• Replies 55

^^ Heaps.

intercoolers aren't exactly very technology-intensive, unlike turbos for example. the justjap ones still have a decent core, they aren't the worst ones you can buy put it that way.

that said i have a blitz CS and love it :D

I bought a JJR tube and fin cooler for my R32 Gtr built motor etc and up when i was getting it tuned when we reached the 300rwkw range with upgraded turbos -9 twins, ecu, cams,exhaust ALL the bolt on mods it started getting inefficient on the dyno couldnt take the repeated dyno runs and cool properly anymore.

i changed to a Trust tube and fin core design ive got photos of these side by side with the JJR and DAMN the end tank swept design, angles everything the way it carries the air into the cooler also looked at it with a led light the internal fin design totally different the Trust had so much more tech inside the JJR looked like a water radiator internal design the air would just pass straight through quickly instead of maybe slightly slowing down that touch to cool or what not im not sure the fins had extra bits on them like extra heat sinks to carry heat away etc etc.

The Trust was so much more superior in all these aspects just looked like that it had the R&D and i gladly had paid for money for this.

Well back on the dyno getting it re tuned with the new cooler straight of the bat the car intake temps were completely different when repeatedly being pushed hard on the dyno.

This time i max the turbos out not the cooler efficiency.

Im no hardcore mechanic ive built a tough 362rwkw GTR slowly and ive tried my fair share of chinse parts. All i can say what ive said above is true i witnessed it and it may not be the case with someone else but god damn it cools way better and has been since the last 3 yrs.

Im not saying JJR coolers are bad in anyway this is my experience i had and i WILL stand by the jap products and this is also with any suspension components as well this is another story and boy the difference their is noticable as well.

All the best guys what ever works for you is great but i love the quality of the jap products and i didnt build my GTR with the scope of scimping on the parts that really count and cooling is major so i addressed it as best i thought possible.

cheers,

Dave

who knows probably not i guess the standard GTR coolers are good for at least 300rwkw ive been told but but unless you are able to meter it like dyno runs repeatadly and check intake temp readings and change who knows mine was coincidence as i bought the JJR cooler just because i had already upgraded everything else so this seemed logical to do.

Just so happened that the whole hot intake charge episode happened to me so i addressed this and lucky enough and more money later got it re tuned and Wallaa!!!, i was in the business car tuned and intake temps beautiful.

id say for power under this the JJR cooler should be fine no probs at all.

cheers,

Dave

Just curious, exactly how much does a PWR intercooler kit cost for a r33?
^^ Heaps.

intercoolers aren't exactly very technology-intensive, unlike turbos for example. the justjap ones still have a decent core, they aren't the worst ones you can buy put it that way.

that said i have a blitz CS and love it :domokun:

i paid 930 ish for a custom pwr

630x320x140

piping will be custom when the engine goes in.

i dont find this alot at all compared to some, i had an arc cooler on my s14 (when i bought it) and the seller said it was 2800 or something

coolers are actually quite technology intense although the basic priciples are air goes in and cools, down the design of the fins, bar, plate, end tanks, cooler piping etc is all very important when it comes to cooling charged air temps. if u have ever looked thru the end tanks of a jjr or saber (or any other china brand) then looked thru the tanks of a jap or other high end brand u will see the difference, when i get a chance i will show a pic from my pwr one and a saber one i have lieing around for ur comparison

Gun metal is actually quite true.

In saying that, If you were going to really pushing to get big numbers, its just sensible to put some decent cooler, not just a cheap china copy, as when you're pushing your motor, even the simplest of design flaws can magnify and really effect the performance.

When I was in the market for a fmic, I couldnt source a gtr one cheap enough, so ended up getting a HDi GT spec tube/fin one. Had it delivered to my door for around $450 NZD.

Its good to do alot of reasearch before you buy car parts - which is what you're doing - is great.

Edited by Ultimategtr
Gun metal is actually quite true.

In saying that, If you were going to really pushing to get big numbers, its just sensible to put some decent cooler, not just a cheap china copy, as when you're pushing your motor, even the simplest of design flaws can magnify and really effect the performance.

When I was in the market for a fmic, I couldnt source a gtr one cheap enough, so ended up getting a HDi GT spec tube/fin one. Had it delivered to my door for around $450 NZD.

Its good to do alot of reasearch before you buy car parts - which is what you're doing - is great.

Did I read that properly... "not just a cheap china copy" "so ended up getting a HDi GT spec tube/fin one"

Sorry mate, pretty sure HDI are made in China

Did I read that properly... "not just a cheap china copy" "so ended up getting a HDi GT spec tube/fin one"

Sorry mate, pretty sure HDI are made in China

hdi r hybrid copy's i believe from memory and they r piece of shit. wont take more than 280+.

i figure if ur going stock turbo then it doesnt really matter that much but if ur going after market turbo and stuff then definately go for a jap brand

hamish (joeyjoejoejunior....) runs a HDI.. and is making 300+rwkw. depends what the OP wants i guess

also, Julz.. is your facebook photo a pic of your car? lol i think i found you on a mate's bday event

yah buddy

white r34 with a carbon bonnet in a dimly lit garage with shit piled up 2 feet past my car...then yes add me if u like mate.

which mate is it??? lil george?

hdi r hybrid copy's i believe from memory and they r piece of shit. wont take more than 280+.

i figure if ur going stock turbo then it doesnt really matter that much but if ur going after market turbo and stuff then definately go for a jap brand

HDI is Hybrid (Hybrid Development International)

Furthermore, the bulk of the cheaper intercooler cores all come from the same factories and have proven time and time again that they can handle over 300rwkw, so in the interests of helping other members, lets not confuse your personal opinion, with facts here, because for most street/mild applications the cheaper intercoolers work just fine.

Edited by R33

Hey guys, im in the same boat, looking for a new front mount.

Im not chasing massive power so i was lookin at either the blitz se/cs or the greddy ls. Heard good things bout the blitz re value for money.

What u guys reckon?

http://www.nengun.com/search/#g:1;c:74;m:1;t:n:u