Lads,

"Kris" busted my balls a couple times to do a build thread, a recent "where are they now?" thread on NS plus me being abit bored = ceffy members thread.

Short history:

Car was imported and was driven reasonably hard by softy and A31cefiro, copping a few hits,upgrades and paint jobs along the way.

Sort of knew softy years ago when he lived in Melbourne, was chatting to him one day and he proposed a price and said "bring ya towcar and trailer"

Price was decent, knowing the car needed some work I pulled the cash outta the bank and organised patricks autocare to pick the ceff up from his old mans work.

Car arrived, I slapped it together (turbo plus a few other things needed putting back on) then street skidded it.

Not long after, Organised rego (cheers phil!!) got a rwc for it, did more drift.

Got into abit of carnage and got slammed by another driftcar, resulting in front drivers qaurter damage.

Drove it with the damage for abit, more skids then got defected, yay.

Took it off the road, did rb25 and matching box convo, some more skids, had a few bugs to sort out, slowly sorted them out and then leaned out no 6 cyl, killing the 25.

Off the road again for motor and maintence.

Currently how it sits:

dsc00642p.jpg

SPECS:

Bodywork:

vespa blue with gold pearl

flaired gaurds

series 1 rear bar

series 2 front bar with lip

"square" headlights (f**kin candles they are)

chrome grill

Wheels:

Bronze CST 17x9.5 +15 all round, 215/45 fedrals up front, whatever 235/45 rears.

Skidders: 17x9 +20 PIAA x4, 17x9 +17 and 17x8 +30 P1's

Suspension and brakes:

old as the hills JIC front coilovers

Captital D rear coilovers,

toe and camber arms, S14 front Lca's, s14 rack

strut braces

R32 GTR front brakes, rebuild calipers, aftermarket pads

Ceff rear brakes redrilled to 5 stud (going to r32gtst soon as i find a cheap enough setup forsale)

Interior:

old eastbear fixed back for drivers

r33 gtst passenger seat

unknown velour rear seat

full cage

momo ferrari edition steering wheel

omori gauges

Driveline:

R33 box,

NPC clutch with billet flywheel

Unknown ratio and brand 2 way Lsd

Motor:

(still not finished assembling the damn thing)

RB30det using a r33 RB25 head.

Mahle pistons

Spool rods

Crank grubscrewed

Block linebored and decked, bored to suit pistons, restrictors fitted

N1 oil pump with JPC gears

Ross balancer

VCT deleted

272 8.8mm lift cams with gears

reco head

rb20 front timing covers

IHI C7 turbo on a highmount trust manifold, trust wastegate.

740cc injectors

ebay copy greedy inlet

q45 throttle body

z32 AFM

Theres heaps of other stuff ive probably forgotten, will update as I change / fix stuff.

Will get some pics up of how it looked over the years aswell as some motor building pics.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/324855-street-bomb-a31/

• Replies 73

As the Rb30 motor sits, picking up the head from the machinists tomorrow.

dsc00683q.jpg

Just after It got smashed up, destroyed a gaurd, headlight, corner light and the rad support.

Abit pig looking, but still plenty of skids were done.

image038o.jpg

Will get a few more pics when I find em.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/324855-street-bomb-a31/#findComment-5298690

Vpw's shipment of ARP fastners got delayed, so it slowed motor build.

Ended up getting some headstuds off US ebay, hoping they arrived today, but nup.

Will get some more pics of the car next time im at my mates place (car is there, motor is at the old mans haha)

Only ceff related thing I have at home is the turbo.

Pic just for kris, other turbo is a 2871r.

Power figure? Who knows, 30psi should make things interesting.

dsc00685o.jpg

Edited by works 510
https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/324855-street-bomb-a31/#findComment-5312700

Tensioner stud can be seen above the water pump in the above motor pic,

downloaded the "rb30det how to" guide located in the rb30 section but moved the stud 2mm to the left than what it says in the guide.

Also running two rb30e tensioners, price is cheaper plus a better final belt tension can be had.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/324855-street-bomb-a31/#findComment-5314485

Still no headstuds..... but picked up this last night:

redtop rb20.

Disregard those yellow rocker covers, just on there to keep water out.

dsc00688p.jpg

Used this motor to grab most of the timing bits I need for my rb25/30's non-vct conversion

(Im using a R33 head, Ive done the internal vct supply mod and grubscrewed the oil gallery insted of welding it shut, just incase I want to run Vct again)

Some goodies include "RB20" embossed front timing cover :D

dsc00687wx.jpg

If anyone needs any redtop parts let me know ;)

Inlet cam is 248dur, small upgrade for silver top Rb20's. $50 and its yours :rofl2:

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/324855-street-bomb-a31/#findComment-5320901

CST's are about 1600$ for a set, theyre becoming the new drifttek hahah

Heads on, have to get timing spot on yet and dial cams in.

Tried to mock up the inlet manifold up to the head, mounting holes dont line up :S

So its either modify again, or just buy a greddy manifold.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/324855-street-bomb-a31/#findComment-5326222

Still need to sort out some accessorys, coolant lines under the inlet manifold, fittings for turbo lines, and workout what to do with the vct/front oil drain line as the rb30 block has no threaded hole for it.

Most of the work is done tho,

dsc00692jk.jpg

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/324855-street-bomb-a31/#findComment-5336222

motor is sitting on its mounts and its not going to fit under the bonnet without some mods.

First problem:

swaybar fowling the sump.

Worked out I have a s13 swaybar in it, and these touch the sump.

Scored a stock ceffy swaybar for $20 last nite, cant access the car today so I'll bolt it up tomorrow.

2)

greddy style inlet manifold hits the clutch master.

Either a R34 one will be used, or hopefully the engine mounts I make get the engine 20mm lower and under the clutch master.

Plan of attack for tomorrow arvo...

Bolt new swaybar up and inspect.

Re-measure sump to engine x-member clearance.

Whip motor out and pull the rb20 mounts off it.

bring them home and start making some mounts that will sit the motor lower in the bay.

Hopefully with lower mounts, the bracing trimmed from the bonnet and the rear of bonnet spaced up 10/15mm, the top timing cover and turbo will be under the bonnet.

Although having a hole in the bonnet for turbo and top timing cover, its not very practical for a street car, haha.

Also purchased a nistune RB20 ecu and some splitfire coilpacks for it last nite.

Pics to come.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/324855-street-bomb-a31/#findComment-5355727