Ok ok before I start getting everyone yelling at me saying this is a car club, as from the previous threads we all know there is already a large amount of riders here so being a new rider myself filled with hope and inhibition I thought I might try to plan for SAU's 1st unofficial motorcycle cruise (afaik) right now I'm looking at Saturday the 21st this give everyone sometime to get the dust covers off and to spread the word a little. I've been looking at cruising routes (any opinions are welcome) and have narrowed it down to a few;

1. Emerald --> Warburton --> Black-Spur --> Healesville --> Return (Looks the best imo)

2. Wantirna --> Arthurs-Seat --> Flinders --> Pakenham --> Gembrook (Looks like a nice scenic root but not enough twisties)

3. Brayswater -->Koo Wee --> Warragul --> Costal Park --> Yaram --> Emerald (Looks nice but LOOOONG)

4. GOR Drive (I don't really want to do this one since there is an OFFICAL SAU GOR cruise but I'm putting it here for input)

EDIT 2: 5. Great Alpine Road (As purposed by Russman, this is the only way to fit it in a day but I doubt we'd do it, I'll probably save it for a 2 dayer later on in the year)

I wanted to do a 2 day cruise but I figure since it's the first one lets start small :D . And OF COURSE cars will be allowed on this cruise but I do want to get as many riders as possible.

James :(

Edit: Cars Condition: You have to be at the back of the pack and we will set up locations where we'll wait for you to catch up....we'll have lunch or something :P

Great Alpine road.... That is all. haha

Need 2 days. Bruthen to Bright :( . I did it on a Yamaha XVS1100 cruiser hire bike in March. I'm used to dirt bikes but man it was fun!!!

black spur is good on weekdays. Not sure about a saturday. Best of those I reckon though.

Don't invite cars IMO. They'll only slow you down.

Great Alpine road.... That is all. haha

Need 2 days. Bruthen to Bright :( . I did it on a Yamaha XVS1100 cruiser hire bike in March. I'm used to dirt bikes but man it was fun!!!

black spur is good on weekdays. Not sure about a saturday. Best of those I reckon though.

Don't invite cars IMO. They'll only slow you down.

Hahah oh right I forgot to put the condition...FIXED XD

Cars will slow bikes down? That sounds like a challenge lol. Not that I'd even think about doing something on a public road, but come on...cars own bikes through most twisties! Were it after DECA I'd come along but too much attention needs to be payed to car, bike shall be neglected :(

Lol it comes down to the rider really, like I'm sure I'd have trouble keeping up with the good riders I'll probably end up behind the cars! lol I thought Deca was in June?

lol... my Hyosung 250 kicked arse off the line over a worked R33 GTS-T... bikes usually win, for an explainable reason. Although there are a few slow riders out there *dangerous*. We can show you on the cruise :rofl:

I'm up for it, will get the boy along too if he's keen.

Well I'm in respectful disagreement here because, particularly if all things are equal with regards to straight line performance, four wheels in the corners are better than two. Racetrack lap records show this. That said, it has much more to do with the rider/driver than the vehicle.

Bikes are faster when you can take narrow racing lines...you don't have that advantage on sharp corners/elbows like Mountain Highway heading up to Sassafras. And if the road is bumpy or laden with crap...not cool.

DECA is in June and it's hard enough organising myself for something a month ahead lol. Bike is in severe need of servicing / replaceables. Would love to come though.

Well I'm in respectful disagreement here because, particularly if all things are equal with regards to straight line performance, four wheels in the corners are better than two. Racetrack lap records show this. That said, it has much more to do with the rider/driver than the vehicle.

Bikes are faster when you can take narrow racing lines...you don't have that advantage on sharp corners/elbows like Mountain Highway heading up to Sassafras. And if the road is bumpy or laden with crap...not cool.

DECA is in June and it's hard enough organising myself for something a month ahead lol. Bike is in severe need of servicing / replaceables. Would love to come though.

I have to agree with birds, you have to take corners A LOT slower with bikes and it's definitely a big jump in driver/rider comparison also one mistake on a bike best you can hope for is fearing damage, with a car you still can get a way with just spinning out. So I think in that sense bikers are more cautious as well. Oh well hopefully this picks up a bet more momentum but I think I'll post this on another forum like Vic Imports, screw NS lol

It's unbelievable watching the superbikes and how much guts those guys have. It's almost inhuman how fast they are at changing direction and their perfect racing lines! But anyway, this is a bike cruise so cars at the back regardless I say :rofl:

Hmmm might look at hiring a bike for this day...then I wouldn't have to f*** around with mine.

I'd like to test your theory on bikes vs cars... The way I see it the bikes can brake far later and accelerate much quicker since they are lighter and have the power to weight ratio advantage. So even if you go through the corner slower on a bike they still are slow for a shorter amount of time. And we all know that in a tight corner the speed through it doesn't make a big difference compared to a wide corner that can make you seconds of time compared to milliseconds.

Maybe you should come in a car Birds and we can test it out (in a friendly way) I am geniunely interested :thumbsup:

I'd like to test your theory on bikes vs cars... The way I see it the bikes can brake far later and accelerate much quicker since they are lighter and have the power to weight ratio advantage. So even if you go through the corner slower on a bike they still are slow for a shorter amount of time. And we all know that in a tight corner the speed through it doesn't make a big difference compared to a wide corner that can make you seconds of time compared to milliseconds.

Maybe you should come in a car Birds and we can test it out (in a friendly way) I am geniunely interested :thumbsup:

Hahahah oooooooo I think that is a challenge Birds!

Taking ALL BETS, ALL BETS!!! Come one, come all to the race of the CENTURY!! Will this pretty young challenger hold up against this dashing lad? Who will win? Our new member on her Hyosung 250 or against our own flesh and blood Club Executive with his Beasty TURBO CHARGED R33!??? Weight vs Power, Stability vs Control, Broad vs Bloke???? That's right only here will you see such excitement, such amazement and experience such an adrenaline rush next weekend ONLY!!!! Don't miss out next Saturday where Birds will be defending his title and honor ONLY AT BLACK SPUR!!!!

*Or any other place at the decision of the club members, terms and conditions apply, please read the PDS available to make sure this event is right for you*

BE THERE!

CHARLI VS. BIRDS!!!!!!!

EDIT: Also as someone from VIC imports pointed out I stuffed the dates up Saturday is on the 22nd not the 21st, sorry!

LOL @ spruiking. You've been listening to too many insurance advertisements James!

I too am interested in finding this out, but we probably won't prove anything no matter who is right on the day. Charli regularly rides around a track, her bike is significantly faster in a straight line than my car...insert a thousand more excuses like this...haha. Also, if it means I have to "race" against Charli, and have nothing to gain even if I do win (nya nya, you got beaten by a girl etc. OR you won against a girl, so what? [no offence Charlie but this is how male playground logic works]), then I withdraw my opinion from this thread and concede Charli's viewpoint as tried and true :(

SO BACK TO THE BIKE CRUISE YOU WERE ORGANISING JAMES...come on guys, where the bikes at? We had heaps of riders in the other thread.

Anyway, what's with all the exclusive mini-cruises? First the girl-only cruise, and now this? Charlie would be the only one who could go to both :(

What is this? Minority cruise week? Soon we'll be having Asian-only cruises... oh snap!

lol Phatboy, it's great having all access :blink:

Birds, hehehe you just conceded my point as tried and true in that last post! Haha, nah I really am just being friendly, I just want to get out and ride! You can race against my partner if you want... he's a guy if it makes it easier, but is probably twice as fast as me :sick:

ps James I'll be riding a Gixxer Thou, the 250 is long gone :D And I'm up for the Black Spur,fond memories of that place as it's where I first got my pucks on the bitumen!