Got A Question About Cops, The Law, And Criminals/druggies

• Replies 84

Bingo. Hulls is a dead set wanker.

As a law student, i'm unfortunately immersed in this same 'softly softly' culture and approach to punishment. When people like Lex Lasry are put on the bench of the Vic Supreme Court you just know something isn't right.

OP, any updates on this issue? Have you or your boss spoken to the police?

Update on the issue is that, work is sending me to counselling tomorrow as I havent been able to sleep well. The OHS manager told me i had to go and no buts about it. He held a meeting with myself and the sales manager, as technically we should have reported the issues to him when they first put the note on our collegues car (where they called her a c**t). Even without then, we should have reported it on the monday, but i guess having my life threatened I didnt want to risk the staff either. I told the OHS manager that I apologise for not speaking up sooner but also that i had to keep in mind for any repercussions on a wider level.

Seems that he and a local cop did a drive around the estate a week ago - so had we told them about the note, they could have upped the surveillance. I think he had a chat to the project director, but not sure whats happening with the cops as I wasnt called up to go with them - but i am sure it will be fine, because he has the contact (the cop that he went with around the estate) as well as his own brother, who has been a cop/detective for 20 odd years. So in that sense it is good, and we feel safer at work.

As for the building - we are now installing security cameras, hiring security guard to man the building at night - as well as putting a early leave time so that all staff is safe.

For me - I am going to be getting back into the gym as well as joining either the Fighters Factory and train with Murray Thomson or with other professional boxers or an MMA training studio (WLDCRD mentioned it - so thank you for that dude) - to get some fitness and self defense into me - because this thing has opened my eyes a lot. Obviously first thing is to talk down the person and calm them down - but if they attack i need to be able to protect not only myself but also other people around me (i.e my gf, family, friends, even our dogs etc). Dont want to fight no one, but yeah, this incident has opened my eyes - and when I have kids I will also make sure they are able to protect themselves.

I still havent told my family as such about this - just seeing my gf worried was enough for me to decide not to tell them.

oh yeah, the broken glass doors has also been changed. Its unfortunate that it had to come to this, but i guess some people are just too messed up to even think straight.......

edit: got a mail yesterday from the government that 1600 more cops are going to be on the front line....im like "GREAT!!! Where were u guys on sunday and tuesday night!" - but it wasnt their fault as i didnt call for back up :P

Good to know things are getting better.

But these people need to be off the streets, another 1600 police personnel sounds good, but lets hope there will be none of these 1600 personnel allocated to the TMU. What we want are police people on the ground doing patrols and nabbing the real criminals.

Good to know things are getting better.

But these people need to be off the streets, another 1600 police personnel sounds good, but lets hope there will be none of these 1600 personnel allocated to the TMU. What we want are police people on the ground doing patrols and nabbing the real criminals.

yeah things are getting better - def - but yeah, might see if maybe i need a few days off work to chill and get back to normal lifestyle too. And OHS told me to leave at 5pm on the dot so that I dont have any issues from the dude.

And yes, i hope too that the police numbers are more for keeping the peace instead of TMU - i think there are enough for TMU to keep the peace on the roads.

Bloody shame that kids have to grow up in this world where drugs n alcohol have turned so many people into mindless shitbags with no respect for authority or life in general. Got belted by some fags a while ago, knew who they were n knew that fighting back would have landed me with several stab wounds n cops would have done nothing since stabbing people seems to be a weekly hobby for guys like these.

So keeping calm with this guy was the smart thing to do. In the end u walked away unharmed which is the important thing. Hopefully he can be identified n stung for something n hopefully will spend the next few years in jail being bashed n raped. Karma always gets scumbags like that in the end. The best sorta karma IMO would be seeing him get hit by a bus or drunkenly face planting on a plank of nails

When I was mugged in Frankston I rang the police and it took about... 10 minutes for them to arrive? Keep in mind the cop shop is like... 300 meters away and it was like 1pm on a weekday. When he arrived we drove around a bit until we located the muggers, the cop radioed for back up and within literally 60 seconds the entire street was full of police. Must've been at least 6 vehicles, and more arrived later.

I understand wanting to protect their own, but I was little disappointed in how long it took them to react to a 000 call when there were dozens of cops just moments away.

why not just walk/run down there? and 10 minutes for what sounds like a not serious/life threatening situation.. id say you did well they drove around found the fkrs and did something about it.. pretty good result considering it sounds like a regular jumping?

of course the above may not apply if you left parts of the story out.

ps. if you where mugged why didnt they take ya mobile?

fk that was quick.

was just hanging around...

And pepper spray isn't really that viable, are you gonna be holding on to pepper spray all the time? How long does it take to reach into your bag and grab the canister? Too long mate, by the time you can get it out, you're on the ground.

why not just walk/run down there? and 10 minutes for what sounds like a not serious/life threatening situation.. id say you did well they drove around found the fkrs and did something about it.. pretty good result considering it sounds like a regular jumping?

of course the above may not apply if you left parts of the story out.

ps. if you where mugged why didnt they take ya mobile?

Three junkies threatening to stab you isn't life threatening? They tried grabbed my iPod out of my hand as I walked past them I held for a bit and that's when the threats started. It wasn't until they walked away with it that they realized it was an iPod not my phone (which was in my pocket). This happened in broad daylight outside Frankston's busy train station in front of maybe 50 people, so I doubt they wanted to stick around.

I waited because they told me to on the phone, if I knew it'd take that long I might've run there, but then again they junkies went in that direction too.

They were pretty stupid, I mean, mugging me in daylight, and then just sitting down around the corner with my ipod in their hands. Cops were thrilled though, they knew these guys by name (typical methodine train station junkies) and had been looking for an excuse to bust them.

Emsta, I still cannot work out what the next door neighbour is running, is it the Cafe?

I will make sure people bycott the place if so, close the f**ker down!

It is a joke that the cops cannot make more of a presence, they are two streets away from your work.

Other thing you could do is get some sensor activated high intensity flood lights installed there so that every time they tried to do something shifty near your car parks it would be lit up like the MCG. They would soon find another place away from you to conduct their business. Also display the CCTV warning signage. If it doesn't scare them off, it will scare their customers off.

I was thinking this too, as darkness is a crim's best friend.

... otherwise, a mate dressed up for pizza delivery with warfarin sprinkle (aka ratsak) across the top will go down well.

Call it "Supreme"

Hey wheezy - its not the cafe - its the houses on the other side. This guys house is the second one from our office

but on another note, we have been trying to get rid of the cafe too - the owner is a d!ck :(

Emsta, I still cannot work out what the next door neighbour is running, is it the Cafe?

I will make sure people bycott the place if so, close the f**ker down!

It is a joke that the cops cannot make more of a presence, they are two streets away from your work.

So we cannot identify the race of people who're being idiots now? Thats being racist?

correct, your catching on

to do so would be implying every single person of that race is being an 'idiot' which is never the case

to generalize about a whole group of people based upon a few members actions is idiotic... just like you don't enjoy getting called a hoon because you drive a skyline

EMSTA if it makes you feel any better the fact they waited for everyone to leave to break a window makes them cowards... people who threaten and try to intimidate are usually the ones who can't back it up (no matter how big/angry he looked)

its like sharks... never worry about the ones you can see, its the one you can't see that will get you lol... I'm probably not helping hey;)

Hey wheezy - its not the cafe - its the houses on the other side. This guys house is the second one from our office

but on another note, we have been trying to get rid of the cafe too - the owner is a d!ck :banana:

Ah I see.

Great to see my neighbours are drug dealers :(