So yes I woke up this morning to the lovely news that my windscreen was bricked last night. There's tiny fragments of glass all over the front passenger seat but not much else...and the windscreen itself looks like a spider's web. The brick itself split in two, which shows the kind of force the screen can handle...

freaking morons!! :)

anyway, does anyone know if the M35 windscreen is the same as a V35 skyline screen?

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/317947-m35-windscreen-got-bricked/

That's bullshit Steve. F*cking arseholes.

To answer your question, yes the M35 windscreen is the same as a V35's.

(My mate has had his M35 windscreen replaced with a V35 unit)

Edited by iamhe77
(My mate has had his M35 windscreen replaced with a V35 unit)

nice of you to call me a mate....mate......but I thought we were dating!!!

oh and yes....what Cam said

Edited by Jetwreck
Unbelievable. I didn't think Adelade was like that. Sydney I would understand.

How common are the v35 screens to find?

I'm guessing more common than M35 ones...

So far I've been quoted $717 from one place and $395 from another (plus the mould which they said more than likely needed replacing).

Unfortunately my insurance doesn't offer a free one. :)

I'm guessing more common than M35 ones...

So far I've been quoted $717 from one place and $395 from another (plus the mould which they said more than likely needed replacing).

Unfortunately my insurance doesn't offer a free one. :)

Pretty sure the replacement windscreens from O'briens don't come with the tinted area up the top either.....as mine does not have it

You are correct. they are the more expensive of the 2 quotes, with instant windscreens being the cheaper one. interestingly obrien mentioned it wont need the mould replaced whereas instant said it may need it.

The reason?

I say fear!

Nothing worse than being beaten by a Volvo Wagon :D

Goes back to the R32's.....the bogans cannot handle that Nissans are a far superior car to the Falcodore's.......sorry Commalcon's....lol

Unfortunately my insurance doesn't offer a free one. :D

That sucks hard....I am with shannons and have got 4 windows from them on 3 different cars over the last 5 years. most recently the rear screen of the ute after i threw a brick thru it (no I was no practising for a spree, just an accident :blush:)

Well at least I have some positive news now. It should be fixed this wednesday or thursday. $295. That doesn't sound too bad :)

I've also been told it does have the tint strip across the top so we'll wait and see...

really sucks not having a car but I'm living with my in-laws while my house gets built (only 3 weeks to go!) so at least I'm able to borrow a car.

Another thing I'm thankful for (looking on the bright side), the windscreen is probably the CHEAPEST part on the entire car for the brick to hit.

The brick wasn't just thrown at the car, it was tossed out the window of a car that was driving past (probably at 60+km/h). The impact was enough to shatter the entire windscreen (although its still mostly in place), including 2 dents where the brick hit (one has a tiny hole all the way through). The brick split in two and the 2 halves of the brick landed about 10 metres away from the car and also about 10 metres away from each other...down near the house.

I know its bad luck to get hit in the first place but in a sense we're lucky it wasn't any worse than it is.

It was a random attack (unless someone really hates imports)...so hopefully it wont happen again. I wont be parking on the street again to find out.

Just thought I'd follow up for anyone who finds themselves needing a new windscreen for their M35. My earlier prices were a tad optimistic (misinformation given over phone - the sales person got the wrong car among other things - was quickly corrected when we called the local branch to give the go-ahead).

Instant Windscreens:

$395 without the blue tint strip at the top of the windscreen or $450 with the tint strip. I wanted mine to look factory so I went with the tint strip. Parts were ordered Tuesday from interstate, and the guy came out and fitted it on Wednesday afternoon.

Very happy with everything except that it happened in the first place...

• 5 months later...