What would be more expensive...Taking the turbo out of a skyline, or putting one in?

P plater here, and i want to purchase a skyline, either r33 or r34, but my question is simple. I either get a non turbo version and whack a turbo in once i get my blacks (1 year down the track) or i get a turbo version and take the turbo out until i get my blacks then put it back in. Its a year till my full licence but i cant wait :blink: I read somewhere that when you take the turbo out, you need to re-compress the motor or something and do other things to it, thats why i ask if its expensive.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/313367-what-would-be-more-expensive/

no, i dont wanna sell the car later down and get a turbo one, i want to know if its cheaper to buy a N/A one and put a turbo in it, or buy a turbo version and take it out for a year then put it back in. i dont mind if the turbo version has work done on it, just taking the turbo out for a year. but i thought you had to do something to the motor when you do take it out, which is why im asking the above question. thanks.

Before you get shot down in flames for asking a question asked many times before... get a non turbo on your P's, then when you get your full license sell it and buy a Turbo - the only way to go.

Well it would be best to end up with a turbo version as it will have better gear than a non turbo.

However I think it is still illegal to drive the turbo on your P's even if you take the turbo off.

Turboing a non-turbo ....

9cyPFQbgCo9tsxc0sYV92ZHGo1_400.jpg

Basically a turbo car with the turbo taken off will have worse performance than a standard non-turbo due to lower compression, different camshaft specs, etc... But then the non-turbo will have a weaker diff, gearbox, etc. & as mentioned even if you take the turbo off it is registered as a turbo so still technically illegal. Take the advice & wait it out for one more year...

The amount of work you would have to do to a non-turbo to get it to standard turbo spec would cost you so much you could have waited & bought a far better turbo model in a years time. Just start saving now & you will have plenty of cash for when the time comes.

Be patient grasshopper!

Ok. I have read links and searched threads, and i think i will have to wait it out. If cops still will pull you over for being a 'turbo' car, and it has no power, whats the point? guess i have to keep my 94 VR commodore a bit longer :blink: thanks guys.

Basically a turbo car with the turbo taken off will have worse performance than a standard non-turbo due to lower compression, different camshaft specs, etc... But then the non-turbo will have a weaker diff, gearbox, etc. as mentioned even if you take the turbo off it is registered as a turbo so still technically illegal. Take the advice, wait it out for one more year...The amount of work you would have to do to a non-turbo to get it to standard turbo spec would cost you so much you could have waited & bought a far better turbo model in a years time. Just start saving now, you will have plenty of cash for when the time comes.Be patient grasshopper!
Edited by dynafit

Well i have spoken to an RTA employee about the situation. He said that it would classify the car as a 'non turbo' but then i must get an engineers certificate as it needs to be checked for greenhouse emissions or something, and one of those proves mods to the engine meaning its still illegal for me. However, on the website it says P platers are not allowed engine mods that INCREASE performance, and seeing as this would DEcrease performance i see no issue, except for the certificate. I also read on a previous thread that someone took the turbo off and had it in the car with him to show the cops proof, and he didnt get fined. Was this luck? or dont the cops care for an Engineer certificate?

search the forum mate.. one guy did it and his car was slower then an excel.. i bet the cops would run you through every obstacle they can which would be costly..

but you're the expert here mate so you run along and do as you please.. will keep an eye out for your next thread

ps.. search the N/A thread for posts..

Edited by .:: GimpS-R34 ::.
get a non turbo version and whack a turbo in

clearly you've got no idea about turbo systems and what's involved...

you cant just 'whack' a turbo in, there's a myriad of other things to consider. oil lines, water lines, ECU, manifold, dump, exhaust, intake, intercooler, injectors, etc...

you are wasting your time if you think its easy/viable to have a non turbo and turbo it. not to mention, you STILL cant drive a turbo car with the turbo removed, the VIN numbers and rego wont match up and you'll still get fined. How many times do P platers have to be told!? This exact thread must've been posted at least 50 times...

Best/cheapest way to do it: Buy a non turbo, sell it when you're off your 'P's then buy a nice GTS-t/GT-T...

spoke to RTA again and got someone else this time. Asked about the decreasing performance issue and showing the turbo off as proof and she said "it should be fine, and would be registered as a non turbo, but ring in tomorrow and talk to the technical team to make sure."

So i will have to wait for tomorrow for a definitive answer.

I wont bother asking how to take the turbo out, ill just search the forums for that, im just trying to work out the legality of it all. Because if its legal, then ill do it.

Edited by dynafit

ur a dick lachlan

ill tell u alil story about myself i had an r32 gtr on my p's and i got reemed regualarly by the police

i clocked up 8000 in fines in 3 months then one night i got t boned by another car who was at fault he even said he was at fault and guess what my insurance company didnt pay up because i was driving an overpowered car on my p's i was left with an unrepairable wreck on my front lawn and no money

but hay ur a f**king expert in ur vr commonwhore so go ahead ur gonna do it anyway

yeh, pull the turbo off, buy 6 cans of re-compression from auto 1 and shell be sweet lol.

there is no cheap way to do this is the answer to your question. Either way will cost thousands of dollars.

if you had of come into my shop i would have said im not interested. if you insisted i would say it would cost you 20 hrs, to remove and replace exhaust manifold, re-plumb oil and water feeds, re plumb exhaust, remove and replace fuel rail and injectors, replace ecu and afm. re plumb intake piping. You supply all the parts. Thats $1550 + parts and im not even sure how it will run.

What would be more expensive...Taking the turbo out of a skyline, or putting one in?

P plater here, and i want to purchase a skyline, either r33 or r34, but my question is simple. I either get a non turbo version and whack a turbo in once i get my blacks (1 year down the track) or i get a turbo version and take the turbo out until i get my blacks then put it back in. Its a year till my full licence but i cant wait :( I read somewhere that when you take the turbo out, you need to re-compress the motor or something and do other things to it, thats why i ask if its expensive.

ur a dick lachlan

ill tell u alil story about myself i had an r32 gtr on my p's and i got reemed regualarly by the police

i clocked up 8000 in fines in 3 months then one night i got t boned by another car who was at fault he even said he was at fault and guess what my insurance company didnt pay up because i was driving an overpowered car on my p's i was left with an unrepairable wreck on my front lawn and no money

but hay ur a f**king expert in ur vr commonwhore so go ahead ur gonna do it anyway

Well that had nothing to do with my question at all. I wouldnt be driving an overpowered car at all, it would be underpowered as id be removing the turbo.

Thank you to beserkr32, so it will be heaps expensive ay? you cant just take it out and replug lines or whatever, then later put the turbo back in? you would have to go through the whole process of replumbing things etc?

Im not keeping it without a turbo forever, only like 9-10 months so would it all be necessary?

Also im still working on the legal issue of it all. will let you know when i get it sorted from that side as if its not possible i cant go any further.