Transferring Rego To Sa Plates: Difficulties?

Spark911

I purchased an R33 GTR from Vic and brought it back to SA a year or so ago.

See my thread for the story: http://www.skylinesaustralia.com/forums/In...-T-t267077.html

Remember it's an "ID inspection". Very different from say a defect inspection or import where everything needs to be stock. They basically just match the VIN, engine & reg details. An inspector looks over the car for about 5 minutes and he didn't even look in the cabin.

doesnt sound like any of the id checks ive ever had or any of my mated and we have brought a few cars from interstate both in our names and not and its the same thing everytime, we go to the id check station and even tho we have the vin stamped on the firewall and on plates aswell they still make us stamp it on the strut tower, also every time any of us have gone for an id check we get a full defect check hoist and all ive never been out of there in less than an hour.

it all comes down to how prepared you are if you take it back to stock, clean it up and go in there looking respectable your looked apon better and they are more likley to go easy on you. (also act like you dont know much about cars and try to ask them questions, it seems to make them feel good lol)

good luck

Why did you have to have the vin stamped on ? Did you have a sticker vin instead of a plate ?

vin was on a plate on the firewall and not stamped anywhere the place across the car park from them stamps them while you wait the inspector came and checked it and done.

hey

the sturt id check station has closed so its either regency or lonsdale.

I just took my R34 to Lonsdale to get id check all they did was check the engine/chassis number they didnt look over my car at all!but its such a hard situation coz id inspecters are different!My friend took his R33 gtr to regency for id check and had it up on the hoist and it got defected for oil leaks plus other stuff!the Lonsdale id inspection does have hoists so i would be careful its almost better to put car back to standard to risk not getting a defect goodluck

cheers for all the advice guys! Booked in in two weeks :S ebc/timer/all that gear is coming out this weekend - standard zorst n airbox being put back on :whistling: lol..

Would it be a good idea to bring the old man? instead of rocking up by myself - im 20 but i could be 17 ha

And is there any preference to WHICH station is better ie; get me through no dramas?

Regency?

Lonsdale?

cheers for all the advice guys! Booked in in two weeks :S ebc/timer/all that gear is coming out this weekend - standard zorst n airbox being put back on :bunny: lol..

Would it be a good idea to bring the old man? instead of rocking up by myself - im 20 but i could be 17 ha

And is there any preference to WHICH station is better ie; get me through no dramas?

Regency?

Lonsdale?

bringing the old man along is always a good idea if your young, its not that one station is better than the other its just if you get an inspector on a bad day but aslong as your car is clean and stock and your polite there should be no worries. good luck with the inspection

I'm doing the same sort of thing, just having a Vin ID check.

Do you reckon these will be an issue? Am i best just replacing these with good tires or finding some others to borrow.

DSC08717.jpg

Cant see a thing Marc, no visible tread in the pic, and doesnt show offset of rim either.

I have this other image, but i was referencing more the tire stretch than the actual tread left (but the later is a good point).

DSC08696.jpg

They'll more likely pick on something too loud, too low, shiney obvious defects in engine bay, gauges all over the dash etc....

I went in ID inspection with coilovers no problems... but they came off anyway because I need to go through regency Vehicle Inspections for something else.

Hey mate, if your just transferring plates, all you need is a Vehicle identification check, they just check if the VIN matches up with engine number and all, and check for aftermarket electronics like powerfc hand controller or turbo timers so just make sure you dont have obvious mods.

when i brought my r34 from NSW over, passed inspection easy with no problems and i had minor mods so yeah just make sure you dont get sent to regency for a full inspection.

Thanks heaps for all your help guys - just came out of the ID Station about half hour ago, on a massive high!!! :P Got thru by the SKIN OF MY TEETH...

- Tint was WAY too dark

- Xenon headlights arent legal

- Zorst and front mount were still crankin

ONLY reason i didnt get stung in the ass is because the inspector i had used to be in the RAAF...I went down there in my uniform and he said the only reason he was letting me off was that im a defence member.. lucky :S

Goodluck to anyone else going thru there!

Perry

Do u need to make an appointment to do an ID check or just rock up ?

I have to go through this process in the next 2 weeks. From what I read and asked i just gotta hide my TT (turbo timer) and i should be good, expect Xenon's maybe a hit and miss.

Blazk: No need to make an appointment you just rock up and you don't pay until you rego the car. And if you dont get through on the first time it doesnt cost money to try again. Just bring your drivers license.

I just took my stock V35 through.. i got done for the wheels being 15mm too big.. so had to go and grab new tyres.. I then also got done for 3rd brake light not working and i rebuilt it.

And i got through.. had the stock Xenon's.

The guys down at regency ID inspections are useless.

Took the V35 down there after picking it up from the yard, failed it because child restraints weren't in the centre of the seat.

Looked up the ADR's on this and they are allowed to be 20degrees off centre.

http://www.comlaw.gov.au/ComLaw/Legislatio...43?OpenDocument

Sigh, looks like I'll be taking another day off work and printing out the ADR's for them, hopefully they are literate

He stated that my xenon headlights are illegal - defect to be rectified

My door windows were too dark - TINTING was too dark, he didnt know about privacy glass

Exhaust system and front mount intercooler were still in place on the car

legible?

tint too dark, was it actual tint or did he mean the privacy glass?

xenons or r34's are illegal.

zorst and front mount were crankin?

He stated that my xenon headlights are illegal - defect to be rectified

My door windows were too dark - TINTING was too dark, he didnt know about privacy glass

Exhaust system and front mount intercooler were still in place on the car

legible?

How much does it cost to make Xenons legal ?

Convert to non-xenon - talk to a compliance shop.

There are cheaper ways (see the defect thread for more tips) - but that's the proper way.