Thanks Cam,

I think I saw it online in a QLD lot.

Thanks for the pro tip. That means the pathfinder cooling mod might just work then. How far through are you guys? before/after dyno? What did a GT-8 pull NA?

Yeah, the yard brought it in by mistake and had it sitting there for nearly a year until Ben decided to comply it for them (for a fee of course)... or so the story goes.

Not finished yet but should be done this week.

Started with a new radiator (Race Radiators custom unit - no cutting required) and Nismo thermostat first then pulled a heap off the engine lol!

Currently manifolds on, turbo on, heat shielding on, condenser piping modified for intercooler piping, intercooler in, sump on and plumbed in.

Currently working on the wiring (not something I get into, I hate wiring). I should have the wiring pages and page 27 (?) translated this week so will either post it on your thread or PM it to you.

Then all I can think that is left will be the intake piping/filter, modifying his trans filler tube (rotated nearly 180degrees) modifying his Stillen exhaust to fit up to the HKS cat pipe, re-installing both coolant pipes, hooking up the radiator and making sure that the custom plenum top doesn't leak.

Oh, and the Fcon iS + sensors etc and HKS EVC6.

Dunno if the pathfinder rear coolant pipe will fit though, that bulge is considerate and may foul on the heatshield or crossover exhaust pipe (need to have another look to be sure).

GT-8 I'd estimate at ~160rwkw or so. This could be well off though as I am only going by the "V35 vs M35 fun times".

EDIT: While I think of it, did you find out if the ECU pin outs are the same on your car as a 350z/V35 or if not, what the differences are? I can't find info.

Edited by iamhe77

Nah, I haven't had time to find out.

I don't think the tuner had that closer look at the pins themselves, more the boards, with similarity to 350z's.

If it was me, i'd bet there would be something on there related to the awd system.

Couple of things - how hard were the manifolds to get on? By wiring, your talking about relocation of the wiring over the trans bellhousing, or Fcon wiring?

The only thing is an O2 sensor in the dump pipe. If you want to check out the dump pipe my mate makes I'll have one to show you from tomorrow. Make sure you get a bellmouth style as the split type that fits into the rear of the turbine housing are no good once you high flow the turbo. You need to throw it and get another.

Nah, I haven't had time to find out.

I don't think the tuner had that closer look at the pins themselves, more the boards, with similarity to 350z's.

If it was me, i'd bet there would be something on there related to the awd system.

Couple of things - how hard were the manifolds to get on? By wiring, your talking about relocation of the wiring over the trans bellhousing, or Fcon wiring?

Manifolds were not difficult at all. Had a brain fade on Sunday regarding them and didn't have a bolt lined up properly so had to rethread, but second attempt was quite easy.

One of the bolts on the driver side is restricted but small movements with a spanner and it gets done up.

By wiring I am referring to the extension of certain wires on the engine loom. Have a look in the manual, maybe 2-3 pages in and you will see the diagrams that have "SW", "O2" etc and stating how much longer you need to make each one. They are two of the pages I am having HKS translate (they won't do the whole manual).

Nothing to do with the Fcon harness... that is just a 350z item for V35.

The only thing is an O2 sensor in the dump pipe. If you want to check out the dump pipe my mate makes I'll have one to show you from tomorrow. Make sure you get a bellmouth style as the split type that fits into the rear of the turbine housing are no good once you high flow the turbo. You need to throw it and get another.

Why is the split type no good with a high flow?

I've looked into this a bit, and it seems that its all crap. Some people believe one thing, others believe something else. At the end of the day my dump is a split dump, Andrew from AM says he's done the testing and found his split dump design to be better, and since it makes the numbers to back that up I believe him.

The big problem with your style is the turbine section fits into the the turbine housing up to the turbine wheel. When you high flow the turbo it gets a larger turbine wheel and the turbine section of the dump is now smaller than the turine outlet in the turbine housing and creats both a restriction and now a leak as its no longer sealed into the housing. It also creates turbulence where the turbine and wastegate gases merge. You would now need to modify that dump or replace it and why do and pay to do something twice when it doesn't need to be. The general thought is it's better to merge the gas as soon as possible if not using an external gate set up that doesn't re enter the exhaust.

Not bagging yours, just going off mine and others experience.

Edited by slippylotion

Well calling it 'no good' is bagging them really.

Having a look around, theres no solid evidence online. It's all keyboard warriors arguing because a mate of a mate told them to buy one or the other.

My conclusion from what I've just read is that it comes down to who makes it and how it's made rather than the basis of the design. A well made, quality split design is just as good if not better with the stock turbo. When you change the turbo, sell the dump and upgrade. Not too hard.

Since I did my dump, I make an extra 30kW, turbo spools up shitloads earlier (~2.5k rpm), and I saw fuel economy gains. I really don't believe I'd get any more out of a slightly different design of dump.

No I wasnt bagging it, merely an observation. Not sure if the keyboard warrior remark is aimed at me but I'm not in that category. I have done all my own work on my own cars over the last 20 odd yrs with a lot of experimenting with different set ups. Hell, my 180sx has over 150 dyno runs at morpowa trying out different things.

All also noticed a gain in turbo response with my dump even though it still runs the standard dump back exhaust. I have changed parts over the years because I didn't buy the right one at the get go, so not too keen on buying something as simple as a dump only to sell it and loose money to then buy another that fits and waste more money.

Ryan, don't take what I've said personally, it's in no way an attack on you.

?

Well I have had both split and bellmouth on various cars;

evo6-bellmouth (246kw@ all 4)

rvr hsg-split / bellmouth (186kw @all 4)

jzx100-bellmouth

rb20 skyline-bellmouth

chrysler lancer (rwd)- 1.8l with an rx7 turbo split

Every dump I have had has made huge amounts of difference, the rvr I had, went from stock, then had a bellmouth and then I changed to a split (because the bellmouth was cheap and cracked) honestly there wasn't any noticeble differences between the two, but in comparison to a standard dump pipe......completely different car. In my experience all the turbo cars I have had, when you change from a stock dump it, makes so much difference to how the turbo spools/inceased flow/psi etc.

:cheers:

Edited by MOUTH

No I wasnt bagging it, merely an observation. Not sure if the keyboard warrior remark is aimed at me but I'm not in that category. I have done all my own work on my own cars over the last 20 odd yrs with a lot of experimenting with different set ups. Hell, my 180sx has over 150 dyno runs at morpowa trying out different things.

All also noticed a gain in turbo response with my dump even though it still runs the standard dump back exhaust. I have changed parts over the years because I didn't buy the right one at the get go, so not too keen on buying something as simple as a dump only to sell it and loose money to then buy another that fits and waste more money.

Ryan, don't take what I've said personally, it's in no way an attack on you.

?

No Paul, the keyboard warrior remark wasn't aimed at you, but do a search, and you'll find plenty...

It is unlikely now that I'll be highflowing my turbo, but I'll probably replace it instead. I'd expect to replace the dump.

I don't take it as a personal attack, but I like Andrew. He's honest, his handiwork is top notch, and I've seen and felt the results. When you say his dumps are "no good", I feel the need to defend because I've seen, known and tested. Results are all good.

As an aside, I'm now about $350 short of cracking the $1k worth of Movember donations. I know theres heaps of people asking for donations, but if you haven't donated I'd really appreciate a donation or two.

You can donate here: http://mobro.co/bigkevracer

My uncle has prostate cancer, and I lost a friend to depression, so both of these are important issues that are important to me. So I appreciate every donation that might come through!

Dunno if the pathfinder rear coolant pipe will fit though, that bulge is considerate and may foul on the heatshield or crossover exhaust pipe (need to have another look to be sure).

On closer inspection last night, I reckon it would definitely foul on at least the HKS rear heat shield and if not on the exhaust then it would only be a couple of mm from it.

No Paul, the keyboard warrior remark wasn't aimed at you, but do a search, and you'll find plenty...

It is unlikely now that I'll be highflowing my turbo, but I'll probably replace it instead. I'd expect to replace the dump.

I don't take it as a personal attack, but I like Andrew. He's honest, his handiwork is top notch, and I've seen and felt the results. When you say his dumps are "no good", I feel the need to defend because I've seen, known and tested. Results are all good.

hmm cognitive dissonance much? :rofl2:

Just stirring...hehe :ph34r:

Edited by ironpaw