Still "discussing" with PWR the validity of my warranty claim on the radiator :(

They're being painful...

they are professionals at this task, you are a first time amatuer.

it's a shame their radiators are so damn good.

They're not being very professional: Every time they are contacted due to non-communication, they shunt us to somebody else... I just want an answer either way: it's either covered or it's not.

At the end of the day, the radiator is 18 months old, but has had all recommended fluid changes and maintenance that they recommended: it ha travelled less than 4000 easy kilometres: never been to a track (which was what it was designed for), never been abused: quite simply it is a manufacturing issue.

I paid top dollar for a sub-standard/faulty product, but that's not even the point: I'm just trying to get my car back on the road, whether at my own (extra) expense, or under warranty...

Yes, they are professionals, but their conduct to date has been far from it.

There is a quick way to get "warranty issues" resolved.

Firstly, there is mandatory warranty that states a product must be warranted for a length of time that a reasonable person would expect said product to last for.

I have succesfully used this a few times against HP. They give you a 12 month warranty, but the service life of a PC is given as 3 years, hence, a reasonable person can expect it to last 3 years.

Call up, with the phone call being recorded (As an individual you are legally allowed to do this without telling PWR, if you're a business, it's a no no), and ask them how long they normally expect their radiators to last. Do NOT tell them who you are etc etc at the beginning of the call, make it sound like you're interested in the products etc.

Once you have a valid length of time, you just gotta be like "well you sound like a reasonable bloke, and if you expect it to last 4 years, well, I've got this one that is only 18 months old, you can cover it via warranty"

There is a quick way to get "warranty issues" resolved.

Firstly, there is mandatory warranty that states a product must be warranted for a length of time that a reasonable person would expect said product to last for.

I have succesfully used this a few times against HP. They give you a 12 month warranty, but the service life of a PC is given as 3 years, hence, a reasonable person can expect it to last 3 years.

Call up, with the phone call being recorded (As an individual you are legally allowed to do this without telling PWR, if you're a business, it's a no no), and ask them how long they normally expect their radiators to last. Do NOT tell them who you are etc etc at the beginning of the call, make it sound like you're interested in the products etc.

Once you have a valid length of time, you just gotta be like "well you sound like a reasonable bloke, and if you expect it to last 4 years, well, I've got this one that is only 18 months old, you can cover it via warranty"

Good way to do it!

Not much news, in qld on holiday so I get to drive the stagea again which is nice

I got some new tires for it which are round

And put some fuel in it which was much cheaper than tassie 98 which was exciting

Regarding the PWR thing, a mate of mine had a custom radiator made up by them. He was at the Drags about 18 months ago and the core exploded. It split down the centre of the tubes which led to the engine doing a head gasket. They didn't want to know anything about it.

I've just had a buckled and cracked rim repaired, so I'm hoping it holds together. It goes back on the car this arvo.

Regarding the PWR thing, a mate of mine had a custom radiator made up by them. He was at the Drags about 18 months ago and the core exploded. It split down the centre of the tubes which led to the engine doing a head gasket. They didn't want to know anything about it.

I've just had a buckled and cracked rim repaired, so I'm hoping it holds together. It goes back on the car this arvo.

A friend who runs a performance workshop, had PWR custom make a radiator for a 1UZFE into Hilux conversion; the radiator fell to pieces after only about 8 months.

When he spoke to them regarding warranty; the first question was "Were you using Green or Red coolant?" he told them he'd used green coolant as per toyota spec. "Oh no; you have to use Red coolant!" was the reply; "it states that on your invoice" He faxed them a copy of the invoice; which of course had no such direction on it.

I believe it was a loaded question; it wouldn't matter what he had said, they would've just said he should've used the other type. We had also checked at the time that there were no stray currents; to cause electrolysis, nothing there.

Flat out refused warranty; even though the basis of their denial was not founded in any kind of fact.

He now uses Aussie Desert Coolers for all his custom work; apparently they are a bit gruff to deal with over the phone to begin with, but their work is top notch.

He is still using green coolant (at ADC recommendation) rad is still top notch.

Can always count on you for a good story Dale. :thumbsup:

If I ever need a random anecdote, I'm contacting you!

On a related note, no matter how good PWR products may be, if they don't back it up with warranty or after sales service, word will get out (like on here) & guys will look elsewhere. I won't be approaching them about any of their products after hearing about the above problems & their attitude.

It's bit sad really; I wasn't going to say anything, but there wasn't just an isolated incident within the forum.

And the kicker is; they really rely on their race reputation to sell their gear, I can't help thinking they don't give Stone Bros the bums rush...

I'm not one to start bashing unnecessarily, but I thought my mate had just copped the rough end of the pineapple.

Seems not.

When you can get a china rad for 1/3 of the price, that is backed by a lifetime ( even if untested) warranty, you wonder about the state of aust manufacturing. They do market their stuff as high end, and has been said, Motorsport wise their product doesn't get any bigger (F1).

Maybe a boot up the bum is needed from the small consumer.

I know the oil coolers do: just take off the sticker, and there's a PWR logo staring back at you...

Still no word back from them (again) so far... Thinking about visiting them tomorrow to try to get some answers face to face....

I know the oil coolers do: just take off the sticker, and there's a PWR logo staring back at you...

Still no word back from them (again) so far... Thinking about visiting them tomorrow to try to get some answers face to face....

Good luck with it; hopefully they can resolve the issue.

Might be a bit harder to fob you off when you're in front of them.

Shit looks like they are trying to give a nice anus adjustment without lubricant. I personally know 2 people who work at pwr and they love bragging about where they work, and how good the products are. You should just go down an speak to them face to face like was said earlier.

Edited by lilcrash

Shit looks like they are trying to give a nice anus adjustment without lubricant. I personally know 2 people who work at pwr and they love bragging about where they work, and how good the products are. You should just go down an speak to them face to face like was said earlier.

Maybe you could alert them to the dissatisfaction being aired on the forum at the moment; it appears rb26stagea's experience isn't an isolated incident.

If senior management know what's happening, perhaps they might adjust their warranty attitude. :/

Eventually people vote with their feet; regardless of a manufacturers motorsport heritage.

Edited by Daleo

Update: they're now claiming that incorrect coolant has caused both buildup in the radiator , and they don't cover warranty for corrosion...?!

Last time I checked, corrosion caused the opposite effect to buildup. Coolants used have been as per their rocommendation since the beginning.

They claimed that straight water came out of the radiator when they received, which we politely explained was due to me having to refill it to limp the car 8km to my mech after the car was towed home from the last Stagea cruise.

It's getting pretty frustrating now, but I'm adamant that we have done nothing wrong. The real pain is not having the beast on the road during the coldest part of the year!

Will update when things progress...