finally bought the NStune springs - I will wait for the to come then

install + running staggered wheels - see how the Attessa play with

it - if it play really bad will go to the option of taking drive shaft off

the car or looking for another pair.

next to my mod list - Slotted rotor ten FMIC

yeah not sold yet only advertised them in sa section eoi really want them to go to a good home. and between the ute the stag and baby number 3 on the way i got enough on my plate with out contemplating the 4s

my mate is semi keen, just left for his first swing in the mines today, so if you still have it in 6 weeks when he gets back and is full of money, you might get a phone call.

whats happening with your stag at the moment? surely its time to make up some side pipes and go to AIR already??

i have an rs4s, so factory manual. im pretty much sold on a hypergear ATR43G3 with a .82b internally gated housing. i have an r33 aswell that i went all out on last time, and im sick of the defects, so im trying to get as much out of the stag as i can and keep it as stock looking as possible. i should easily make 250rwkw @ 18psi with what ive got according to DMD tuning but ill wait and see i guess, if it falls short, i might look at getting some poncams put in it.

my main concern atm is my clutch, its feels great but im not sure if its stock, i might have to try and have a look, it had a few mods when it came to me from japan, so im not sure what its got in it, if i need to replace it, im looking at an NPC organic single with flywheel.

A Hypergear highflow will get you that sort of power on that boost with much better response

Went out to get in the car this morning and had a minor heart attack! :O

Around the inner circumference of the left front wheel is a fine coating of oil that lines up with the brake rotor! :(

I automatically assumed it was brake fluid that has leaked between the two mating surfaces of the caliper, and been flung around inside the rim. Pulled wheel off, doesn't smell like brake fluid; washed wheel, no paint damage.

Checked caliper, no apparent leaks, but two fine lines up the back of the caliper of oily liquid that line up with the inner edges of the rotor venting. Hmmm, WTF? :verymad:

Worked it out; it's cutting fluid from when the rotors were slotted by the brake specialist! :rolleyes:

They had a light coating on the rotor faces that I wiped down with wax & grease remover before fitting; but obviously some has run into the venting, and been flung out during the drive home...

I think I had the same thing Dale, when I did mine. I had the discs (crossdrilled) machined before going on the car. Once installed took them for the Test and found the same- Fluid on the wheels! I took the wheels off again, double checked the torque of the brake lines- both OK, cleaned and re-assembled. Been perfect since!

Now you said this it has clicked! :worship:

A Hypergear highflow will get you that sort of power on that boost with much better response

thats ok if you can spare the time to pull the turbo and have it flowed :D + im sure its more expensive to have it flowed than buy one off the shelf?? but i could be wrong..

Depends what highflow your doing to how expensive it is going to be....Hypergear is about $880 but if you want BB they can cost up to $1,650. If I had a choice I would have gone for an off the shelf Garrett but unfortunately the turbo is the easy part.....it's all the other crap that you need to make around it.

Thats OK if you can make stuff yourself and know what your doing.

the reason behind the G3 was to fit the largest low mounted internal gate turbo i could. testing shows the G3 with a .82b rear housing can make up to 290rwkw @ 20psi on 98 pump fuel. i know that i might lose some response, but hell my other car is t67, with a hi-stall and auto... so this will be like a dream for me hahaha.

as for doing it all, i do all my own work, i never take my car to a shop unless i really need to. occasionally ill get somthing fabricated, but i still normally do it myself, the only time i get work done is tuning. i wouldnt even know where to start, nor do i have the cash laying around to blow up an engine trying to tune it hahah.

garret is.... well i dont know, i had a lowmounted GT3076 on my skyline originally, .63 rear, internally gated, and i couldnt get a drop more than 225rwkw, which is why im not even bothering with them this time round. $1200 off the shelf hypergear, dyno proven, decent quality.... ill take my chances, i did with my t67, bought a kinugawa(kamak) turbo off ebay, and its proven worthy time and time again, as they have with outher forum members.

cheers.

Edited by OMY31T

Hmmm i ran a 3076r .63 external gate running on an auto 25 only 15-16psi low boost made 244rwkw on one dyno and 248rwkw 0n another on 98 and before that had a gcg high flow old school thing made 226rwkw major comp surge though. so i thought you would have pulled better numbers than that out of the garrett

my mate is semi keen, just left for his first swing in the mines today, so if you still have it in 6 weeks when he gets back and is full of money, you might get a phone call.

whats happening with your stag at the moment? surely its time to make up some side pipes and go to AIR already??

Stag is 99.8% finished just chasing some wiring gremlins up from the harrness conversion. then tune time hanging out

garret is.... well i dont know, i had a lowmounted GT3076 on my skyline originally, .63 rear, internally gated, and i couldnt get a drop more than 225rwkw, which is why im not even bothering with them this time round.

Internal gate is shit. Don't blame the turbo for your setup issues...

i will blame the turbo because as you stated, internal gate is shit... guess what, on other internal gate setups, much higher figures are available than that of a garret internal setup. i never said "garrett" was shit, just thier internal gated turbos, i could have easly thrown a .82 rear on it with external gate and seen up around 300rwkw no worries, but i dont want to go down that road. ive had plenty of garret setups over the years and would use garrett everyday of the week over most other turbos, but not in this particular setup.

i hope that explains better.

and also, it was a nissan 6 bolt housing, and im using the same thing again.

Edited by OMY31T

the reason behind the G3 was to fit the largest low mounted internal gate turbo i could. testing shows the G3 with a .82b rear housing can make up to 290rwkw @ 20psi on 98 pump fuel. i know that i might lose some response, but hell my other car is t67, with a hi-stall and auto... so this will be like a dream for me hahaha.

as for doing it all, i do all my own work, i never take my car to a shop unless i really need to. occasionally ill get somthing fabricated, but i still normally do it myself, the only time i get work done is tuning. i wouldnt even know where to start, nor do i have the cash laying around to blow up an engine trying to tune it hahah.

garret is.... well i dont know, i had a lowmounted GT3076 on my skyline originally, .63 rear, internally gated, and i couldnt get a drop more than 225rwkw, which is why im not even bothering with them this time round. $1200 off the shelf hypergear, dyno proven, decent quality.... ill take my chances, i did with my t67, bought a kinugawa(kamak) turbo off ebay, and its proven worthy time and time again, as they have with outher forum members.

cheers.

Hypergear highflow is about $900 with the oil line

But it does suck how you have to be without a turbo for a week or so

you will find the g3 will need a lot more work to fit it up tho (needs a larger intake to be made up)

and from what stao has said it just doesn't perform well on low boost

the neo highflow has also resulted in about 260kw

for the sake of a lot of response and only 40kw gain i'd go the highflow

best bet tho is to pm or email him and see what he recommends for your application (he won't try and sell you the most exxy option cos he seems like a nice guy)

i will blame the turbo because as you stated, internal gate is shit...

So Mick_o's GTX3071 0.82 int gate is shit....sure, it did shit in 335rwkw on E85.

and also, it was a nissan 6 bolt housing, and im using the same thing again.

Here is half your issue. It is not a Garrett turbine housing. Suitable for hi-flows but not larger compressors without compromising results. Assuming you had used a 0.63 Garrett turbine housing with internal gate you would have made a fair bit more power like The Mafia has done.

IMO there is another issue which may rear its head when you get the HG turbo.

mmm maybe anyway, that car is another story altogether, so i dont even know why we are on the subject, the car is now a T67 highmount... and a GT is totally different the a GTX large frame turbo the inducer and exducer is larger in size just for starters..., not to mention mine was only an a/r 60 compressor housing with antisurge, not the larger a/r 70 because it couldnt be low mounted, i bought the car like that, i didnt do the garrett build, and i made as much power with the setup i did as i could have with a GT35, and it cost me half the money to build it.

anyway, my biggest issue is that i cant drive my other car for a week while waiting for a highflow.. 3rd gear is blown, end of story, the stag is my daily, id be hard pressed to even be without it for a weekend.

anyway, at the end of the day, its up to me how i build the thing, i take the advice into consideration, but not the flaming dicks, if i dont like the GT30 garret i had, so be it, i dont have to.

:thumbsup: 'Like' agree completely the numbers don't mean anything to me as i know sweet FA about turbos but in the end - your car, your choice

So Mick_o's GTX3071 0.82 int gate is shit....sure, it did shit in 335rwkw on E85.

Here is half your issue. It is not a Garrett turbine housing. Suitable for hi-flows but not larger compressors without compromising results. Assuming you had used a 0.63 Garrett turbine housing with internal gate you would have made a fair bit more power like The Mafia has done.

IMO there is another issue which may rear its head when you get the HG turbo.

A properly set up turbo, with the right gate piping WILL perform. I work in mechanical engineering, dealing with turbo applications everyday. A fellow enigneer I know has a Turbonetics T4/T5 Race hybrid setup on a 4 cylinder (square engine - only info & clue I will disclose, as it is street registered & driven fairly angrily every weekend) that is internally gated, & made 463rwkw @ 17psi on his last tune. It flowed 1,231CFM @ 8,500rpm. Boost comes on at 3,000rpm. Cannot give any further info as he is super secretive & will KILL me if he finds this post, which he won't cause he's not on here..................... :angry:

:thumbsup: 'Like' agree completely the numbers don't mean anything to me as i know sweet FA about turbos but in the end - your car, your choice

touche :D

pipster and 533 ryc. thank you for the inforamtive posts, and advice, im quite happy to read it. i just dont appreciate being flamed for no reason by others, the other setup it had obviously didnt work, it was like that when i bought it, but not once did is i say garrett was shit in my original post, i was just a bit unsure of that turbo as i had a bad experience with it. i have had good experiences with garrett turbos and im still learning alot about the setup of these things which is why i like to go a different route, why do the same thing as everyone else.

cheers. now can we move on? i will talk to stao directly insted of my tuner, my only issue is having a car for a week while a highflow is getting done.

the pump went in today without a drama, hopefully ill have my sard injectors in a week or 2, then i just need to sort the turbo, and put it in for a nstune and tune.

Correcting you hardly counts as flaming.

GTX30xx and GT30xx turbos run the same turbine and therefore same turbine housings so it is exactly relevant.

No one is trying to make you like the GT30 based turbo but IMO there is another issue with that setup. I have been down the path of changing turbos after getting a poor result. After the new turbo didn't produce decent numbers, I had to find the problem.

Good luck with your setup.