Got A Question About Cops, The Law, And Criminals/druggies

So sunday i went into work right, and turns out we have been having some issues with the next door residents who are renting near the office. They keep parking in our private carpark at night, and a few times even scratched a couple of my collegue's cars. So one of the girls working, decided to park across 2 spots, and they left a very very nasty note - basically calling her a c**t and being abusive on the note.

So the sales manager left a well worded note saying that this is a private carpark, and that we would appreciate them not parking over night etc. So these guys basically put the note back on the sales managers car. This tennis match happened a few times, until the trouble makers had to go somewhere - so the sales manager told one of the sales consultants to park the work ute across the 2 parking spots (when the trouble makers left). As they were leaving, the guy looked directly at me (as my desk is near hte window, and mouthed some words).

Anywho, they came back, found that their park was taken, and parked their car a few spaces down. So after the team leaves, i decide to work late - as I had reporting due etc. Went to the toilet, and on the way back i noticed that the guy was waiting outside. Now, these guys deal drugs etc - so i thought he was waiting to do a deal. An hour later he was there still.

So i messaged my project director online - and asked her if there has been any trouble and that this guy is just loitering outside the office. She said he will probably go back in soon, but to leave when i can. I wait for a bit - and then decide that he wasnt waiting for me etc. Called my gf, and told her i will meet her at home (as she was going to bring dinner to me). I pack up my stuff, and decide to call the PD again, so that i can atleast talk to her while i get out - and she knwos that im safe. As I am locking the doors, i see out of the corner of my eye that this dude is now walking towards me - so i tell the PD "shit, he is coming towards me" - i turn around and keep talking to her, but also say hi to him. He doesnt say anythign back...until he is literally 1 meter away from me. Tells me to hang up the fone - which i did - cos he had this crazy ass look in his eyes.

As soon as I did that, he pretty much unleashed a verbal assault - threats on me, the office, staff etc. He is pretty much 2 or 3 times the size of me, and doesnt look like he has a brain, but he obviously was involved in some nasty shit, as he was saying the cops know him for 25 years and know not to "F**k" with him. Basically he said if i didnt move the work ute, that there is going to be consequences, and that he will start a war. That if i went to hte cops he will start a war - and that he is not afraid to harm us. And actually, for the first time in my life, i actually felt that my own life was in danger......

I have dealt with angry people before, and almost always i am able to calm them down by talking to them, empathising and showing them that i am not against them but to reason with them. This guy was not like that - i felt that one wrong word (i.e if i said this is a private car park) - i would have been on the floor - and he most probably was carrying a weapon too.

Anywho, what seemed like 30 mins was actually 6 mins - and for the whole time, this guy was just going nuts, threats and all that bs. The PD called back and she could hear that i was shaken - i told her that he threatned not only me but the office and everything and everyone else in it. But i told her also, that not to call the cops, as that would mean that the whole staff maybe in danger - based on how the law is this guy would be back after getting a fine.

It was actually so bad that i had nightmares about the whole incident that night!

From the office perspectives, we are now installing cameras, hiring security guards, and no one is to remain alone till late - absolute max is 7.30pm.

My question is, why the hell is someone who is a criminal and is still actively dealing drugs (our sales staff has seen him deal with people) - why is this person still free? I could have gotten the cops to escort me out of the office that night, but now i know that tha twould have just ended up very badly - as this guy has no regard for the law. Worse of all - my gf would have come to give me dinner, and this guy would have been outside.

See it kind of worries me that the law is not workign - and that the cops are powerless to proceed with enforcing the full extent of the law. My gf who lived in the USA for many years, said the same thing that the sales manager said when she visited the usa - that ppl are actually scared of the cops there, because the cops are allowed to use the full force of the law. So why is it that here its different?

And finally - what do you all think i should do - should i report this to the cops and start a "war"? Or should i just let this go, knowing now that there are no issues?

Granted i shouldnt be working weekends etc, but maaaaaaaaaaaaaan was an interesting weekend i tells ya!!!! And this was all over parkign in a private car park :thumbsup:

• Replies 84

i say about 50 of us sau guys should rock up 1 night and kick his ass... i for one believe in standing up for whats right, even if your the little man dont let no one take you down. remember, the bigger they are the harder they fall :thumbsup: On a serious note. call the cops he would of been just making up some of the shyt to scare you.

Can you get them dealing on the camera's? If so, that will help out the police. The carparking issue is one for the landlord to sort out, but they never will.

well yeah, the cameras are being installed for both staff and public safety - a lot of drug deals go down at night time not only by this guy, but other ppl too.....and the lake behind the office having no lights, makes it just ideal for it to take place.

i say about 50 of us sau guys should rock up 1 night and kick his ass... i for one believe in standing up for whats right, even if your the little man dont let no one take you down. remember, the bigger they are the harder they fall :thumbsup: On a serious note. call the cops he would of been just making up some of the shyt to scare you.

yes, if there was more ppl with me, it wouldnt be that bad - but for comparison purposes - im 5ft 6, 72kg, and havent been training due to study and work, and a bad shoulder - so am in bad shape already. he is probably about 45ish, but about 6ft, and about 100kg - and he was ready to have a go......no one is crazy enough to wait out in the cold wearing nothing but a singlet....

but we will see, i will check with the office manager and see whats happening with the cctv, and then speak to the PD again

edit: bad shoulder = cant punch, its quite weak at the moment - not that i would have anyway - knowing this guy is a criminal

On a serious note. call the cops he would of been just making up some of the shyt to scare you.

Would have to agree with this comment 100% :thumbsup:

Other thing you could do is get some sensor activated high intensity flood lights installed there so that every time they tried to do something shifty near your car parks it would be lit up like the MCG. They would soon find another place away from you to conduct their business. Also display the CCTV warning signage. If it doesn't scare them off, it will scare their customers off.

Really, why are these people out walking free?

The police here probably won't do shit, seeing how many stabbings and beatings are occuring, it was good that you didn't engage him or you'd be either dead or badly injured right now.

Now if this fag gets put in prison and is killed, i'd cheer.

mate its tough i may picture the situation different then how u saw it but i'd tell him to f*ck off stay out of your/and your works way and you'll stay out of his. tell him next time he parks his car there it'll get towed. tell him if he doesn't like it you'll go to the cops.

crying wolf and reporting things to police straight up without giving these f*cktards at least a chance may make the situation worse.. i would handblall it to your boss as the end of day its his problem to keep ur workplace safe..

just play that music they play at train stations that keep the junkies away. Or that fog light sensors idea sounds good like the above guy mentioned. Either way do what ever you possible can..dont let him win..dont let him think he can walk all over yous..

Can you summarise?

That is far to long to read :thumbsup:

1 word - delfin :)

1 line - guy gets mad over parking spot cos office wanted him to move his car, waits for me cos i was the last person, threatens me, office, staff etc - is a drug dealer and criminal - was ready to kick my ass right then and there, but by some grace of god, im alive.

call cops? or not worth it?

just play that music they play at train stations that keep the junkies away. Or that fog light sensors idea sounds good like the above guy mentioned. Either way do what ever you possible can..dont let him win..dont let him think he can walk all over yous..

I will mention this - lights especially at the back, that would be good - and i will get the pd to put a complaint so that they have this on file.

Yep, the music works as well. And as one of the other members said above, at the end of the day it's your bosses responsability to ensure a safe workplace. All he needs to do is create an enviroment that these guys don't feel comfortable in and they will find somewhere else to do what they do. Lighting, Cameras, Music and anything else you can think of is only going to help you guys out with this situation.

i would handblall it to your boss as the end of day its his problem to keep ur workplace safe..

BINGO...

And my 2 cents.

This guy sounds like a want a be..To much Underbelly..

I would call his bluff and if he fronted you again i would belt the kent.

Sounds like a pretty unfortunate incident, for the best part, it elucidates the flaws in our 'lenient' legal system.

This individual assaulted you, therefore you should report it to the police and pursue the matter. He may threaten to start a war,

but a few visits from the police usually calm such people down. While he may appear to have scant regard for the law, being a dealer

and all, unwanted police attention is the last thing he needs. The worst thing you can do is let him believe that he has yourself and other

office staff fearful.

The new security measures are a good step, beyond that, make sure you report the matter to the police, particular any escalations. Try to record

any future conversations on your phone and finally, have the vehicle towed for being parked on private property against your will.

Yes the law sucks, but if you learn to use it to your advantage you can at least get by....

BINGO...

And my 2 cents.

This guy sounds like a want a be..To much Underbelly..

I would call his bluff and if he fronted you again i would belt the kent.

hey wayne - you live in berwick - this happened at lakeside pakenham :thumbsup:

just heard today that another resident was taken to jail too...and so his partner couldnt pay rent

what a nice estate lakeside is becoming!

I will mention this - lights especially at the back, that would be good - and i will get the pd to put a complaint so that they have this on file.

lights wont work, he will just break them. also if he is on drugs himself he will be very unstable and could easily snap and im sure he will have a knife on him also. i dont want to scare you even more but i also dont want to read about a drug f%ck stabbing someone either.

what you have to remember is this guys brain is shit, he is just a loose wire looking for trouble, ive seen it plenty of times. im usually good at picking out the ones that talk shit and are just acting tuff, so i have a couple questions, first one when he was yelling and screaming was he looking right at you? and if he was what part of you was he looking at? also how close was he to you when he was going crazy? and what was he doing with his hands? were they clenched fists or was he just waving his arms everywhere? also did he seem like he had a weapon on him like was he going in his pockets all the time or anything like that?

Really, why are these people out walking free?

The police here probably won't do shit, seeing how many stabbings and beatings are occuring, it was good that you didn't engage him or you'd be either dead or badly injured right now.

Now if this fag gets put in prison and is killed, i'd cheer.

I completely agree with you about the cheering when these f**kers die. I have spoken to friends who are cops and they reckon theres so much paperwork, red tape and hand holding going on, their hands are tied when they want to catch real criminals. Dare I start sounding like a broken record but the Government has no trouble taking away our rights to a trial with a jury of our peers and innocent until proven guilty as long as its a motoring related offence. But when were talking about hardened criminals its a completely different story.

My brother got off with community service for an armed robbery, The guy before in the court got off with community service for assault with a deadly weapon and armed robbery. Its totally f**ked up, even when the cops do their jobs absolutely perfectly, these judges hear these hard luck cases and throw them back on the street to reoffend. I admire the patience of people in law enforcement seeing violent crimals they fought so hard to catch just walk free, I couldnt do that for a living and i'm sure many of us couldnt. (no wonder cops are in such a shitty mood sometimes)

In some places i'm beginning to think a fire arm is necessary to defend ones self, especially considering most people who get attacked these days are attacked by groups of people as opposed to a single person.

And Matt well played going the non violent road, its always better to walk away to fight another day when the odds are stacked against you.

lights wont work, he will just break them. also if he is on drugs himself he will be very unstable and could easily snap and im sure he will have a knife on him also. i dont want to scare you even more but i also dont want to read about a drug f%ck stabbing someone either.

what you have to remember is this guys brain is shit, he is just a loose wire looking for trouble, ive seen it plenty of times. im usually good at picking out the ones that talk shit and are just acting tuff, so i have a couple questions, first one when he was yelling and screaming was he looking right at you? and if he was what part of you was he looking at? also how close was he to you when he was going crazy? and what was he doing with his hands? were they clenched fists or was he just waving his arms everywhere? also did he seem like he had a weapon on him like was he going in his pockets all the time or anything like that?

To answer your questions:

1) he was looking right at me - into my eyes

2) he was about a meter or so in front of me

3) one of his hands were clenched, the other one was waving

4) he might have been carrying something - my intuition was telling me to becareful as i felt he was carrying something

his terror methods did work though - i felt that it was my duty to ensure that the work ute was safe etc - so i moved it. dont ask me why i did that, but yeah, i decided to just mellow this guy down by doing what he wanted

edit - the PD told me i can take a few days off for stress, but i told her, im not letting anyone stop me from doing my job......havent seen the guy since, but his gf parks her car in the car park still. He doesnt park his van there anymore - parks it out in the street now.