Does Anyone Know The History On This Car? Just Bought It

skylinessuck

Hi,

as the topic states i just bought this r34 gtt

http://www.carsales.com.au/all-cars/privat...id=125CC547A911

i currently drive a manual 4x4 but i've stuffed my shoulder and i'm getting pretty extensive surgery next week and require an auto car for 6months plus.......... so i hurriedly bought this because it seemed pretty straight and relatively unmodified + cheap!

the sell says it's never been modified besides the exhuast, although when i was inspecting it i noticed it had spitfire coilpacks which makes me pretty suspicious as i am unaware why you would upgrade the spark unless you were making big power with other mods @ some stage? is this common?

the car has had a respray at some stage, you can see where they masked it off on the door jams............. and possibly a little bingle in the front right. (little bit of crimping near the washer bottle and some other inconsistencies with rubber seals. but overall it looks really straight

the service history is patchy, the car has been serviced at RE autos although it had straight water in the cooling system and looked pretty neglected of late!!!! and the engine was rebuilt three years ago but he couldn't find the receipt at the time when i was inspecting it. he has since found it although i haven;t read what was done but it cost 3500 so i imagine it was pretty extensive.

anyways i've paid a depost although i haven;t made final payment as it's still getting work done to get the rwc, pretty much just want to know if anyone knows anything dodgey about this car b4 i make the final payment. the actual owner is overseas on a holiday and i had to buy it through the old man who didn't know the entire story

thanks heaps

(also don't get affended by my username, haha , i made this account years ago when i used to source parts for my s13 and i didn;t think much of skylines @ the time :) i'll get round to making a new aaccount one day!

OEM coilpacks can break down quite easily; so Splitfires as a replacement is perfectly fine.

I'd get it up on a hoist to check rails/ball joints/bushings/arms as well as seepage (due to possible bingle).

Service history OK? Major service should have been performed at 80,000Km (even if the odo is dodgy).

If you buy it, flush out the coolant in case Jap water is still in there creating corrosion.

PS you can change your user name quite easily

It sounds very sus, I guess the price reflects that.

The car has low km's yet it's had an engine rebuild...suggests it's had a hard life. No coolant only water and a patchy service history suggests it hasn't been serviced regularly. And $3500 buys you a very basic rebuild, nothing special.

If it was my money, I'd be walking away. Or buying the R34 GT-T I'm selling soon - see signature (not dodgy self-promotion, it's an honest car that's been well cared for.)

if you cant prove a rebuild with reciepts, it didnt exist

if you are car and its had some work done it (ie $3500 rebuild), surely you hang onto the reciepts to prove the work and cost $$$ to justify the higher sell price

I wouldn't worry about the Splitfire coil packs. Be glad that its one less thing you need to worry about changing "When It happens"

Id certainly be getting it checked out by a trusted mechanic. esp in relation to the potential crash damage you mentioned.

I would also try to give it as gooda test drive as possible. Testing the entire rev range to make sure it feels properly bolted together as well as testing its handling (within reason of course) to try and see if the crash damage as effected the handling at all.

Certainly put it through its paces to make sure you don't hand over the money then find in a months times that its falling apart around you leaving you with a massive repair bill.

Luke

who cares about his username??? he bought a skyline didnt he

goes to show how good the ppl are on here, if you signed up to NS with the user name silviassuck you would get banned before you hade a chance to post anything.

patterson lakes is not the seaford area, lots of suburbs in between.

And go HERE to change your username.

How many suburbs are between Seaford and Patterson Lakes? None at all they are right next to each other. Get your facts right mate.

with a username like that i hope its a lemon!

eat a bag of dicks mate...

Also who really gives a shit about user names! You drive a R33 gtst's so I could go and pay out on you for a fair while along with most of the world about R33 gtst's and thier drivers. Going by your immature post your a typical one.

Thanks to everyone who made constructive comments, greatly appreciated. (worped & b_riddels; your both as useless as ‘tits on a bull’, i’m keeping this username just to piss you off now. Not that it matters at all but.................... Seaford is the better known neighbouring suburb, that’s why I said the car came from there)

Read the receipt for the rebuild, full bottom end and clean and gaskets ect......dude spun a big end bearing due to driving it with the sludge/oil that came in the car from japan. This was towards the end of 2008l, so it’s some piece of mind?

Llama_au; I throw up a little every time I see a four door skyline! Plus I only getting this cos its cheap and i plan on flogging it off in 6 months. Maybe you should buy it off me?

Xalmon; yeh it wasn’t ideal circumstances as i only had a week to buy a car and this was the best one i saw

Also the little bung on the passengers side, bottom of the radiator seems to have a slight leak! Anyone know where i could get a new one. It’s about the same size as a 5ct coin, looks like it may be the drain point although it;s stripped out hard in the middle where you undo it.

Thanks to everyone who made constructive comments, greatly appreciated. (worped & b_riddels; your both as useless as ‘tits on a bull’, i’m keeping this username just to piss you off now.

Why dont you go back and read my post again f**ktard, you said you wanted to change your name and i gave you the link on where to do it, i believe that is constructive....

But at least you have now shown your self as a stereo typical NS user.

Llama_au; I throw up a little every time I see a four door skyline! Plus I only getting this cos its cheap and i plan on flogging it off in 6 months. Maybe you should buy it off me?

No thanks. Good luck with your cheap, dodgy R34.