Having Two Cars

Modena

...Having a good economy, practical,and something that doesnt get picked on by the police, daily driver is great.

Bit of trivia...

For a while, I ended up losing 9 pts on my licence in quick succession. Not 1 of them was on my GT-R.

I was guilty of complacency as well as speeding. >_<

haha dedicated hoon right here^^^^^

All jokes aside, you can still speed/ do silly things in slow borings cars, but im more likely to put my foot down in my toys.

That said, ive also been done for speeding in my brothers old totally standard datsun 1600, and another family members 4 cyl TS magna, ~7kmh over the limit :rolleyes:

Dont worry about 2 cars,

I have my Ute as a daily

My Gts 1 (R31) as a Weekender ,

A N13 SSS as a track hack

all 3 of them rego;d and insured.

Shannon's limited use cover is fantastic you dont need a Perfect driving record,but it helps if its only minor things,

Cant help but ask them anyway

Dont worry about 2 cars,

I have my Ute as a daily

My Gts 1 (R31) as a Weekender ,

A N13 SSS as a track hack

all 3 of them rego;d and insured.

Shannon's limited use cover is fantastic you dont need a Perfect driving record,but it helps if its only minor things,

Cant help but ask them anyway

Thanks.

Im thinking of having both cars and the house insured with the same insurer... maybe Id get an even better discount?

Haha, yeah. At least for now, until we buy another house or move to bigger house.

I used to have 2 jobs before (Looking at having 2 jobs again soon), so thought of having 1 extra car just for work. Mrs drives the Dualis and my V35 stays in the garage all week. :P

Or until you have a kid :P

I had a v35 that was a weekender with a fair few mods as far as v35 goes - had to sell it to fund baby stuff... so now it's a 33 as a weekender :P

Thanks.

Im thinking of having both cars and the house insured with the same insurer... maybe Id get an even better discount?

Yes, the insurer will likely give you an extra loyalty discount for multiple cover eg. house + car + contents + CTP + 2nd car and so on.

Warning:- the following year when it comes around to re-insure, a company can get a bit slack (or tight) and charge you more, thinking, "Oh well, they'll probably stay with us anyway".

So it pays to get an extra quote when it comes time to re-insure.

Yes, the insurer will likely give you an extra loyalty discount for multiple cover eg. house + car + contents + CTP + 2nd car and so on.

Warning:- the following year when it comes around to re-insure, a company can get a bit slack (or tight) and charge you more, thinking, "Oh well, they'll probably stay with us anyway".

So it pays to get an extra quote when it comes time to re-insure.

Yeah I always shop around when it comes to renewal. I only pay about $500 for a full comprehensive rating 1 cover on my Corolla annually.

I am 30 yo. :) its with Budget Direct.

yep ive got my Nissan Patrol for work and trips away, plus i tow my car to the track when we go to places that are far away from home, incase i break it.

i just like the fact that i can have my gtr locked up in the garage all waxed. and cleaned perfect. When ever i want to drive it, just turn key and go.

if youve got the coin mate, do it 100%

I used to have a GT Starlet as a daily, and an R33 for the weekend. The Starlet was an amazing daily being small and economical with plenty of poke. I miss it heaps... but living in the city now and being able to walk most places I want to go means I can't justify a second car :down:

Starlet GT + weekend car = win.

Last week I found a '94 Maxima with leather, roof, + all options including crap like mirror heaters and digital entry. Cruise, etc. Every single thing works perfectly, the car drives like it's dont 50,000k's where it's actually sitting on 240,000. Shifts perfectly, the exhaust is quiet as the day it would be new. Not a hit of dirtyness in any fluids, including the engine oil. Got it for 3k with 6 months rego on it. Has the VG30 too, strong engine, although the car will never cop a beating. No signs of leaks, even on the sump there is no grit or signs of cleaning. Even the "Made in Japan, Only owner can remove this sticker" awkwardly placed on the windows lol.

I've had the luxury of a daily+line for about 2 years now, and in hindsight of owning just the line, I don't think I could ever go back to one car. You don't get bored with the line/weekend car - and the cheaper daily provides cheap, reliable travel to work without throwing k's on your weekend car. You can also do the whole car cover/garage thing like I do and you don't even need to wash it as often. Mine just get's a fresh layer of quik detailer/inspection and it's ready to go, no stuffing around to keep it looking good. When a car's in service, you have a second. When you want to work on your weekend car, as PM said, you don't have to stress about putting it back together that night.

Fuel/tyre consumption is moot since you only drive one car at a time. The main expense after buying the second car is simply rego+insurance, plus a little TLC along the way.

And if you really spend a few days looking at all the yards, and private cars, learn the market for the time, you'll end up picking up a quality car, and you won't have to second guess yourself if you got the best value for money then.

Edit: And it's a buyers market so there are some really nice cars out there very cheap.

Edited by GTRPowa

I have a pulsar that is my daily and a HR31 skyline that i have put a 25 into currently and is now a project. I love it as if i was driving the skyline around every day i would hate is, coilovers, noisy etc. I find it good as you enjoy the car that is in the garage more as you only would drive it every now and again.

But it does depend if you can afford 2 regos, petrol, insurence etc.

My partner and i have 5 cars between us. it is alot to look after but all the cars are justified. Having 2 cars can be both easy and hard to look after. there is always going to be 2 rego's come in and 2 lots of insurance to pay. plus petrol and running costs. Having a skyline as a weekender is a good idea. you can drive the corolla every day and when you go into the skyline it feels faster and more enjoyable. also you can spend more time and money modifying the skyline if thats what your into. and if you need parts or you break something, your not in trouble if you have to go to work the next day.

...and people with a 2nd car are carrying out a most wonderful duty to the environment!!!

...the daily can be used during inclement weather

> the weekend car remains clean

> the owner uses less water

> the dams don't run dry

...the daily can be used in inclement weather

> the daily is the only car in ther family that requires detergent car wash

> less residual soap running down the gutters

> less foth and foam in our water systems

> less blue-green algae

> helping the fish and platypus survive

...the daily can be the one that's used for car pooling

> methane emissions are contained within one cabin volume

> less exhaust gasses

> less impact on carbon footprints

Yes, those with a daily are the true 'green' people in this here universe!!! :thumbsup:

...and people with a 2nd car are carrying out a most wonderful duty to the environment!!!

...the daily can be used during inclement weather

> the weekend car remains clean

> the owner uses less water

> the dams don't run dry

...the daily can be used in inclement weather

> the daily is the only car in ther family that requires detergent car wash

> less residual soap running down the gutters

> less foth and foam in our water systems

> less blue-green algae

> helping the fish and platypus survive

...the daily can be the one that's used for car pooling

> methane emissions are contained within one cabin volume

> less exhaust gasses

> less impact on carbon footprints

Yes, those with a daily are the true 'green' people in this here universe!!! :thumbsup:

Yes indeed!

We should now receive carbon offset/discounts on our rego/greenslip/insurance etc etc :D