stitch324door Posted November 18, 2010 Share Posted November 18, 2010 (edited) ok os i see this forum filled with f**kwit p-platers saying things like i wana n/a a gt-r. it gives me a little laugh. but us youngsters have got to start somewhere right? anyway i am a p-plater. (so im hoping i dont add ot he amount of shit on this forum) i got given to me a 4door r33 gts-t. long story short its got a f**ked motor and seeing how i have to qabide by gay laws i have decided to commence a rb25de transplant. ive got a few questions. i already have the de. got that for cheap too. it has wiring loom and ecu. im wondering is it possible to leave the det loom in place. plug all the sensors and ignition into the de and then plug the de ecu in. (minus boost and vaccum sensors of course). ive searched and searched i cant find any de pinouts. i can however can find a det pinouts. surely theyed be the same just not having pins going to the boost/ turbo part of the wiring loom. i am under the impression itd be easier to plug and play than remove and replce the whole loom is this correct? get back to me guys. cheers Edited November 18, 2010 by stitch324door Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/344775-de-to-det-4door-33/ Share on other sites More sharing options...
WYTSKY Posted November 18, 2010 Share Posted November 18, 2010 Before any of this mate, the problem is the car is still registered as a turbo 4 door 33, you can never change that... even if you physically do not have a turbo attached to your motor and show a cop, they can say "well, it says here this is a turbo mate" so theres not really much point... Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/344775-de-to-det-4door-33/#findComment-5556560 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Serg Posted November 18, 2010 Share Posted November 18, 2010 Prepare to get drilled with the "its still considered a turbo" comments! Im having flashbacks already! Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/344775-de-to-det-4door-33/#findComment-5556684 Share on other sites More sharing options...
mad082 Posted November 18, 2010 Share Posted November 18, 2010 as above, the fact that you are putting in a different aspiration motor to what the car came out with standard counts as an engine modification, which you aren't allowed to do as a P-plater. so sorry mate, you can't legally drive your car even with a NA motor in it. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/344775-de-to-det-4door-33/#findComment-5556782 Share on other sites More sharing options...
bozodos Posted November 19, 2010 Share Posted November 19, 2010 totally getting deja vu ITT Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/344775-de-to-det-4door-33/#findComment-5556852 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Serg Posted November 19, 2010 Share Posted November 19, 2010 as above, the fact that you are putting in a different aspiration motor to what the car came out with standard counts as an engine modification, which you aren't allowed to do as a P-plater. so sorry mate, you can't legally drive your car even with a NA motor in it. Off topic As per Vic Roads website, you arnt alout to drive cars that: "has an engine that has been modified to increase the vehicle's performance" Vic Roads Link Swaping to a lower power engine isnt increasing vehicle's performance. But beware, Im NOT saying its legal to do what he is saying, and i have no idea about the legal side to this stuff.. Just quoting what i read... Just putting it out there... Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/344775-de-to-det-4door-33/#findComment-5557064 Share on other sites More sharing options...
SKiT_R31 Posted November 19, 2010 Share Posted November 19, 2010 If you replace the motor with an N/A, the turbo loom will work fine, you just need to run an N/A ecu, everything else is the same (providing its the same series motor). I'm assuming your replacement DE will come with all of its bits, if it is a bare motor the only thing you will need is N/A 270cc injectors. Idle gear/afm/cas/coilpacks/o2/tps will all work fine, its just the same as putting an RB25DET ecu and injectors onto an N/A, but better as all of the extra bits that the N/A loom is missing (for turbo) you wont have to worry about (i.e. the N/A doesn’t have anything extra, the turbo does). To summarise, change the ECU, use the right injectors and it’ll work fine. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/344775-de-to-det-4door-33/#findComment-5557102 Share on other sites More sharing options...
stitch324door Posted November 20, 2010 Author Share Posted November 20, 2010 Ok so i am very much in luck. It turns out the car was originally a de. Meaning that its complinance/rego plates show it has a de not a det. So the guy who owned it put the det into it. So im going to have this check but in theory i should be legally able to drive the car. So does any one have hints when putting this motor in? Sorry about the bad spelling before i was writing it off a iphone and its hard as to do. Thanks for all the replies though! Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/344775-de-to-det-4door-33/#findComment-5558553 Share on other sites More sharing options...
mad082 Posted November 22, 2010 Share Posted November 22, 2010 Ok so i am very much in luck. It turns out the car was originally a de. Meaning that its complinance/rego plates show it has a de not a det. So the guy who owned it put the det into it. So im going to have this check but in theory i should be legally able to drive the car. So does any one have hints when putting this motor in?Sorry about the bad spelling before i was writing it off a iphone and its hard as to do. Thanks for all the replies though! if that is the case then you should just be able to bolt the motor in and it will be 100% legal. i've heard of a few people lately who have been in the same lucky situation as yourself where they have found that their turbo car was actually a natro originally which has made them able to swap back to natro. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/344775-de-to-det-4door-33/#findComment-5560134 Share on other sites More sharing options...
wgoos Posted December 8, 2010 Share Posted December 8, 2010 its my old car, i was a p plater at the time, it sais its a de on the plate so this means he can drive it, putting a de engine into it is the best choice you will be able to drive it with not a worry at all, believe me i looked into this heaps when i owned it, now hurry up & get that bloody engine because im itching to help you get it running Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/344775-de-to-det-4door-33/#findComment-5582960 Share on other sites More sharing options...