results show only 4 timed laps per session (which I guess is correct according to supp regs and all) just a little frustrating that my fastest lap of the day didn't count.

I wonder why they were giving us 5 hot laps instead of the normal 4 laps like at the beginning of the day? Why let us run them if they don't count?

Very confusing....

Yeah i missed out on a pb being recorded because they left me out for 5 laps. Not happy.

Surely the dorian timer would have captured both our fastest laps then? So why not include them? I might have to contact the mini car club for explanation?

When I'm out on track, I keep the foot down until I see the chequered flag. I reckon it should count!

Surely the dorian timer would have captured both our fastest laps then? So why not include them? I might have to contact the mini car club for explanation?

When I'm out on track, I keep the foot down until I see the chequered flag. I reckon it should count!

Me too (i dont keep count!) the dorians did capture as my 1:02.3 was on the screen in the office; but they went through an culled the time given it was past the four laps. I already asked and i was told this is the blanket rule; i think the idea is they think it was our doing/fault, as such we have limited other people laps in the process.. But in this case it was not our fault, nor do i think it limited anyones track time. Anyway whatever is on natsoft is final, they will not alter results. Glad it didnt impact points for me otherwise i would have been pissed off a bit.

I wan't counting either until I came in and checked my own lap timer in the pits.

Sh*t happens. It affected me by one point and one position, but at the end of the day what can I do? So meh....I'm over it already.

I know the car can do the time, I just have to make sure I do it in the allocated number of laps.

News,,,

Gossip,,,

Predictions,,,

Neil.

Um that will do.

With regards to R35's

There is a protest, being prepared (hearsay) is as follows

The R35's in question apparently do not comply with 4D as per Cams Manual as per follows

1. This vehicle exceeds 6ltr

2. This vehicle is equiped with paddle shift gear selection

3. This vehicle is fitted with traction control

4. This vehicle is not equiped with a Cams approved roll cage

5. This vehicle is equiped with a rear wing ineligable for class

6. This vehicle is entered as 4D - does not comply? Unlogged vehicle?

There is also questions on changes by Supersprint panel - overridding Cams Manual? The manual can be found on internet - www.camsmanual.com.au

Also - there is apparently, current Type SV Vehicles now ineligable to run Run Type SV or 4D without acquiring a log book due to aerodynamics, the hearsay is from owners noting eligabity supersprint panel - the car is no longer elligble, (maybe Subaru) lucky our car has got a log book, cant wait for the s*it fight to start, so isnt motor racing great!

So there you go Neil, my last post wasnt my last and on a PS note, congrats to Marek on a excellent time and also congrats Mark nearly there, next time! Comiserations to Neil with a DNS, next time please park 6 garages away - every time we are close we both have Issues - Congrats Nick on SVD win and condolances if your gear box s*iT as bad as mine - as a personal note, not that anyone cares from 30 years experience at all levels of motor sport, whatever the field or class, it is up to the owner / entrant to be correct on the entry form.

Hope we all have a better day at EC if anyones bored theres a couple of hillclimbs on in between.

Bye the way, nearly forgot, - we put a request into the supersprint panel for next year to run our old 2003 commodore station wagon, in 4d just because its supercharged and going to use slicks ("they said we were a bit radical"), and to date dont have an answer if this vehicle is eligable. If you go 1.7 x 6ltr into a 4wd this wouldnt be a bad combo in my opinion and thats why the car is still is the shed, it is in my beleif this vehicle is a 2A sports car as it is ineligable to run 4D.

Wow Stuart that's odd...

Whomever or wherever this hearsay is coming from, they clearly have not read this part of the NSWSSC rulebook:

"Type 4 - Competition vehicles based on Group 3D - Sports Sedan rules as defined in the CAMS Manual. In addition any vehicle that conforms to Type 1, 2, 3 or SV requirements shall be permitted to employ or use Race Tyres but if it does so it shall be classified as a Type 4 vehicle."

Therefore "Type 4" for the NSWSSC can be any type 1/2/3 or SV car running slicks, simple as that.

R35's are not sport sedans as defined by the CAMS manual, that is correct. There are many reasons why they never could be as you point out. But i believe that is irrelevant given the Type 4 category definition in the SSC rulebook.