I have in my posession an RB20E Series 1 Skyline, I am aware that it is a Slow car (It's better than you think at high revs, No I haven't been stupid in it) This is my first car and I'm going onto my P plates very soon, I have just rego'd and CTP Fire and Theft'd the car (Great Vocabullary i know) I bought the car about a month ago for 4750 from NSW and as i am qld had to re rego it and rwc etc. The car owns me just under 6 grand. Now i know RB20E's are technically illegal because of power to weight ratio but hey, it was 4750 with no mechanical issues and has been cared for very well by previous owner. But now to the point. I love the car it is my first car, I know its not fast but it's still a skyline. Sence I've just rego'd and Ins it I'm torn between a few options, I know i cannot get alot of preformance out of an RB20E without spending alot of money. so my options are : 1)Spend alot of money to upgrade it (I think not) 2) Wait until the rego etc is about to run out and then try to sell it for a profit either to a car yard or private and then buy another skyline N/A like the 2.5L R33 or a 2.0L R32 (They appeal to me more) something like that. OR option 3) I think this is my best option as i don't want to be buying and selling alot and don't really care about the preformance of the car as I am on my P's and as much as i would love to have a fast car...Really I can't so.. My third option is to putt about in my R33 RB20E( Don't Laugh) until I'm off my P's and then buy a better car (Skyline R32 GTR, Supra, R34, Evo, WRX, S15) List goes on. I'm just here for some insite by members that have more experience in the motoring world than me so please don't flame or cause rants on this thread, I would really like to know my best option as I have very little money and need to start getting it back..the joys of working. Cheers

Oh and option 4 is to leave it on the side of the road with a note saying 'take me' so I can get 10 grand from Ins. (Jokes, No fraud) Sorry I know this topics been discussed several times on these forums but I am reaaaaally stuck for Ideas. One of my dads mates works at a caryard and says it could go for around 8-9 grand, so really I'd be making 2 grand profit if hes being honest

Edited by Don't care
https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/346241-rb20e/

option 3. just putt about in the car, leaving it as stock as possible (so don't spend a cent on it), and save all your money to buy something better once on your opens.

or find some other P plater skyline fan and sell it to them and buy either a better skyline or a commodore/falcon if you want something faster.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/346241-rb20e/#findComment-5576140

option 3. just putt about in the car, leaving it as stock as possible (so don't spend a cent on it), and save all your money to buy something better once on your opens.

or find some other P plater skyline fan and sell it to them and buy either a better skyline or a commodore/falcon if you want something faster.

Yeah I think that's what I'm going to do anyway :( I might put it on car sales or something for like 8 grand and see if anybody is interested if they are I'll look at my buying options and then maybe sell it, But I'd still like to drive it for a while it is a suprisingly good car to drive. But yes unless someone desperately wants a skyline for 8 grand then I will drive it around till i get my opens the only cent I will spend on it is for servicing parts, because most of it I do myself, OH you wouldn't happen to know anything about odometres and speedomometres? because my speedometre reads 45 when I'm doing 100 and my odometre just clicks over reaaaaaaaaaalll slowly

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/346241-rb20e/#findComment-5576281

it may have something to do with when the engine conversion was done. if they also changed the gearbox and then used the wrong speedo sender then it will alter the reading. is the reading always out by the same %? so when you are actually doing 100 and it reads 45, if you slow down to 50 does it read about 20 to 25?

if yes, then look at getting the speedo sensor from an rb25 gearbox and see if that changes things. a mate of mine just went through all this when putting a rb20 box into a r33, however he had the opposite problem, it was reading twice the speed.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/346241-rb20e/#findComment-5576312

it may have something to do with when the engine conversion was done. if they also changed the gearbox and then used the wrong speedo sender then it will alter the reading. is the reading always out by the same %? so when you are actually doing 100 and it reads 45, if you slow down to 50 does it read about 20 to 25?

if yes, then look at getting the speedo sensor from an rb25 gearbox and see if that changes things. a mate of mine just went through all this when putting a rb20 box into a r33, however he had the opposite problem, it was reading twice the speed.

R33s came from the factory with a 20e as an option though, so It is possibly one of them, so maybe the plastic teeth in the sensor are stripped and not turning properly or somthing.

PS if you can get 8-9k for that car you are a genius, most turbo R33s are going for somthing like that, Infact I sold mine for 5k because i was sick of the sight of it!

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/346241-rb20e/#findComment-5576343

did the 20E gearbox use an electronic speedo drive (like the 25's do) or mechanical like the r32? i'm guessing that it was an electronic like the 25, and if they but a 20 box out of a 32 and just put the speedo sensor out of the 33 into it it might not read correctly. or the 20E box may have been auto, so they used some random speedo sender. your theory could be right though. only 1 way to find out for sure though.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/346241-rb20e/#findComment-5576400

R33s came from the factory with a 20e as an option though, so It is possibly one of them, so maybe the plastic teeth in the sensor are stripped and not turning properly or somthing.

PS if you can get 8-9k for that car you are a genius, most turbo R33s are going for somthing like that, Infact I sold mine for 5k because i was sick of the sight of it!

[/quote

R33's aren't the best cars to look at but they still go alright and thankyou for your input:)

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/346241-rb20e/#findComment-5576676

I might just get it looked at by an auto electrition they should know what to do, sence I'm on my L's going onto My P's i need an odometre reading for hours, thats why i thought it was so important

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/346241-rb20e/#findComment-5576679

I reckon the best p plater skyline for you to get would be a r32 non turbo rolling shell and put an r33 rb25 in it. Would be legal and quite a fast p plate car. Could get it for a few grand also, can get a 25de for under a grand and a shell for 2-3k?

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/346241-rb20e/#findComment-5576836

I reckon the best p plater skyline for you to get would be a r32 non turbo rolling shell and put an r33 rb25 in it. Would be legal and quite a fast p plate car. Could get it for a few grand also, can get a 25de for under a grand and a shell for 2-3k?

Yeah I've thought of that already but the father wouldn't let me buy a shell :(

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/346241-rb20e/#findComment-5577038

If you like it then keep it, simple as that.

P-platers like you and me arnt meant to be driving fast performance cars, so just get some experience driving and put some money away so when you get on your opens you can sell it for a turbo.

Plus people will just think you have a fast car because its a skyline, so there is no need to race your mates cause they will already think you would smoke them haha :( The ups of 17 y.o's not knowing the difference between a turbo and a N/a skyline.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/346241-rb20e/#findComment-5577071

Do this.

/thread

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/346241-rb20e/#findComment-5577544