Well, it's been a battle - and a learning experience, but it looks like my car will arrive tonight!

After waiting near enough to seven months, running into problems with DOTARS, cleaning and trucking it appears the process has been somewhat of a success... What lays ahead? a few compliance mods, over the pits, rego and hello blacktop.

Would I go through it again???? Thats a tough question to answer, I'm yet to see the car, but from all reports - it's good, but thinking of all the 'testing periods' I've had to endure, I'd almost have to say no.... but then again.... enthuasim is a hard thing to supress.

If anyone wants to know more about the whloe process, let me know. I look forward to seeing you all on the street, I'll post pics soon (Silver R32 with black and red rims)

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/33967-89-model-import/

congrats DAN00H!....can fully understand how excited you must be...i remember when mine arrived (came from Brissy on a Finemores truck)..it was late on a friday and i had to look at it thru a fence till Monday morning when they opened grrrr

i was in a hypo mood all weekend till i could get my hands on it!! :)

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/33967-89-model-import/#findComment-682017

Thanks Shell, it's great to finally have the car - it's in much better condition than I expected too!!!

I should have it on the road in a week or two (depending on what the inspectors at Dickson say!!). I've got a few jobs to do, namely raise the suspension (front lip is only 60 - 70mm off the ground and fit a cat.

Looking forward to catching up with everyone.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/33967-89-model-import/#findComment-683550

Hey dude are you sure thats all you have to do?? I got mine on tuesday, went up and got it, I managed to get mine cleaned on the day. hehe had a good look at yours too I might add! its nice good buy, I trailered mine my self.. I am pretty sure you will need to get side intrusion bars?

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/33967-89-model-import/#findComment-684769

Hi Stirlo

I spoke to the head inspector in Dickson that runs the show (have name and details somewhere) he said intrusion bars not needed if rego in ACT, DOES need child restraint points fitted in the rear and must pass a roadworthy inspection (tyres, oils leaks, ride height, noise level, Cat, tint, brake test, rust etc...) I had to do the same when I got a car from QLD.

What is your car then? I had Milan bring mine down on Tuesday night - he does a lot of them and really liked mine... Know anyone that wants to buy a rollcage?? I took mine out.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/33967-89-model-import/#findComment-684781

might be interested in rollcage for right price in a 2months or so if you can wait i can buy!! well done id like to chat with you about the whole 15 years thing one nite my bro is interested so youll have to met up with a few of the boys one nite!!

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/33967-89-model-import/#findComment-688771

might be interested in rollcage for right price in a 2months or so if you can wait i can buy!! well done id like to chat with you about the whole 15 years thing one nite my bro is interested so youll have to met up with a few of the boys one nite!!

no worries - happy to chat about the 15 yr process to anyone, I'll be running around on Friday getting my car ready for rego, so if anyone sees a silver 32 R with black and red rims - that's me!

Just a note to anyone else who might be going to rego an 89' in the ACT - check it out with the dickson rego office before you pay $500 - $1500 to get it "complied"... you may not need to spend that much!

have the cage sitting at home - haven't thought about a price (I have no idea what they arte worth!) anyone have any ideas? I might reassemble it and post a pic.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/33967-89-model-import/#findComment-689056

Danooh - I got mine transported using Canberra Carways, they charged me $275 to get it transported from their Sydney depot in Moorebank to Mitchell.  

How much did you have to pay Milan and where do they pickup from and deliver to?

he took my car from the wharf to Hobbs (what a rort) cleaners, then from Hobbs to my house.

$620 - which I was happy with as i didn't want the trouble of going to Sydney and taking a day off work etc. he picked up my paperwork and organised to get it up the line to be cleaned and brought it down that night!

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/33967-89-model-import/#findComment-690358

Hey Danooh, I have checked with my engineer, and was told you need intrustion bars, I will be very happy if you dont, can you varify that you dont need them? how close are you to getting it registered and who is doing your cert? I would mind seeinh your car some time too :D

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/33967-89-model-import/#findComment-690867