M35 Custom Intercooler

Just finished fitting the new cooler before the tune tomorrow. It is a 76mm Greddy bar and plate I picked up cheap as it had a puncture in the end tank.

It was a great feeling running the band saw through it. :P Dimensions are now 220 x 600 x 76 and it only just fit.

I am using the alloy bar as a heat sink, not sure what the outcome will be but it certainly gets the core into the airflow and away from the trans/oil coolers.

post-63525-1279722859_thumb.jpg

post-63525-1279722937_thumb.jpg

post-63525-1279723689_thumb.jpg

post-63525-1279723714_thumb.jpg

post-63525-1279723810_thumb.jpg

post-63525-1279724383_thumb.jpg

Scott that looks awesome! good work!

I like how you removed that centre bit of plastic from the aero bar - I hate that bit!

Did you have to cut a lot of the bar away to fit that in?

Edited by bbenny

No, I didn't pressure test it as my compressor was hit by a car the other day. (dont ask) I went over every weld, just not sure about the core. Should be fine.

The only part of the bar I cut was a bit below the foggies for the pipes to clear.

The big test this morning taking the kids to school, hopefully no hoses blow off. :P

Are you chasing a bigger number tomorrow or just trying to get more low end power? Great job fitting that up. I have an old cooler under my house. But it's a 100mm thick so I think it's a wee bit big for the wagon!

That's the size I was going to go for but I didn't want to cut up a new one. 200mm would be a perfect fit but its getting a bit small for a 76mm, there's plenty of room for a 100mm thick cooler. You only need to weld the top of the tanks, not a big job.

Edit: Andy, if I was chasing big numbers there would be a GT3540 wedged in there somewhere. :P

Looks great Scotty. I don't normally like the lobster bends, but it's come up looking great.

I love the lobster. :P

They come up nicely as long as the angles aren't too steep. The inside is polished smooth as I go, pity the outside welds are a bit rough looking, they are strong though.

Edit: Andy, if I was chasing big numbers there would be a GT3540 wedged in there somewhere. :)

Driver's side of the engine and run it in a sequential setup with your current turbo? :thumbsup:

Cooler setup looks great from the pics mate, well done (too bad you couldn't fin that 100mm core huh?

Driver's side of the engine and run it in a sequential setup with your current turbo? :thumbsup:

Cooler setup looks great from the pics mate, well done (too bad you couldn't fin that 100mm core huh?

A Greddy cooler with piping, silicone and clamps for $150? I couldn't pass it up, especially as I am a Greddy fan. :)

All drives well but now it's too rich. Up and down like a yoyo. We will see what happens tonight.

Hey Scott,

What size is the in and out of the intercooler on M35's? Incase a cheapy pops up, I might hack into one!

I wouldn't bother mate, at least until you can tune for it. The stockie would be good for 200 anyway.

You would have to change all the piping as it is plastic and cant be joined. The 2 3/4 hdi kit would be the best option unless you take it somewhere for a custom job. I could do it but its a long drive. :)

hey champ

awesome work!

i have to get around to do this. but im frikin scared to start taking the car apart. wouldnt even know where to begin to dis assemble the front! but yea i HAVE to do it!

just out of curiosity, why did you stick with aluminium?

all the custom cooler setups ive made for people i used s/s...

from my knowledge, in terms of which is better.

s/s takes longer to heat up and cools down quicker than al... and gets more hotter than s/s with less heat

so the only thing i can think of UNLESS IM MISSING SOMETHING HUGE. is just weight?

it never made sense to me why ppl kept using al... (not trying to say your silly for doing it) just am i missing something?

also if your worried about holes in the pipe, i can get some dyepen from work..

its 2 cans and a 2step process.. spray the dye on the job, wait 15 mins.. wash it off. then you spray this penetrant and it bring sup any of the red dye of theres any pinholes!

more than happy to get ya a couple of cans for the future, we got heaps of them, let me know if you want some!

also since youve modded your exhaust... reckon theres room to rig up 2 sets of twins. 2 each side?

I just got back from RE, the turbo is definitely maxed now as the compressor cant supply enough air. He gained a heap of response by leaning the acceleration enrichment as it was dumping too much fuel.

Its very nice to drive now and even Cihan commented how well sorted it feels. He suggested a gt3076 .82 would be a better match for the mods and engine as it stands, im not sure the internals can handle the 340 odd it would then produce though.

post-63525-1279800502_thumb.jpg

I just got back from RE, the turbo is definitely maxed now as the compressor cant supply enough air. He gained a heap of response by leaning the acceleration enrichment as it was dumping too much fuel.

Its very nice to drive now and even Cihan commented how well sorted it feels. He suggested a gt3076 .82 would be a better match for the mods and engine as it stands, im not sure the internals can handle the 340 odd it would then produce though.

Nice work scott.

hey champ

awesome work!

i have to get around to do this. but im frikin scared to start taking the car apart. wouldnt even know where to begin to dis assemble the front! but yea i HAVE to do it!

just out of curiosity, why did you stick with aluminium?

all the custom cooler setups ive made for people i used s/s...

from my knowledge, in terms of which is better.

s/s takes longer to heat up and cools down quicker than al... and gets more hotter than s/s with less heat

so the only thing i can think of UNLESS IM MISSING SOMETHING HUGE. is just weight?

it never made sense to me why ppl kept using al... (not trying to say your silly for doing it) just am i missing something?

also if your worried about holes in the pipe, i can get some dyepen from work..

its 2 cans and a 2step process.. spray the dye on the job, wait 15 mins.. wash it off. then you spray this penetrant and it bring sup any of the red dye of theres any pinholes!

more than happy to get ya a couple of cans for the future, we got heaps of them, let me know if you want some!

also since youve modded your exhaust... reckon theres room to rig up 2 sets of twins. 2 each side?

I don't particularly like welding stainless as to make it light enough it would have to be 1mm (too hard to weld) and it would need purging to keep the inside smooth and oxide free. The alloy can remain thick and easy to weld with good penetration and a smooth internal surface, it is also a lot easier to sand and polish. Stainless wouldn't transfer the heat as well either, they don't make coolers out of it do they...

No room for twins as the atessa pump is on the other side where the muffler would go.

valid points. although i still undecided in terms of al vs ss lol

ahhh what to do what to do. !!!

i have to try and get the 2 sets of twins happening. theres a pic of a m35 on speedhunters with 2 twins! there must be a way. probably some stupid setup lol like the crx's you see with "twin exhausts" and when its cold only 1 zaust has condensation coming from it ahhaha

245 thats f**kin awesome power!