• Replies 46

ive known a few guys who have had plenty of work done by both boostworx and wilall, and have recommended them strongly.

i havent used either myself, but i was always planning on getting wilall to tune my 200.

I'd seriously be getting Jeff at The Speedlab to tune your 200.

He's hard to get in contact with at times, but he'll tune the car far better than Willalls.

Not Willal? LOL.

Care to explain your reasons at all?

I see a lot of behind the scenes with all these issues so I'd be interested to know :)

I believe he meant he wouldn't recommend the place bolded in the quote, but is recommending Willal.

I know what he means. I wanna know about his experience with Smooth :)

They're always looking to improve customer service, and to be honest, he'd have to be one of the only unhappy people I've seen come out of there.

The work they do is excellent and the prices are far better than most of the competition.

Hi Kahli,

Congrats on the baby to be, you'll love being a mum, we've got an 8 week old bub and my wife's just glowing with joy over him.....so am I.

RE your car/conversion and workshop questions, I've got a 32 with a 25 Neo conversion and it's at Classic Performance now. Ash from CP is basically finishing off a few small things for me and giving it a tune and so far he seems like he knows what he's doing. He talked me through an Infiniti V8 conversion he did on his old classic (old panel van) and he's tuned it up to run on straight LPG. It now has 190rwkw, which is a far cry from the original 20 or so! I think he'd be interested in working on it for you and I think he'd do it well.

Jeff at Speedlab also has a good reputation for tuning, but I don't think he'd be as interested in finishing the conversion as he seems more of a tuner. Others may be able to offer more information than that. Jeff is also very hard to get hold of, I tried for a week straight including actually dropping into his workshop but I couldn't get in contact with him so found Ash.

Other than that, as others have said, the workshop that started the conversion will likely put more effort into finishing it properly. Or can your BF do it? I did most of mine then just got Ash to check it over.

If you wish I can give you more feedback on Classic Performance after a week or so when I get mine back.

EDIT

martin donnan FTW

Just ask him to tune it properly, and not on the edge. And make sure it's 100% safe after the tune is complete. Keep an eye on the knock meter.

In saying that I only use Jeff and sometimes use a mate from Tassie when he's up here.

Jeff at Speedlab also has a good reputation for tuning, but I don't think he'd be as interested in finishing the conversion as he seems more of a tuner. Others may be able to offer more information than that. Jeff is also very hard to get hold of, I tried for a week straight including actually dropping into his workshop but I couldn't get in contact with him so found Ash.

Jeff won't touch the car til it's complete, but he's the one I'd recommend to tune it :)

I've also had a mate recently who has a s15 and took it to Jeff. Car wasn't making much power and wasn't running to good with his tune. Took it to boostworx and the car made alot more power and ran smoother.

Yeah I haven't heard anything bad about Jeff's work.

BTW, I was just talking to a mate who's been getting Jeff to tune his 33 for a while and he said Jeff's been missing for three weeks and noone knows where he is! No wonder I couldn't get through to him.

Not saying anything bad against Jeff but I know as a potential customer it would piss me right off not being able to contact him, especially if I had issues with a tune, etc. Would be very frustrating to me

Just ask him to tune it properly, and not on the edge. And make sure it's 100% safe after the tune is complete. Keep an eye on the knock meter.

In saying that I only use Jeff and sometimes use a mate from Tassie when he's up here.

Jeff won't touch the car til it's complete, but he's the one I'd recommend to tune it :)

Martin is the only person to tune my skyline, first tune was back in 2005 then tuned again in January 2009 with new turbo's etc. Car has seen about 8 track days/time attack's running 18psi 320kw flat out lap after lap. Not bad for a standard internal 33 RB26, really cant fault his tunning. Recommend Martin to anybody wanting a tune for a skyline.

Not Willal? LOL.

Care to explain your reasons at all?

I see a lot of behind the scenes with all these issues so I'd be interested to know :thumbsup:

Who are you for me to explain anything? Lil miss32 asked for opinions i gave her mine. She can come look at my car instead of me saying anything and make up her mind :)

Im sure there is more then enough pplz to PM you with their experiences, and as per rules, cant shit talk about workshops..so i wont :(.

I know what he means. I wanna know about his experience with Smooth :thumbsup:

They're always looking to improve customer service, and to be honest, he'd have to be one of the only unhappy people I've seen come out of there.

The work they do is excellent and the prices are far better than most of the competition.

lol.