MUZT3K Posted April 11, 2010 Share Posted April 11, 2010 apart from screamer pipes being loud..do they help in performance from a normal dump pipe? Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/315938-operation-pipe-down-vic-cops-vs-noisy-cars/page/3/#findComment-5175441 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Birds Posted April 11, 2010 Share Posted April 11, 2010 Time to close the Varex. Hehehe I'm with ya! option 1 - Put a stocky onoption 2 - Steel wool! (dodgy, plus sparky ember things will fly out your hole on WOT...heheheh hole) option 3 - get a custom legal exhaust made up option 4 - i can't think of anymore options Option 5, Varex damn you! Illegal though Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/315938-operation-pipe-down-vic-cops-vs-noisy-cars/page/3/#findComment-5175458 Share on other sites More sharing options...
lukebaldan Posted April 12, 2010 Share Posted April 12, 2010 My auto reviewer mate has a 480kw ve e2 walkinshaw ve at the moment. I just watched him take off before and i haven't heard a car that loud in quite some time. Once the valves in the exhaust open, you can hear this thing miles away. This is a factory system, how will this car fair against operation pipedown? Is it safe to say that the above mentioned car would be waved through without worries despite being signifiantly louder than the 90dB law? Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/315938-operation-pipe-down-vic-cops-vs-noisy-cars/page/3/#findComment-5176123 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Birds Posted April 12, 2010 Share Posted April 12, 2010 Of course, don't you know anything factory comes under a very grey area Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/315938-operation-pipe-down-vic-cops-vs-noisy-cars/page/3/#findComment-5176151 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Harey Posted April 12, 2010 Share Posted April 12, 2010 My auto reviewer mate has a 480kw ve e2 walkinshaw ve at the moment. I just watched him take off before and i haven't heard a car that loud in quite some time. Once the valves in the exhaust open, you can hear this thing miles away.This is a factory system, how will this car fair against operation pipedown? Is it safe to say that the above mentioned car would be waved through without worries despite being signifiantly louder than the 90dB law? There is no such thing as a Walkinshaw VE E2. He has a VE HSV E2 with a walkinshaw upgrade kit consisting of aftermarket parts. Quote from the walkinshaw site: "Few can claim to know Commodore and HSV cars like Walkinshaw Performance. Our range of products have been evaluated for their genuine contribution to improved performance and vehicle dynamics." Therefore, if it is not the factory HSV exhaust, and its over the db limit, it is illegal plain and simple. This is the upgrade kit you are talking about: http://www.walkinshawperformance.com.au/wp...news.asp?ID=355 Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/315938-operation-pipe-down-vic-cops-vs-noisy-cars/page/3/#findComment-5176490 Share on other sites More sharing options...
lukebaldan Posted April 12, 2010 Share Posted April 12, 2010 There is no such thing as a Walkinshaw VE E2. He has a VE HSV E2 with a walkinshaw upgrade kit consisting of aftermarket parts.Quote from the walkinshaw site: "Few can claim to know Commodore and HSV cars like Walkinshaw Performance. Our range of products have been evaluated for their genuine contribution to improved performance and vehicle dynamics." Therefore, if it is not the factory HSV exhaust, and its over the db limit, it is illegal plain and simple. This is the upgrade kit you are talking about: http://www.walkinshawperformance.com.au/wp...news.asp?ID=355 Yep that's the one. I apologise, i don't know a lot about commodores. In any case, unreal car, haven't heard anything like it. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/315938-operation-pipe-down-vic-cops-vs-noisy-cars/page/3/#findComment-5176537 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dan_J Posted April 12, 2010 Share Posted April 12, 2010 is their any way of making the exhaust a bit quieter without those ugly silencers ??? you make an exhaust flange out of some steel sheet and drill a few holes in the center, then bolt it in and get an extra gasket flange for it. you will have shit power same as a silencer after installing it Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/315938-operation-pipe-down-vic-cops-vs-noisy-cars/page/3/#findComment-5176605 Share on other sites More sharing options...
PIOTREK Posted April 15, 2010 Share Posted April 15, 2010 there was a mobile epa station set up on tuesday around 3pm on springvale rd , next to the monash entrance careful guys- just a heads up! Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/315938-operation-pipe-down-vic-cops-vs-noisy-cars/page/3/#findComment-5182929 Share on other sites More sharing options...
racin8 Posted April 16, 2010 Share Posted April 16, 2010 Tried the steel woool up the exhaust on my modded Ls1 powered VU Ute...... worked really well ( reduced the noise by about 15% I would say ) until........... the bloke doing the testing held it at the required revs and bits of wool started flying out .... one large chunk actually flew out and landed square on his microphone stand....... he was far from impressed. The result a brief stint with a saussage muffler. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/315938-operation-pipe-down-vic-cops-vs-noisy-cars/page/3/#findComment-5184015 Share on other sites More sharing options...
alr33x Posted April 16, 2010 Share Posted April 16, 2010 Tried the steel woool up the exhaust on my modded Ls1 powered VU Ute...... worked really well ( reduced the noise by about 15% I would say ) until........... the bloke doing the testing held it at the required revs and bits of wool started flying out .... one large chunk actually flew out and landed square on his microphone stand....... he was far from impressed. The result a brief stint with a saussage muffler. fkn classic! Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/315938-operation-pipe-down-vic-cops-vs-noisy-cars/page/3/#findComment-5184097 Share on other sites More sharing options...
W0rp3D Posted April 16, 2010 Share Posted April 16, 2010 YAY, now we can get rid of all these f**ktards with there fully sick cannons, an exhaust can be leagl and flow good power, no need to obnoxiously loud. Tried the steel woool up the exhaust on my modded Ls1 powered VU Ute...... worked really well ( reduced the noise by about 15% I would say ) until........... the bloke doing the testing held it at the required revs and bits of wool started flying out .... one large chunk actually flew out and landed square on his microphone stand....... he was far from impressed. The result a brief stint with a saussage muffler. last time i heard the mic must be placed at a 90 degree angle to the exhaust and be 1-2 meters away, tell the f**ker to learn how to do his job. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/315938-operation-pipe-down-vic-cops-vs-noisy-cars/page/3/#findComment-5184528 Share on other sites More sharing options...
33gtst Posted April 17, 2010 Share Posted April 17, 2010 YAY, now we can get rid of all these f**ktards with there fully sick cannons, an exhaust can be leagl and flow good power, no need to obnoxiously loud. I dont have a cannon either....in fact no muffler at all LOL.. Now if only the damn truckies would turn those horrendous jake brakes off in my area...I'd be able to hear my own exhaust note. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/315938-operation-pipe-down-vic-cops-vs-noisy-cars/page/3/#findComment-5185217 Share on other sites More sharing options...
W0rp3D Posted April 17, 2010 Share Posted April 17, 2010 I dont have a cannon either....in fact no muffler at all LOL.. Now if only the damn truckies would turn those horrendous jake brakes off in my area...I'd be able to hear my own exhaust note. jake brakes sound good in the tunnel, i only drive a merc rigid tho so its not loud, i do use it when i go through moe and morwell though just to try and wake the slack pricks up at 11am. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/315938-operation-pipe-down-vic-cops-vs-noisy-cars/page/3/#findComment-5185219 Share on other sites More sharing options...
33gtst Posted April 17, 2010 Share Posted April 17, 2010 hahahaha oh no you didnt..................... say the M word Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/315938-operation-pipe-down-vic-cops-vs-noisy-cars/page/3/#findComment-5185229 Share on other sites More sharing options...
W0rp3D Posted April 17, 2010 Share Posted April 17, 2010 hahahaha oh no you didnt..................... say the M word lol, i did, twice, im resisting the need to take moccies with me every day, the fact that i dont own any is helping the cause. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/315938-operation-pipe-down-vic-cops-vs-noisy-cars/page/3/#findComment-5185373 Share on other sites More sharing options...
JNRZAN Posted April 18, 2010 Share Posted April 18, 2010 Got pulled into a booze bus last night and as i was leaving he had the cheek to tell me im going to be recieving a epa letter in the mail.... ahh the sly-ness of cops these days mate Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/315938-operation-pipe-down-vic-cops-vs-noisy-cars/page/3/#findComment-5186084 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curmi Posted April 18, 2010 Share Posted April 18, 2010 never drive on a sat night unless its close by Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/315938-operation-pipe-down-vic-cops-vs-noisy-cars/page/3/#findComment-5186179 Share on other sites More sharing options...
PIOTREK Posted April 18, 2010 Share Posted April 18, 2010 never drive on a sat night unless its close by yer you got a point- but seriously if you need to go out you should be able to lol i reckon that over the next week just keep it low key until the "pipe down" is over. Plus if your exhaust is rediculous, well maybe you would get done regardless on which day of the week it is. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/315938-operation-pipe-down-vic-cops-vs-noisy-cars/page/3/#findComment-5186182 Share on other sites More sharing options...
tavstar34 Posted April 18, 2010 Share Posted April 18, 2010 If they cant get u for the exhaust they will still gonna get u for something else either way. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/315938-operation-pipe-down-vic-cops-vs-noisy-cars/page/3/#findComment-5186210 Share on other sites More sharing options...
vspecIInur Posted April 18, 2010 Share Posted April 18, 2010 last year i got raped in the arse quite hard with my evo. Had 320kw at all fours with 44mm wastegate, screamer, td07 25g...the works. Epa hated me for life. Carbon emissions well...you dont wanna know heh. A lesson well learnt and a very very expensive one! Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/315938-operation-pipe-down-vic-cops-vs-noisy-cars/page/3/#findComment-5186290 Share on other sites More sharing options...