The annual SAU Dyno Day - Register your interest NOW

• Replies 228

Thanks Steve, Matt and the guys at BoostWorx. A well run event.

Pity I forgot to raise my EBC safety overide to above 19psi, would have made more than the normal 260+ at 17psi, but didn't realsie the problem until after the runs!

Put a bottle of octane boost in specifally for the higher boost runs as well, dickhead!

At least I know the boost safety overide works.

Quite a few of us having boost problems today.

Thanks Lachlan, but I think Boost Worx did most of the organising, all I did is show up:)

final results:

R33

Bleck: FMIC, Power FC, Exhst, forward facing TB, Manifold, EBC 208kw

Hippy: exhst, bleed, pod 160 kw and enough torque to need the boot sat in;)

Enrico: FMIC, pod, exhst, EBC, cam gear, unichip 201

Me: 3037S 56T, plenum, manifold, exhst, cams, cam gear, Power FC, EBC 305

Whatsisname: T3/T4, FMIC, exhaust, cam gear, Microtech LT12, exh cam gear, EBC, lots of shiny bits, without fluffy dice 281 with leaking bov, and after a few more tweaks after most people left

Freebaggin: GT3040, exhst, Microtech LT12, EBC 263

Grepin: 2835PROS, trust plenum, TB, exhst, FMIC, Power FC, EBC 274

R32

Chris32 FMIC, exhst, HKS 2510, reprog ecu 200

r32gts-4 FMIC 127

doglet FMIC, exhaust 143

a31 pod, exhst 132 ok, its not a 32, but it is RB20, so good for comparison

S14

MattR EBC 128

Busky2k FMIC, SAFC, SITC, exhst, pod 183

S15

nightcrawler FMIC, exhst, unichip 188

no nick-white pod, exhst, 1bar boost 163

SpecS15 pod, FMIC, exhst, AVCR (1bar)185

There are a few mods not included. I only included mods that were listed if they were directly related to increasing power, so things like fuel pumps clutches, etc may not have made it to the list.

If I have got anyones mods wrong, please let me know. Anyone that wants to put their dyno sheet up, please do, the more the merrier.

Thanks to all that came, good to meet all those I havent met before, and nice to catch up with a few people I havent seen for a whild - it was a good day and nice to see so many nice cars in the one place.

The lady taking the photos was doing an article for HPI mag so we will all be famous:p I got her guarantee that no number plates would appear anywhere, and if any were on the photos, she will photoshop them out before they get sent in.

Lastly, here is a comparison of the dynos between Whatsisname, Grepin, Freebaggin, and me. I have two runs up, as I was wheel spinning in the first, so torque looked pretty shabby in the peak power run, second run shortly after showed better torque, but lower power (heat).

comparison.jpg

YEAH cool day :) ... yeah 160rwkw :) .. for an auto hahaha :D ... funny .. car definitely doesn't feel 160rwkw .. more like 80rwkw :D ... thats the first time i've ever dynoed my car :D ... pity i'm going to sell now ... would of liked to at least get the safc tuned ... but still 160 i think is quite good for basic mods on an auto :D ... thanks to steve and everyone else for organising :D

LOL ... i know theres still alot there to be had ... cause when (dodgy)dean first put on the bleeder we set it waaay to high ... but shit there was heaps of difference when it was at 14 psi!!! .... pulled sooo much harder and then hit the boost cut LOL ....

Thanks to all who organized and gave up there time to run the day.

It was good to see that the exhaust and fmic I had installed since an earlier dyno run added about 38rwkw to my total......nice to see the money adding up to something! :)

Time to get everything tuned up and a boost controller installed to add a bit more.

yeh i had a goodish day, man im still tired :) and still pissed off about my car. man what a gay dyno graph.

timmayy, my car has heaps of fricken problems, i dont know what it is, but as soon as the power goes over 5500rpm, the power goes like a zig zag, ie +20, - 30, and so forth to readline. it is very wierd. shaun thinks its the ebc. needless to say, im goin back to the place that tuned it and demanding my money back. The thing does not work on my car, and for the money i spent to tune it, it should b fricken perfect!!! BTW i waited for u for ages man, but i was so tired so i left.

Did anyone like my second gearies???

Sounds like you guys had a good day. I couldnt make it 'cause I had to work.

I did make it out to the drags tho.

Ran a 12.63 @ 113 in the ute!

Only saw 2 skylines out there (Matts Trust6 - keep trying mate, you'll get traction one day, &

another nice looking silver one running 14s)

The air was nice and cool.

Next one is on Sat 3rd april - I think.

Munro, Ran a 12.63 @ 113 in the ute!
What sort of power are u making?

Enrico,

There are some very very picky people out there. Burnouts can be annoying but. :D

We have a big Rotty (68cm's back height) that never never barks, only when he gets excited when we get home (there is always some one home) or when we are playing with him Our next door neighbours complained. Luckly all of the other neighbours said they don't hear him unless we are playing with him & his ball.

We've had Bark Busters out & spoke to the Council, they said nothing is wrong with him and said to us 'can't expect kids not to scream etc when playing can u?'.

So yer.. Those next door neighbours will be getting a visit from the police next time they play their drums 10:00pm at night. :D WAR! heheh :D They have Church band practise.. Lol

Pic1 - Liams wrestling toy

Pic2 - Liam wanting his wrestling toy

Pic3 - Being a spastic with the cat & rolling on his wrestling toy (he's scared of the cat, it chases him around the lounge swiping at his arse)

haha as if he doesnt just eat the cat... :D

Joel u missed out on a great day. Also it wasnt really a burnout as such, just lots of rev limiting. Ohwell.

After the dyno day i have to think about how im gonna get relaible boost, so im ditchin the ebc already :D and goin to demand my money back. Do u think shaun from boost worx will be a witness to say it doesnt work?