• Replies 156

Hi Duncan

I would draw the line, when tyres say for racing purpose only, if I was scrutineering and you didn't have a cage at supersprint, hillclimb or rally.

Just a question, how come you didn't run slicks or electronic wing at superlap?

Secondly, I don't have a hidden agenda - the d*)khe#d that let you run in 4D (Sports Sedan) in the first place f*!ked the 4D sports sedan class, period.

Note to all - next year NSW supersprint, R35's and similar can run 4E class, this allows, for over 6ltr, traction control, no window nets, no race seats, no roll cage etc etc etc

(but must be road registered)

I like your competiton and watching R35's compete - I had no quarms on championship points or previous years - still don't. I think it is wrong that they were allowed to go in 4D and obtain records, in a totally non complying car - my opinion and the way I read the CAMs manual - and if the NSW supersprint panel continues to make new classes and changes and the owners can't nominate the correct class or get them changed to suit f'it who's gunna bother turning up. (Irace Do You?)

I guess that's just where the disagreement/misunderstanding lies (in the SS class definitions).

Taken directly from the supersprint rulebook:

In general, the Type rules are a combination of Circuit Racing Classes from the CAMS Manual (Types 3, 4 and 5) and categories to suit the more standard, road-registered cars used by newcomers to the sport.

CAMS rules are tilted/tainted to allow road cars to compete, across all SS types. And for that reason i don't see Type 4 as a real sports sedan category at all. Ditto for all types really. It doesnt look like we can get past this point, so we'll have to disagree.

As for Superlap, I was permitted to run the adjustable wing (I have it in writing, or you can ask Nathan) the reason i didnt run it was that the wing was mounted on a carbon bootlid (which, as it happens, is just a cheap chinese fibreglass item with fake carbon overlay). And SL did not allow carbon bootlids (however, they did allow carbon bonnets, so go figure). I read the rules and signed up ACCEPTING them, with a signature. No point signing up then trying to contest all the rules, hey? Why bother. And as you know the street class in SL mandated tread wear rating of 100 or more (I think). And if you ask me, those tyres were dead set dangerous vs say an RE55. Never never again.

Back to SS classes/rules; I am myself disappointed with certain aspects of the 2011 rule changes. Specifically the lack of consultation about big changes. So i have therefore decided i don't want to sign up for these rules. If you don't agree with the rules, vote with your feet and do something else. Don't bother signing up anyway (perhaps without even reading the rules, and then go about changing them to suit yourself) seriously whats the point. It's just not worth it.

unfortunately nsw are far from the only place having trouble with rules. the classes for the national supersprints were bullshit. I didn't get an opportunity to defend the production car national championship, let alone my car having to race in the same class as a supercharged lotus.

and don't even get me started on how old fashioned and unfriendly the IPRA rules are for any turbo car.

CAMS have long had their heads stuck up their collective arses about rules - protecting a few old rust buckets instead of encouraging new cars. you only need to look at any IPRA grid in the country to see the result.

here is p2 from the NSW supersprint regs.....try and pick the odd class out:

Type 1 Unmodified Production Cars (excluding Four Wheel Drive

Turbos, Clubmans, Kit Cars and Replicas), where the only

freedoms relate to safety, engine reconditioning, tyres and

some cosmetic items.

Type 2 Modified Road-Registered Vehicles (excluding Clubmans,

Kit Cars and Replicas), allowing originally available options

and limited modifications to engines, suspension and tyres.

Type 3 Competition vehicles based on Group 3J - Improved

Production Cars rules as defined in the CAMS Manual.

Minor additional freedoms are allowed to recognise that

there will be some road-registered vehicles competing, that

cannot meet full 3J rules.

Type 4 Competition vehicles based on Group 3D - Sports Sedan

rules as defined in the CAMS Manual. In addition, any

vehicle that conforms to Type 1, 2, 3 or SV requirements,

excepting Clubmans, Kit Cars and Replicas, shall be

permitted to employ or use Race Tyres but if it does so it

shall be classified as a Type 4 vehicle.

Type 5 Clubmans, Kit Cars and Replicas (whether Road

Registered or not) using Race Tyres, Racing Cars and

Sports Racing Cars or as classified by the NSW Supersprint

Panel.

Type SV Road registered vehicles with no limit on modifications.

--------------------

Apart from putting all 4wd turbo in SV which is obvious, outdated bullshit, the categories otherwise make great sense until you get to SV. Dead standard, production car, improved production, sports sedans, then cars with slicks.

But how does a category called SV make any sense at all. "Road registered vehicles with no limit on modifications." wtf?

here is p2 from the NSW supersprint regs.....try and pick the odd class out:

Type 1 Unmodified Production Cars (excluding Four Wheel Drive

Turbos, Clubmans, Kit Cars and Replicas), where the only

freedoms relate to safety, engine reconditioning, tyres and

some cosmetic items.

Type 2 Modified Road-Registered Vehicles (excluding Clubmans,

Kit Cars and Replicas), allowing originally available options

and limited modifications to engines, suspension and tyres.

Type 4 Competition vehicles based on Group 3D - Sports Sedan

rules as defined in the CAMS Manual. In addition, any

vehicle that conforms to Type 1, 2, 3 or SV requirements,

excepting Clubmans, Kit Cars and Replicas, shall be

permitted to employ or use Race Tyres but if it does so it

shall be classified as a Type 4 vehicle.

Type 5 Clubmans, Kit Cars and Replicas (whether Road

Registered or not) using Race Tyres, Racing Cars and

Sports Racing Cars or as classified by the NSW Supersprint

Panel.

Type SV Road registered vehicles with no limit on modifications.

--------------------

Apart from putting all 4wd turbo in SV which is obvious, outdated bullshit, the categories otherwise make great sense until you get to SV. Dead standard, production car, improved production, sports sedans, then cars with slicks.

But how does a category called SV make any sense at all. "Road registered vehicles with no limit on modifications." wtf?

Hi Duncan

Here's part of 2011 update, also not there is no outright season winner - class honours only, note the time limit for non - race supersprint, encouraging first timers, and old?

All registrants must demonstrate that they are capable of

lapping Eastern Creek in a time of less 2 minutes 15 seconds

and Wakefield Park in a time of less than 1 minute 25

seconds in the car to be used in the Championship.

Type 4

Class 4D limited to vehicles with engine capacities of 3001cc

tp 6000cc. This is in line with maximum engine size permitted

in Class 3D – Sports Sedans. This is the group that Type 4 is

based on.

Class 4E is now for 4WD Turbos and any car that has an

engine in excess of 6 litres. All cars that have an engine in

excess of 6 litres must be road registered.

Type SV

Any registrant in this Type has right to use slicks on his/her

car but if they do they go to Type 4 in the appropriate class

based on engine size excepting 4WD Turbos and any car with

an engine over 6 litres which go to Type 4 Class 4E. As

Clubmans, Kit Cars and Replicas are now excluded from Type

4, any registered Clubman, Kit Car or Replica that uses slicks

will go to Type 5 Class 5B.

Stuart, what are your thoughts on cages that are not CAMS legal, like bolt in cusco cages or jap spec ones or alloy in cars that are still road registered, my mates RX7 has a Bonds alloy bolt in cage and road registered wants to run in type 4 up against my R100 sometimes on slicks. Would you say no?

This is where the entire problem starts if you said no to him but let my R100 run that has a Bonds alloy cage but was log booked before change over date from CAMS that does not allow alloy cages anymore, will start to turn competitors away.

As for the new 4E class for 4wd cars on slicks seems pointless, I really never believed there was a problem with R35 running in 4D, this is for supersprints there is no type 1 and type 2 in the CAMS manual the series dose not run of the CAMS manual it caters for as many cars as possible to get people involved in motorsport, and as for R35 setting record in 4D this year is all good only need someone to turn up in a space frame Sports Sedan and will beat the records set you can’t expect old Datsun 1600 with turbo motors or Toyota Crowns that run in the series to beat them but any space frame car set up will do those times. But most people with space frame sports sedan go racing not enter sprints.

As for referring to the people on the CAMS Supersprint Panel as d*)khe#d, you may want to consider they have been updating and changing the rules to suit new comers and as many people to compete in sprints as possible. Not just to keep a few people happy every year that come and go. And the panel members have all been running in or been sprinting since the mid 90’s so you should look back and see why rules have changes like things such as Type SV (for small volume imports and kit cars came about) and what as happen over the last 15 years.

And Duncan quick history on the rules of SV I’m sure I have covered this before was originally based to get clubman’s and kits cars out of the other classes likes type 1 and 2 to give cars like MX5 and civics an chance to win the class, this got a lot more entries to each round, also due to some cheating that was happening in the late 90s early 2000’s with people in imports in type 2 advising they have stock boost all small volume imports where moved into SV and given unlimited modifications. SV also catered for cars like hot rods and the JPS Le-mans replica that was road registered that ran for a few years. If you have been running in the sprints for a very long time you would understand all the changes and for what reason.

Stuart this rule was listed to stop 2 cars showing up that drive around like they are on a Sunday drive to church, not sure if you watch any of the slower cars but if you do you would know who they are and waist every body else track time that we pay for and people got the sh*ts with. Look on Natsoft you will see who they are drive Ford's

Everything is for a reason, and there not hard times to beat I have driven a stock R31 skyline around Wakefield in under those times on crapy road tyres.

Stuart, what are your thoughts on cages that are not CAMS legal, like bolt in cusco cages or jap spec ones or alloy in cars that are still road registered, my mates RX7 has a Bonds alloy bolt in cage and road registered wants to run in type 4 up against my R100 sometimes on slicks. Would you say no?

This is where the entire problem starts if you said no to him but let my R100 run that has a Bonds alloy cage but was log booked before change over date from CAMS that does not allow alloy cages anymore, will start to turn competitors away.

As for the new 4E class for 4wd cars on slicks seems pointless, I really never believed there was a problem with R35 running in 4D, this is for supersprints there is no type 1 and type 2 in the CAMS manual the series dose not run of the CAMS manual it caters for as many cars as possible to get people involved in motorsport, and as for R35 setting record in 4D this year is all good only need someone to turn up in a space frame Sports Sedan and will beat the records set you can't expect old Datsun 1600 with turbo motors or Toyota Crowns that run in the series to beat them but any space frame car set up will do those times. But most people with space frame sports sedan go racing not enter sprints.

As for referring to the people on the CAMS Supersprint Panel as d*)khe#d, you may want to consider they have been updating and changing the rules to suit new comers and as many people to compete in sprints as possible. Not just to keep a few people happy every year that come and go. And the panel members have all been running in or been sprinting since the mid 90's so you should look back and see why rules have changes like things such as Type SV (for small volume imports and kit cars came about) and what as happen over the last 15 years.

And Duncan quick history on the rules of SV I'm sure I have covered this before was originally based to get clubman's and kits cars out of the other classes likes type 1 and 2 to give cars like MX5 and civics an chance to win the class, this got a lot more entries to each round, also due to some cheating that was happening in the late 90s early 2000's with people in imports in type 2 advising they have stock boost all small volume imports where moved into SV and given unlimited modifications. SV also catered for cars like hot rods and the JPS Le-mans replica that was road registered that ran for a few years. If you have been running in the sprints for a very long time you would understand all the changes and for what reason.

With regards to cage above in your mates car, at a club day - that would be my call, at a state event - it would have to be a no, after all the other expenses on a motor vehicle, surely one - if they want to race or compete against the clock on slicks as your mate does, surely he can afford an approved cage. If it is road registered bond cages still do approved engineers certificate noted on rego papers - extra 300-600 bucks - or stay in current class or maybe you can put some A050's or similar on and run with him, but this depends I suppose on which CAMs rules you run in - supersrpint or hillclimb - whether you have to be registed or not - one you do one you don't as Type SV!

Personally, winning my first NSW state supersprint championship in 1989, in Type 2, with a bolt in bond cage, that I found quite safe and for many years to follow. I agree some changes made are for the better - many for the worse.

It is my belief we have club rules, targa rules, rally, hillclimb, supersprint - state and national. All with variations It is my opinion, with regret I believe CAMs time to be limited.

As is clear to most competitors in all fields, they have lost contact with the needs of competitors and the sport.

Even there insurance company is pointless.

Stuart this rule was listed to stop 2 cars showing up that drive around like they are on a Sunday drive to church, not sure if you watch any of the slower cars but if you do you would know who they are and waist every body else track time that we pay for and people got the sh*ts with. Look on Natsoft you will see who they are drive Ford's

Everything is for a reason, and there not hard times to beat I have driven a stock R31 skyline around Wakefield in under those times on crapy road tyres.

I'd rather pass or wait for a chick having a go (1st timer) in a ford festiva, than a road block in a R35 - NOT Marrick or Duncan.

I have some questions regarding Type 3

As below:

What does "Minor additional freedoms" mean?

If I have a road registered S14 200SX with minor mods such as exhaust, intercooler, increased boost and ecu remap, could I run it in Type 3?

Surely I don't have to fit CAMS boost monitors and CAMS restrictors to my car? It's a road car for god's sake! Why should my road car have to comply to full IPRA spec?

Type 3 really favours naturally aspirated V8's, and you'll find that's all there is competing in that type.

If not Type 3, then it's only eligible for SV and get flogged by clubmans and 4WD turbo's with unlimited modifications.

yeah well that is my point exactly about IPRA rules. someone has to have some guts and welcome turbo cars in. until then your car is a production car (type 2) if it runs standard boost and no mods, or a sports sedan.

And Duncan quick history on the rules of SV I’m sure I have covered this before was originally based to get clubman’s and kits cars out of the other classes likes type 1 and 2 to give cars like MX5 and civics an chance to win the class, this got a lot more entries to each round, also due to some cheating that was happening in the late 90s early 2000’s with people in imports in type 2 advising they have stock boost all small volume imports where moved into SV and given unlimited modifications. SV also catered for cars like hot rods and the JPS Le-mans replica that was road registered that ran for a few years. If you have been running in the sprints for a very long time you would understand all the changes and for what reason.

Brian, I understand, but totally disagree with the decision. Yes some cars are quicker than others in standard form. This is the basis of all production car racing. If you want to win, bring the quickest car.

There is currently a full field in the state champs. A very high % of them are in SV which means it is not so special at all. Put them back in the proper classes.

Finally....as you are perfectly aware, all of the CAMS advisory panels are closed "clubs" who's membership only changes if someone steps down and someone else is recommended. There are never any genuinely open votes or discussions about whether the member's/entrants needs are considered. These rule changes, and all of them that happen across all of the panels each year, are presented to the entrants AFTER they have been agreed.

I have some questions regarding Type 3

As below:

What does "Minor additional freedoms" mean?

If I have a road registered S14 200SX with minor mods such as exhaust, intercooler, increased boost and ecu remap, could I run it in Type 3?

Surely I don't have to fit CAMS boost monitors and CAMS restrictors to my car? It's a road car for god's sake! Why should my road car have to comply to full IPRA spec?

Type 3 really favours naturally aspirated V8's, and you'll find that's all there is competing in that type.

If not Type 3, then it's only eligible for SV and get flogged by clubmans and 4WD turbo's with unlimited modifications.

Yes you would need to run a boost monitor or turbo restrictor, I know the rules may not suit newer Jap cars same as what Duncan has posted above for IPRA class, But if the panel let cars run with no restrictors in type 3 which already is a very hotly contested class and yes V8 win it would probably turn some competitions away or look for somewhere else to run, which they don’t want.

It’s always hard to keep everyone happy, my father has been on the Panel for around 10 years I think but has decided not to be on the panel next year as he is not happy with the direction of the new rules like removing outright.

yeah well that is my point exactly about IPRA rules. someone has to have some guts and welcome turbo cars in. until then your car is a production car (type 2) if it runs standard boost and no mods, or a sports sedan.

Brian, I understand, but totally disagree with the decision. Yes some cars are quicker than others in standard form. This is the basis of all production car racing. If you want to win, bring the quickest car.

There is currently a full field in the state champs. A very high % of them are in SV which means it is not so special at all. Put them back in the proper classes.

Finally....as you are perfectly aware, all of the CAMS advisory panels are closed "clubs" who's membership only changes if someone steps down and someone else is recommended. There are never any genuinely open votes or discussions about whether the member's/entrants needs are considered. These rule changes, and all of them that happen across all of the panels each year, are presented to the entrants AFTER they have been agreed.

If you referring to the field in the State Supersprint Championship yes it’s a full class but SV does not stand for Special Vehicle, so they don’t need to be special, Its means Small Volume for small volume imports and kit cars or road cars with unlimited mods. Yes it would be nice to allow imports back into the other classes, I would go buy one and run in type 2 so I can win something but would turn others away. I also would love to run my GTR in Type 3 with no restrictor and good R tyres and could win that class to maybe, but then once again would start to piss of V8 and rotaries guys. People will get upset every time a rule changes and some will be happy.

As for the Panel Members they are elected to go on the Panel once they send in their nomination form that has closed for this year, At present I believe the panel is still not full can have another 3 or 4 people on there, I was pushing Duncan (LSX-438) to send in a form to get on the panel but for his own reasons with the new rules did not want get involved, They are all just volunteers and don’t get paid so if you would like to make a difference and get the rules back on track to suit imports please send in your nomination form.

Yes you would need to run a boost monitor or turbo restrictor, I know the rules may not suit newer Jap cars same as what Duncan has posted above for IPRA class, But if the panel let cars run with no restrictors in type 3 which already is a very hotly contested class and yes V8 win it would probably turn some competitions away or look for somewhere else to run, which they don’t want.

Appreciate the reply. It's not just newer Jap cars that the rules don't suit, It's turbo cars in general. Specifically 2WD turbo cars.

Let's face it, how many IPRA Spec cars bother competing in a supersprint? They are too busy racing IPRA!

They should change the name from Type 3 to something like Type V8. lol!

I like the time attack classes with FWD, AWD, RWD, 4CYL, 6CYL, NA, TURBO etc.. perhaps they can move toward introducing these classifications in the future.

I know it's hard to please everyone and the NSW Supersprint Champs is still a favourite event of mine, and I'm just being a little critical.

The officials and volunteers do some excellent work and I appreciate the work they put in.

Hope to see all of the SAU gang at the first round next year on 26th February! ;)

Edited by nismoman

stock r31 happy laps at 1:58 at ec and 1:15 at wakie ( that would be the gts1 model though all 130 od kw)

lol

sorry Brian, neither of those responses make sense.

If you referring to the field in the State Supersprint Championship yes it’s a full class but SV does not stand for Special Vehicle, so they don’t need to be special, Its means Small Volume for small volume imports and kit cars or road cars with unlimited mods. Yes it would be nice to allow imports back into the other classes, I would go buy one and run in type 2 so I can win something but would turn others away. I also would love to run my GTR in Type 3 with no restrictor and good R tyres and could win that class to maybe, but then once again would start to piss of V8 and rotaries guys. People will get upset every time a rule changes and some will be happy.

The regs say all 4wd turbo cars are in SV. Plenty of 4wd turbos have been sold here in large volumes but are still forced into SV. For that matter, even 32 GTR was sold here! Allegedy protecting some competitors is a very short term view and turns away heaps of potential new entrants in favour of supporting the status quo. Rotaries for instance.....any rx8s racing, or do you mean 20+ yo rx7 and earlier? v8s? same question, how old is the most recent car racing in 3?

As for the Panel Members they are elected to go on the Panel once they send in their nomination form that has closed for this year, At present I believe the panel is still not full can have another 3 or 4 people on there, I was pushing Duncan (LSX-438) to send in a form to get on the panel but for his own reasons with the new rules did not want get involved, They are all just volunteers and don’t get paid so if you would like to make a difference and get the rules back on track to suit imports please send in your nomination form.

Any panel that appoints it's own members could not possibly be more closed. None of the registered supersprint competitors I know were canvassed on rule changes, let alone occasional or potential racers.

sorry Brian, neither of those responses make sense.

The regs say all 4wd turbo cars are in SV. Plenty of 4wd turbos have been sold here in large volumes but are still forced into SV. For that matter, even 32 GTR was sold here! Allegedy protecting some competitors is a very short term view and turns away heaps of potential new entrants in favour of supporting the status quo. Rotaries for instance.....any rx8s racing, or do you mean 20+ yo rx7 and earlier? v8s? same question, how old is the most recent car racing in 3?

Any panel that appoints it's own members could not possibly be more closed. None of the registered supersprint competitors I know were canvassed on rule changes, let alone occasional or potential racers.

Yes its a bitta of a shame, worked my but off for 3 years getting new competitors for ss series, there all gone - I know of 6 plus not doing next year, closed doors - closed rules - closed out competitors - doesn't work.

If you referring to the field in the State Supersprint Championship yes it's a full class but SV does not stand for Special Vehicle, so they don't need to be special, Its means Small Volume for small volume imports and kit cars or road cars with unlimited mods. Yes it would be nice to allow imports back into the other classes, I would go buy one and run in type 2 so I can win something but would turn others away. I also would love to run my GTR in Type 3 with no restrictor and good R tyres and could win that class to maybe, but then once again would start to piss of V8 and rotaries guys. People will get upset every time a rule changes and some will be happy.

As for the Panel Members they are elected to go on the Panel once they send in their nomination form that has closed for this year, At present I believe the panel is still not full can have another 3 or 4 people on there, I was pushing Duncan (LSX-438) to send in a form to get on the panel but for his own reasons with the new rules did not want get involved, They are all just volunteers and don't get paid so if you would like to make a difference and get the rules back on track to suit imports please send in your nomination form.

Hi Brian

Just for your reference on SV - Small Volume - as per your Small Volume Vehicles why is it 2006,07,08,09 and 10 note Type SV (Special Vehicles)

Secondly I believe I was involved in getting this class going as was lodged through CAMs by Bathurst Light Car club many years ago

Lastly we've been requesting this class now be changed for the past couple of years due to the non compliance of class, due to the original rules being left out in recent years. We have requested that it all be changed to a national rule of 2A and as per the CAMs manual would prefer if clubs nominate - Road Registered / Unregisterd

For any national event I believe they must run or combine at a minumum a class from the CAMs manual. (Hopefully not half the manual as per QLD did this year)

I think this is the only option left as hillclimb and supersprint panels are struggling and it is about time competitors could actually purchase or run a car in a competitve class

PS Duncan - my national event trophys state Type SV Special Vehicle - whats your thoughts on SV going 2A registered / unregistered at least there is rules, not home made, every state, every track?

Originally SV Rules state had to maintain original airbox and inlet manifold system, exhaust was free from turbo back, somebody must have made a typo - now its gone. I can get the rest of the rules but this is one example.

Sorry guys if my previous responses made no sense have had a major lack of sleep over the last 2 weeks with a newborn baby at home now. 3 hours a night is not good. Hope you can read this.

I’m not arguing the point the rules are right. I don’t like them, but I look at the whole picture to keep other people running in the championship. And with 150+ registrants entered this year most there has ever been, maybe the panel believe it suits most people.

I maybe would have not bought my Mazda R100 if I could have been competitive in SV running my GTR, but was never going to be as fast as someone like Stuart who is a great driver in a developed GTR and keeping my GTR as a nice road car. So yes the rules don’t cater for a lightly modified 4WD import in SV so looked for somthing else and found the Mazda

Duncan, The other point you make about registrants not being canvassed on the rule changes. Well this is the thing that shits me! And one of the main reasons my father is leaving the panel this year, I may get in trouble writing this but it pisses me off. The response my father got at the meeting when he asked how may people where asked over the new rules was “We have done a survey and this is what most people wanted” How many people did you ask? “Not sure but a few”. I know many people that are not happy that outright is gone, but was very surprised to find out on the weekend while at the Supersprint presentation speaking to some EVO owners they were more than happy and their exact words “We cannot run as fast as a R35 and have no chance winning.” Maybe they were part of the panel’s survey who knows?

Stuart and Duncan, sorry my mistake on the SV meaning now days, I always still believed meant small volume as per originally intended when class was first made. Don’t look at those class rules anymore as I don’t run my GTR in it.

Also Stuart the other people that will not be running in the championship due panel changing the rules could you please PM their names if possible. Maybe instead of talking about it on forums we send in emails to the panel to advise of the issues. This is the only way things may change or join the panel and attend the meetings.