Same here, Nismo lift, 2x044s, surge tank, twin entry rail, ID2000s, lines front to back etc etc.

My mates GTR made high 500awkw before they put a 3rd one in. Now makes 720awkw :P

Well thats a little comforting!

• Replies 113

You should be able to fit 3 in (I've got 3 in mine), how is it currently setup?

Nismo lift into surge and both 044's mounted on the surge. I was discussing with Steve today that IF it comes to it we might have to make a bracket and mount one next to the surge. Thing is how do we merge the 3rd pump into the 2 lines? Hmm?

^^^ with any luck I will have the results on Friday arvo. The good thing about this is there will be two maps done.... 98 and E85. Same dyno, same tuner, same setup 1 day apart.

I did a 98 map and one for avgas mix same dyno about 25mins apart. dont remember injector dc tho.

Went from 420rwkw @ 19psi to 475rwkw @ 24psi. And then we picked up on the oil problem that resulted in a bent crank...

RB30 crank. Nothing special. The workshop that fitted the engine here in Tassie hooked the oil cooler lines backwards so oil was pumped to the wrong side of the filter relocation kit and things were a little starved of oil.

Thats what I said. When its marked "in" and "out".

Its a shame as the engine was going to make some good power. The engine was built and shipped here so only needed to be fitted. I was going to fit it myself but didnt have the time. I wish I made time now. lol

Its been sent back to the builder for a new crank and whatever else is needed to get it up and running again.

Next tune will be on E85. Thats why im interested to see what everyone else is doing.

If I need a 3rd 044 then so be it. :)

Ok so Paul and I were talking about this in depth tonight.

We are both concerned about max flow for big power but the empty surge tank thing is a huge concern aswel so we will test that first

We are going to take the pump off and test the flow properly, we will post up accurate results (will be on e85) as it seems no one else has this info.

There is another option from 3 or even 4 044's. I use 2 x Pierburg pumps on my GTR. out of 1 dash 6 line (my return from my reg) at 40psi I get 12.5 liters a min. The also are a sucker and a pusher so no need to have them fed by other pumps. Has seen around 610rwhp with no dramas at all. They are ethanol/methanol friendly as well.

I actually have no surge tank, but have 2 x Dash 10 lines feed into my tank with strainers connected directly to the fuel line.

Obviously if I have descent G's and under a 1/4 of a tank I will have issues but until then I can hold it flat for ages and not have a drama.

Always handy if you are towing a trailer, up a hill in the sand :)

Ok so Paul and I were talking about this in depth tonight.

We are both concerned about max flow for big power but the empty surge tank thing is a huge concern aswel so we will test that firstWe are going to take the pump off and test the flow properly, we will post up accurate results (will be on e85) as it seems no one else has this info.

does anyone run a low level switch in their surge? if there was a spot inch or so above pickup connected to a simple warning light might give piece of mind down the strip?

i think on circuit it would be a good idea , but just for strip i reckon u have some massive problems if u can empty ur surge in 11 secs or less

Here is a new issue. Over filling over the surge tank. Now having 2 044's feeding the engine not all the fuel is going to be used. The fuel heats up and expands..... Has anyone split a tank due to excessive pressure?

There is a thread on the pommie forum about this. The line back to my main tank from the surge is the same as the incoming return..... Maybe I should have made it a few sizes bigger!!! BAH!

Here is a new issue. Over filling over the surge tank. Now having 2 044's feeding the engine not all the fuel is going to be used. The fuel heats up and expands..... Has anyone split a tank due to excessive pressure?

There is a thread on the pommie forum about this. The line back to my main tank from the surge is the same as the incoming return..... Maybe I should have made it a few sizes bigger!!! BAH!

and/or put a cooler in the return line

i have a small tranny cooler from super shit in my return line, works well. before that the pump used to start cavitating on hot days after half an hour or so of light driving, now it takes a really really hot day for it to do it.