To Motorbike Owners (well Not Limited Too Lol)

Alright well now that I got some molah back in my bank it's time to spend it. As I am racking up some serious K's on my pride and joy I think it's time to get back on the ol' two seater. Now I've always been a MX man myself and sold my previous Yamaha WR400 for my Skyline (Yea bikes aren't cheap) as getting it converted for road use was going to be too much of a hassle. But I want current Skyline and bike owners opinions here I'm tempted to go a KTM Supermoto (a cross of on and off road) but after riding my friends Ninja and Aprilia and admittedly "borrowing" my uncles boulevard I've gotten a feel for other bikes and currently a 2008 CBR600RR looks seriously appealing. What are your views? Is your car fast enough? Or is having best of both worlds just unbeatable? And for those of you who hate bikes but never ridden on the hills or a track or anything please keep your opinion's to yourself, if you have ridden and know whats it's like to be just you the road and the bike and experience that phenomenal feeling but still hate it then I would love to hear your reasons why.

• Replies 108

I've don't ride or have ridden a motor bike. But I'm no hater - I've been lazy too take up lessons and folks worrying about safety etc... :D

Would be an awesome skill I'd like to obtain.

Some of my mates ride them as a daily.

Big benefits is that:

- Save fuel.

- Park almost anywhere. - Very convenient.

- Get to always creep to the front of traffic - save lots of time.

- Quick acceleration

Issues:

- Safety - even if you are a safe rider, it takes some idiot to ram into you and you are in a world of trouble......

- Weather - exposed to everything.

- Seating - If you need to take more than 2 people - can't do much...

Road bikes are cheap son, everything about them is cheap (except for destroying it or replacing the tyres).

Best of both worlds is where it's at though. I would never rely 100% on a bike as a means of transport. There are situations you'll want a car, e.g. riding in the rain, carrying passengers/items, not wanting to carry your safety gear around at the destination. Also, I've known people who ride sports bikes on a daily driver basis and have ended up with back problems from it. That said, as you know, they've got awesome advantages in traffic and yes there is never a more free/open feeling on the road than cruising along on a bike.

I've don't ride or have ridden a motor bike. But I'm no hater - I've been lazy too take up lessons and folks worrying about safety etc... :D

Would be an awesome skill I'd like to obtain.

Some of my mates ride them as a daily.

Big benefits is that:

- Save fuel.

- Park almost anywhere. - Very convenient.

- Get to always creep to the front of traffic - save lots of time.

- Quick acceleration

Issues:

- Safety - even if you are a safe rider, it takes some idiot to ram into you and you are in a world of trouble......

- Weather - exposed to everything.

- Seating - If you need to take more than 2 people - can't do much...

Hahah I know that a major reason of buying it filling up $20 a week is a lot better than $80, and your right about parking, legally if there is enough space for a wheelchair to get pass you can park on the side walk. But you should really get your license it really is an amazing feeling, just don't get no vespa :)

i love the gsx-r's even if they are the commodore of sports bikes lol

ive riden; gsx-r600, gsx-r750 k8, and loved both of them, also used to have a ninja 250r 08' ... stuff the dirt bikes, definatly go road/sports bike

but i REALLY love the honda's and when i get off my restrictions i plan on gettin an 05' cbr1000 fireblade

... so go a honda i say

Edited by Ruffels
i love the gsx-r's even if they are the commodore of sports bikes lol

ive riden; gsx-r600, gsx-r750 k8, and loved both of them, also used to have a ninja 250r 08' ... stuff the dirt bikes, definatly go road/sports bike

but i REALLY love the honda's and when i get off my restrictions i plan on gettin an 05' cbr1000 fireblade

... so go a honda i say

Hahah I was thinking going CBR1000 but I think I'm making to big of a jump from 400 to 1000 personally, I don't know one of my neighbors bf's has a CBR1000RR and it's f**king ridiculous it sounds insane and goes like stink. Really tempting but think I might stay with the 600 lol

Have you considered a VTR 1000 Firestorm? These bikes are excellent value for money and being a V-twin they have very useable power for daily riding. Faster than most 600cc sports bikes and 06/07 models can be had for around $8k.

Vespas might look gay but they're kind of fun around backstreets and scary as hell to ride at speed. Automatic gearbox just twist the throttle! Nothing between the legs to hold on so it feels like you can literally turn around and step off the thing at 80km/h :D

Hahah i'm not as much as a crazy mofo as you Birds, na I doubt I'd be able to ride a 600 to it's full potential let alone a 1000 I want to be able learn how to accelerate properly and learn to scratch properly before i go anything to big, although your right that V-Twin engine is damn tempting, but unlike cars I think it really is better to step up then just having a massive learning curve. I rode a vespa once, rented one in the gold coast but I don't think I would be caught dead on a vespa as a daily driver lol. So when are you getting this bike of yours man? We should totally start a SAU bike crew lol

Have you considered a VTR 1000 Firestorm? These bikes are excellent value for money and being a V-twin they have very useable power for daily riding. Faster than most 600cc sports bikes and 06/07 models can be had for around $8k.

Vespas might look gay but they're kind of fun around backstreets and scary as hell to ride at speed. Automatic gearbox just twist the throttle! Nothing between the legs to hold on so it feels like you can literally turn around and step off the thing at 80km/h :D

DO IT.

I ride a CBR600RR 06 and it is awesome, love the handling. Cheap to run: yes. Cheap to buy: yes. But you don't buy them when you have a car because they are cheap, you buy one because it's your hobby. I ride mine mainly at track days or social outings with my other mates that ride. I quit the commuting when this happened:

4218_223041590007_556690007_6944595_3758320_n.jpg

Try not to end up with titanium impants ok? :D

My partner was an A grade mx rider and he was better than natural when he hit road bikes, so you will probably kick most peoples arses if you rode dirt a bit.

CBR600RR's are awesome and I have a few friends that own the model you are talking about, they love it, and I love mine. Great in handling for sure. If you want to get a pipe for it give me a holla :wink:

so DO IT... and let me know when you get it, I'll take you to one of our group rides, nothing better then being in a group of 100 bikes :)

DO IT.

I ride a CBR600RR 06 and it is awesome, love the handling. Cheap to run: yes. Cheap to buy: yes. But you don't buy them when you have a car because they are cheap, you buy one because it's your hobby. I ride mine mainly at track days or social outings with my other mates that ride. I quit the commuting when this happened:

4218_223041590007_556690007_6944595_3758320_n.jpg

Try not to end up with titanium impants ok? :D

My partner was an A grade mx rider and he was better than natural when he hit road bikes, so you will probably kick most peoples arses if you rode dirt a bit.

CBR600RR's are awesome and I have a few friends that own the model you are talking about, they love it, and I love mine. Great in handling for sure. If you want to get a pipe for it give me a holla :wink:

so DO IT... and let me know when you get it, I'll take you to one of our group rides, nothing better then being in a group of 100 bikes :D

Hahah your making real tempting arguments there Charlie, Yea when I went for my license they basically said I was the best in the group and asked me straight up if I was an MX rider, but it still is a big change to MX so i still need a bit of practice. Although thanks to your loopholes here I've never had to do any of the P plate shit in my life, for cars or bikes :), full license for life baby!. If you do a lot of group rides I wouldn't be surprised if you know some of my bro's already as they wont shut up about them. I sometimes tail them in my 33 but yea your right nothing compares than being on a bike, so far I'm looking at a nice RR with a Jardine muffler but just recently a Daytona and ZX-6R caught my eye....decisions decisions decisions!!! But when I get it were defiantly going for a ride, I'll bring my crew along and we'll have an epic time, thanks again for your input

EDIT: And holy crap that bike is messed! What happened? is your friend alright?

haha that's my bike!!! I still have the remaining pieces in my garage (engine, speedo, swing arm and rear wheel. that's all)

Was hit head on by a guy that failed to give way at a touchy intersection around the corner from my work in tulla. The bike was 2 months old (my upgrade from a 250 and my pride and joy) and had 3,600 k's on it. K9 GSX-R750. Spent 4 days in hospital getting my left arm operated on, I'll tell you about it, I still laugh at the memory of me running around after it happened screaming for someone to call an ambulance.. hahahahaha O_O :D

675's are good too, personally I think for anyone who wants to learn to ride well on a road bike with less experience you should go a honda 600. My gixer was really loose in the steering which meant it got close to highsiding a few times when I did tight suburban streets. But I also ride an 06 gixxer thou with a PC and mapping and that thing is INCREDIBLE. But it is $$$ to set up.

Best advise I could say is spend a weekend test riding, ride your mates... and make sure you ride for at least 30 mins so that you get to know the bike properly, that's the only way you're going to know what's right for you.

Can't wait! (makes me want to go for a ride! :))

OMG CHARLI! Are you ok? Was there permanent damage? That's horrible! Were you wearing full leathers at the time? I can't believe that happened to you, I hear stories a bit but recently people I know are actually getting to accidents like one of my old HS bro's lost part of his leg because of a bad bike accidents, it's why I don't think I'd go anywhere without full leathers, I'm actually looking at getting a HitAir Jacket have you seen them? Yea Gixxers were on the table for me at one point but it's exactly what I heard about the steering that sort of put me off them. I might go see if I can test drive a Daytona or and a Gixxer just for the feel as I've already driven the CBR and quite like it a lot. I just need to get a helmet and leathers of my own, which I'll probably do after the GOR cruise (are you coming btw?) Hahah don't you start, my friends go for cruises all the time, and I haven't been in ages, i'm sooo itch'n for a bike cruise right now.

haha that's my bike!!! I still have the remaining pieces in my garage (engine, speedo, swing arm and rear wheel. that's all)

Was hit head on by a guy that failed to give way at a touchy intersection around the corner from my work in tulla. The bike was 2 months old (my upgrade from a 250 and my pride and joy) and had 3,600 k's on it. K9 GSX-R750. Spent 4 days in hospital getting my left arm operated on, I'll tell you about it, I still laugh at the memory of me running around after it happened screaming for someone to call an ambulance.. hahahahaha O_O :D

675's are good too, personally I think for anyone who wants to learn to ride well on a road bike with less experience you should go a honda 600. My gixer was really loose in the steering which meant it got close to highsiding a few times when I did tight suburban streets. But I also ride an 06 gixxer thou with a PC and mapping and that thing is INCREDIBLE. But it is $$ to set up.

Best advise I could say is spend a weekend test riding, ride your mates... and make sure you ride for at least 30 mins so that you get to know the bike properly, that's the only way you're going to know what's right for you.

Can't wait! (makes me want to go for a ride! :) )

I'm trying to hold myself back from buying a Ducati at the moment actually, tempted to import a 999... Doesn't help when my best mate has a 1098S either :)

I don't even have my license yet, would be easy to get... But i know i'd probably kill myself :D

I'm trying to hold myself back from buying a Ducati at the moment actually, tempted to import a 999... Doesn't help when my best mate has a 1098S either :)

I don't even have my license yet, would be easy to get... But i know i'd probably kill myself :D

Damn Ash, don't even start man, those Ducati's are freaking amazing, I have a poster of a 999 on my wall lol. You should probably get your license now so when you do finally get around to getting one you will be off your restrictions

Couple of guys at work have Motards, they are the bomb, but you need cubes, 1 is a 250 which is gay but the other is a KTM 600ish, sounds like someone hitting a punching bag with a baseball bat.

Bikes shit on cars for fun and performance anyday plus you just park them anywhere.

Guys on std road bikes even 600's worth under 20k new along with massive balls can run around PI well under 1.40. Nobody in any street car can even go near that. Plus the cars that go quick break all the time and don't even push near those times. I think the newer bikes can even run low 10's or even 9's on the 1/4. Can an everyday car ever do that. I think not. Do I need to say more.

I'd go the motard option easily. Easy to wheelie and possibly stoppie for you in the future! Plus you can gutter bash and evade the po po using walking lanes if you think there going to chase/hassle you. Motard only though if your riding around the street. Motard might get a bit stressed on long hauls. Wouldn't go a vtr as I rode a sp2 and thought it was rubbish. No bottom end and the run rough. 4 cylinders are a heap better to ride and more responsive.

I've ridden bikes a bit. My current bike is a cbr954. It has never given me a problem in 6 years and 35000km's I've done on it. Honda's or Yamaha are the go. Also have a WR400 awsome bike that I can't kill and it cops a hard time. Best bush bike out there for reliability. Plus have a RMZ250 07 I'm building to club race.

Go the big bike because everybody you speak to who aren't soft wish they just spent the extra and bought the 1000. A 600 could spit you off and a 1000 is the same. Its all in the right hand... If your a hack and going to stack it doesn't matter what your on it going to happen anyway. Loose in the steering shouldn't make you highside Charlie. Might spit you off but thats called headshake. Just power out of it. Back off and you stack. If thats what you mean? A highside is when your under power out of corners and the back sides out and bites.

Riding dirt bikes helps a lot. I've alway ridden them. Best fun you can have with your mates where nobody is ever going to hassle you and you get the best addrenalin rush. Getting back into dirt bikes at the moment and have no real desire to drive the gtr atm. Just doesn't do it for me anymore. Doesn't give the "I could f myself up right now" feel. Slowly converting a few of the SAU guys out there. They love it.

Bummer on the new hoon laws. Used to spend a heap of time in the breaside industrial estate doing mono's and just being wreakless with mates. Heaps of fun. Really miss it actually. Used to be good area for a few drift session too!

Buy one! Do it! It'll make your skyline seem like a kombi. Ran a 10.7 at Heathcote and I couldn't launch it properly. Bikes prob only worth $6k. Used to ride it everyday for 4 years. If you want a motard/upright feeling bike that is good to ride I'd look at a xjr1300 yamaha. Their cheap. Very comfortable, the stunt guys used to uses them. They seem like a very fun bike. Just an idea. Not a motard at all really. More of a sports tourer but worth a look.

Alright well now that I got some molah back in my bank it's time to spend it. As I am racking up some serious K's on my pride and joy I think it's time to get back on the ol' two seater. Now I've always been a MX man myself and sold my previous Yamaha WR400 for my Skyline (Yea bikes aren't cheap) as getting it converted for road use was going to be too much of a hassle. But I want current Skyline and bike owners opinions here I'm tempted to go a KTM Supermoto (a cross of on and off road) but after riding my friends Ninja and Aprilia and admittedly "borrowing" my uncles boulevard I've gotten a feel for other bikes and currently a 2008 CBR600RR looks seriously appealing. What are your views? Is your car fast enough? Or is having best of both worlds just unbeatable? And for those of you who hate bikes but never ridden on the hills or a track or anything please keep your opinion's to yourself, if you have ridden and know whats it's like to be just you the road and the bike and experience that phenomenal feeling but still hate it then I would love to hear your reasons why.

Stick with the CBR600! Honda is the most user friendly of all the jap bikes hands down, also stick with the jap brands if you do decide on something else as parts are a dime a dozen and are reliable unlike the "D" brand eveybody wants that has never ridden a bike before.

Ive been ridding bikes for 12 years and have had over 20 bikes from all brands, and as a rough guide-

Speed= Yamaha

User friendly/reliability = HONDA

Tourque= SUZUKI

Last years technology= This years KAWASAKI ;)

Wank factor= DUCATI/APRILIA/MV AUGUSTA

Hahah i'm not as much as a crazy mofo as you Birds, na I doubt I'd be able to ride a 600 to it's full potential let alone a 1000 I want to be able learn how to accelerate properly and learn to scratch properly before i go anything to big, although your right that V-Twin engine is damn tempting, but unlike cars I think it really is better to step up then just having a massive learning curve. I rode a vespa once, rented one in the gold coast but I don't think I would be caught dead on a vespa as a daily driver lol. So when are you getting this bike of yours man? We should totally start a SAU bike crew lol

Nah VTR's are more rider friendly than the CBR600 IMO...you should atleast give one a ride and see what you think. Don't let 1000cc scare you, engine configuration is much more important than displacement alone. V-twins are actually more like cars than bikes in terms of power/torque progression. Nice and linear unlike the sports bikes that you need to rev their tits off to get anywhere. Riding position is a bit more upright too so a bit better for cruising/commuting. The sound of a large displacement V-twin is one of the sweetest exhaust notes you'll hear from a bike, they sound nothing like the buzz buzz shitcannons you hear on most Jap sports bikes ;)