Reading the article I can't see this new squad having anything to do with cars getting intercepted or anything like that. They will just oversee the investigations of collisions and encourage/direct further investigations into same. It's just the government and force putting together yet another squad just to show they are doing something.

Drug related deaths (incl alcohol & nicotine) far outnumber deaths by car accident.

Sure governments should pay attention to both but...

all this lopsided vigilance to one and not much to the other = "war on drugs" is put into the Too Hard Basket!!!

What's the bet that Bernie Rankin is being put in charge of this farce as a slap on the wrist for bringing shame to the force?

Oh yeah... that incident... must've finally gotten through the bureaucratic nightmare that is paperwork.

Just wait for it, won't be long before we have roadside bashings of import drivers by police :D

We're the African Americans of the Melbourne car scene :D

sucks to be a black man in a skyline then...

*collective FFFUUUU by ashneel, basti, funkymonkey, chad and leanbac... and dezz by association*

I personally believe the public need more of a say on decisions which the police / government make.

They believe they are making the right choices for us, but they live VERY different lifes to everyone else, they arn't in the real world.

Im pretty sure Bernie Rankin would be out of a job if it was up to the public.

I know I dont want a guy that couldnt handle the gang squad let alone a simple interview without losing his temper.

That's right ladies and gentlemen, there is now an entire department dedicated to hoons.

So for those of us driving well looked after Japanese cars, expect to be pulled over for a random breath test & license check more than ever.

Actually sickens me to think they just brush the hoon label over everyone AND they are wasting more and more resources on this.

I honestly believe a driver training day should be mandatory for all L platers, prior to getting their P's......AND the instructor has to pass them.

anyhoo enough of my ramblings

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/gang-war-...o-1225849322023

BTW....didnt Ken Lay get caught hooning not long ago? 54 in a 50 is hooning now isn't it?

Ken got busted - what about the decision makers? Funny how many pollies don't drive.... How many politician's drivers have been fined for speeding?

Since when was an analogue gauge (speedo) in a car, with human reflexes & parallax error (Error in reading your speedo pointer because your eye and pointer are not in line with your gauge) meant to be tolerant within 3 odd km's before you get pinged? Who agreed to this?

I know I spend more time looking at the speedo when a cop's around and less time observing what's on the road - making it more dangerous. It seems the authorities want it to be like this all the time. Maybe 'fear' of speeding (or getting fined) is contributing to road incidents because people can't dedicate enough time to observing the road conditions?

Unfortunately, there will always be 'hoons' in this world. The law of averages... there will always be an 'incident' on the roads with some idiot.

Looking at the percentage of cars on the road today, I'm surprised that we (as a society) aren't more appreciative of automotive technology and how it has reduced deaths on the road.

If you compare the number of cars vs fatalities from the 1970's to today - it's gone from over 1000 fatalities in 1970 to under 400 today. I don't have the stats on the number of cars from the 70's till today, but you can imagine how much more traffic is on the roads now.

Check this link: http://www.monash.edu.au/pubs/monmag/issue...toll-graph.html

I wonder if the balance of road incidents has changed to violence on the streets? That would be an interesting study.... but I'm getting side tracked. Back to the point.

Given there are soooo many more cars on the road today, maybe we should ask if the government has kept up with keeping the infrastructure up to scratch?? Instead of dropping speed limits to counter-productive and humanely impossible levels, imagine if the roads were designed to carry the number of today's cars at a reasonable pace (and to improve business throughput).?

In my opinion, I reckon there would be less road rage, fatalities might be more contained and business would do better if the roads could cope .... The reality is that it is probably easier to reduce speed limits, make money by fining people instead of spending money on the roads to improve flow and make them better to travel on.

Rant over!

Edited by JZP

If your bored, have a read through the comments on the herald sun site. Some of them are very good and some just funny like

"Another incident a driver sat on my tail a metre away 80 k zone. Went to police at local. constable sitting down feet up on counter asked if I was on right hand lane.exclaimed she would have done same. I was on left lane.How can you explain my dismay."

The word 'hoon' is just getting ridiculous, now its people using mobile phones while driving, drunk drivers etc.

What's the bet that Bernie Rankin is being put in charge of this farce as a slap on the wrist for bringing shame to the force?

Oh yeah... that incident... must've finally gotten through the bureaucratic nightmare that is paperwork.

Snap. Good work, son :cool:

Was talking about this the other weekend. Make it harder to get a licence, make kids sit a serious driver training course like the do in places like Finland. You have to get the car out of shape, sit refresher tests etc etc. Some pleople say it's too hard but if you don't pass it, you don't get a licence. If you don't get a licence then you clearly don't deserve one.

The problem is kids are taught how to PASS a test, not how to drive. It's BS.

No surprise that my comment hasn't been posted on the "HS" website,

apparently you cant call the government and vicpol a pair of corrupt institutions and you cant call for John Brumby to get the sack at the next election,

i actually used all the allowed characters and it was alot more than that, shame really