Hey Everyone !

Been Reading on SAU for the last 4-5months or so....Great site and people ..heaps of good info etc....

This Post im starting to find out question on my turbo upgrade is what pushed me over the edge and made me join lol ( only so much you can read without being hooked and needing to join ) wanted to start asking all you guys who know and actually own the cars etc.

I have a C34 RS Stagea ...I have owned It for about 3years now and slowly been working on it...

Bayside Blue, Full Leather and electric seats etc ,RB25DET Neo 58,000km Trip/Auto

Volk Racing

235/40/18 Front

265/40/18 Rear

Tein Adjustable coilovers

sway bars etc

FMIC

Good Turbo Back exhaust ( high Flow )

Trust POD

Chunky Trans cooler Kit ( everyone tells me ) need to get it looked at by MVs to find out more

Spitfires ( good plugs etc )

wallbro 500Hp Intank Fuel pump

Apexi AVCR

Nistune Board 4

After Getting all this stuff done and parts all brand new and installed by good named places ...and the tune was done by well known place ..it made 198.7rwk @ 12psi .

Would of loved to crack at least the 200rwk on paper but it didnt happen ! lol

Now to the point...I wont more Power :)

I Have been looking into turbo upgrades for ages now and I just cant make my mine up.... I have read sooo many therds and post and thought its time to ask you guys!

Looking for the Dream of near ( 300rwk ) and keeping it with good spool times not 7years Lag :)

Started looking at Highflow from A.T.S( trying to keep legal) $2250 lines etc ..been told will make easy 250rwk and will keep near the same spool times great everyday driver with little lag /power when needed

Then looked at the same highflow with with bigger comp cover etc little bit more lag but getting near the 300kw but not making real boost untill 4000-4500rpm

Started thinking along the lines of "ok maybe I should just go total after market" like Garretts 3076r / GTX 3076R ( been told NO buy tuner it will have sooo much lag ...Yes you will make easy 300rwk but never get to use it...bye the time your car starts spooling up the other cars alreadys blown you off..or the corner you wanted to hit has gone because to much lag!

PLEASE HELP...I do not know what way I Should go...anyone done any of these turbos or highflows?

I Know the Z32 is needed for any but I have been thinking of doing 780cc njectors and manifolid with the aftermarket turbo so I can keep the stock stuff for bolt on and off reasons lol But Still with this the tuner said no still to much lag and i wont be happy and wont be making power till 5000rpm and over...

Anyone That can help me out with what way I should go please help me out because im lost :)

Cheers a million everyone more then keen to hear what everyone comes up with !!!

Zeke

P.S $3415 1st high flow turbo I said ( A.T.S ) Z23 AFM install and tune ( 250rwk )

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/353847-c34-turbo-upgrade/

This sort of thing has been covered to death in forced induction so if you really want 300rwkw then you need a GT3076 or bigger if using 98ron.

If you are willing to use E85 you can probably go down to a GT3071 sized turbo.

On a stagea there are a few other issues to consider and weight is one of them. Larger turbos feel even doggier on a heavy car with 2.5L displacement so you need to think carefully about where and how you use the car.

In the bolt on upgrade range a high quality hi-flow will get you 250rwkw or thereabouts and is definitely worth considering. It is a lot more power despite what forums seem to imply.

A HKS GT-RS is very similar to hi-flow but comes on a little quicker.

A HKS 2835 ProS or the new HKS 2835 Kai slightly larger turbine and a whisker more compressor flow than the GT-RS and is probably the standout turbo for 2.5L RB's.

Then you are into the not quite bolt on turbos like Hypergear which will require a few more mods but will make good power quite cheaply. They are bushbearing which can affect transient response but will still make numbers.

Then the Garrett range comes in with all the required changes they need intake, oil water lines and dump changes.

I would look at the HKS 2835 kai but it might not reach 300rwkw.

new larger injectors otherwise you'll be stuck at around 220awkw withmaxed stock injectors (and adjustable nismo fuel pressure regulator)

z32 air flow metre

Go for the garret internal wastegate dual ball-bearing GT3076r or the newer GTX3076r if budget allows.

lag really isnt an issue, tuner is spilling crap.

by the time the 'other' car has clutched 1st to 2nd my C34 slams on boost and goes. goodbye. ....... but it IS different to the stock zippy turbo

my 3076 is a bitsa - stock nissan 45v4 compressor housing bored out to maximum, gt3076r IW BB core CHRA# 700177-5015, with .73 a/r AVO skyline rear exhaust housing.

had it made up at Adelaide Turbo Services for a little over 2grand with all parts, bolted it on myself.

then retune the Nisstune to suit the larger turbo and injectors/afm

Hey Guys thanks for the info..

Wolverine you think the HKS 2835 Kai would be your pick..better then the highflow?

Tangles Sounds like you went down the same road as I an...( A.T.S ) 3076highflow using my turbo....making the 250ish rwkw ...all bolt on in stock housing...

Then bill said why dont we do the GTX3076 bigger comp cover etc and your get near the 300rwkw,,,about same spool time as the 1st highflow I said ..

I WAS LIKE SWEEET....then back to the tuner told him he said no thats not the way to go...it will have sooo much lag you will never use it...miss coners...P plate commie drivers smoking you off...

trust me if you go anything other then the highflow 3076 you will be sooo mad because it will be 100% drag car not a daily driver thats nice to drive...

Then said if your not happy with power we can change comp cover after injectors n retune...I was like WTF why not now..i wont be happy lol

I would just like to make some nice power Near 300rwkw more then near the 250rwkw with nice spool times....I Think If im Spending all this cash again I wana get it right :)

Tangles when does your highflow start spooling...and start making real power? what PSI are you running>?

Then lots of poeople saying bolt a hks turbo ,manafoild , injectors z32 tune...if I get defected for turbo ,,,I can bolt turbo n man off and on ... thoughts???

sounds like you want the GTX 3076r.

the tuner is wrong IMO, the gt3076r is a fun turbo to drive with....but then again Ive got cams so they would help bring the turbo on a bit

around 1800-2200 rpm you're off boost and cruising economically, 2800rpm the turbo would be at 5psi, 3500rpm around 12psi, 3800rpm its near 15psi, 4000rpm at 16psi my max setting in my profec B spec-ii EBC all the way for as long as you keep the right foot pressed down.

Im only using S15 450cc injectors, a toshi remap (for stock injectors) and an AEM fic-8 piggyback (like emanage ultimate) for a max of 240awkw/250rwkw at 1.1bar

with larger injectors, say 600cc, I could retune for near same economy but gain 10% more power. with the auto and awd Id say this turbo is maxed at around 270awkw at 19-21psi. with manual and rwd 300rwkw could be seen for sure.

Exhaust housing options would make a difference with 'lag'. A .63AR would have no lag but would max at 250kw, my .73ar exh.housing would be good for 270kw, a .86ar housing good for near 290kw, and the 1.06 would be laggy but reach past 300kw. Im using the AVO 'skyline' 6-bolt housing for a true bolton option although I understand now there are other options if you're willing to modify how your dump-pipe bolts up. ie 4-bolt housings, clamps, etc.

So the 3076r highflow wont cut it ...wont be happy with it...what do you think i would be looking at power wise...and spool times and psi? VS the GTX3076 ?

Wouldnt over look them for a HKS turbo set up with manifold bolt on and off job??

cheers guys lover the feed back :D

Be careful with the GTX3076 there is almost no data out there for how well they work. On paper they should be sweet but the only plot for it that I have seen showed that it put out similar numbers to an old school GT3040 aka GT3082.

The GTX3071 is the more likely candidate as it seems to flow the same as the old 76mm compressor wheel but we haven't seen real world results yet.

If you get bored and compare the GTX specs at the Garrett website you can see that the new billet 76mm wheel looks like the smallest gain over the old one.

The HKS turbos are more money but come with all you need to they bolt on. You won't pay for the stuffing around sourcing parts and paying extra to make them fit.

If you go for a Garrett turbo and want to be a bit of a test pilot then definitely go the GTX3071 as it should do everything the old GT3076 does and hopefully spools a whisker earlier.

If I was upgrading my GT3040 on the R33 this is the way I would go but I would be using a twin scroll turbine housing as I already have the divided HKS manifold and it would be a relatively easy change.

So much to think about...Everything is ment to be getting done on monday...I can get any new model garrett or garret highflow combo for around the $2250 mark,Not sure about the HKS stuff...

A mate has a R32 with a RB25Det out of a R33 and man gearbox to suit same kind of mods with a Smaller Garrett core and .64 but still made Just under 295rwkw on 19psi and said he is making power/boost in low Rpm and by the time it hits 4000rpm he is making full boost on 19psi and making little under 295rwkw....??? true ???

Can i Do anything near this in the Auto...even pushing the 278-282rwkw range with the good boost times so im not waiting for ever for spoll...Mates 180 with 280rwkw is kind of "laggy" but having the clutch makes the world of diff...

Will I be able to keep up with My mates cars In anyway or am I pushing Sh*t up hill and dreaming? Only you Stag owners will know the truth lol :) Mates 300Rwkw 95 RZ Supra is on the list to run with in the Stag :D:)

Once again cheers for the thoughts,Ideas and help ! :D

look to be honest, I think you are expecting a lot from a relitively heavy car with a 2.5l motor.

200kw is heaps in the real world. 250kw is plenty.

If you want more than that you have to be ready for the cost and compromise.....and personally I would (and did) put a 3l motor in. That really helps make up for the 1700kg you are lugging around. Even then I only have about 250kw...but I also chose a turbo for response, I have full boost (18psi) at 2,500...

A mate has a R32 with a RB25Det out of a R33 and man gearbox to suit same kind of mods with a Smaller Garrett core and .64 but still made Just under 295rwkw on 19psi and said he is making power/boost in low Rpm and by the time it hits 4000rpm he is making full boost on 19psi and making little under 295rwkw....??? true ???

Much of this is going to depend on what the pre-dyno and post-dyno figures show. I have seen some results from an SA workshop that all seem pretty high so the final figure might not be comparable to other results.

Full boost at 4000rpm is GT3076 territory (perhaps even the smaller 0.63 turbine housing on a GT3582). This doesn't sound like a small frame GT turbo.

Wringing the neck of a GT3071 or GTX3071 might get you there.

Duncan is echoing what I said earlier a solid 250rwkw is a lot of power for a stagea and much more power can compromise the drivability day to day.

200kw is heaps in the real world. 250kw is plenty.

I have 250rwkw and want more. You soon get use to it.

250rwkw puts it in the similar performance as most quick factory built cars like HSV's and Turbo Falcons etc.

So quick, not fast.

I have a gt3076r .82 rear IW on 15psi manual, and ran 13.5sec down the quarter for example

Are you happy with that or do you want to more?

Cheers for the replys...

200Rwkw atm is Def not cutting it in the stag...:rant: hahahaha Def need more :)

Went for a spin today with the old man, and he is like" its alot better then before..but still would get smoked bye your old SS" :rant::domokun: haha so that did it for me I was like Hell no ..Then he took it for a spin an said its even nicer 2 drive it but still It would get smoked by your last car..

Great info Darrin with the 250rwkw @ 13.5... An the answer to that is Yeah I would like more out of it but good info thats hell helped with the thinking if I wanted more then 250..

How hard would it be to crack the high 12s ???

What are the quicker Stags on here as daily drivers... .power / 1/4mile times? Unreal how worked some of the Cars on here ...loving it :thumbsup::worship: hahaha

Edited by Ezekiel86

There was brad's with a Jun 2.7 kit 605rwhp ran 11.6 and RBNT's had over 500rwhp he ran 11.7 from memory.

Be relistic with your budget and what you can afford. To put out those figures for a daily realiably will cost $20-30K.

Stick to max of 300rwkw's and save gearbox issues etc.

Oh hell yeah I was not thinking going mental like that..but would be nice to get that 300rwkw and still drive it everyday :thumbsup:

by the way darrin your stag is off the hook...the R34 front is so very nice would of cost a bit! I would be happy If i could find a Rear lip to finish off the rear bar... :whistling:

I could push to 270kw at the wheels with larger injectors (currently only 450cc s15 silvia), front facing plenum with larger throttle body, and of course redyno tune. Im with darrin, you get used to 250rkw but it's still plenty of power. Smokes most cars once it pulls on boost, and once I hit the hills it's as quick as you want it to be (ex- adelaide hills sportsbike rider).

As it is I could make it 'quicker' for the same current tune/setup by installing a better autotrans torque converter; would reduce the lag upon takeoff, currently still stock trans just a MV Auto shift kit.

Im thinking the GTX3071 would be the cup of tea................

There was brad's with a Jun 2.7 kit 605rwhp ran 11.6 and RBNT's had over 500rwhp he ran 11.7 from memory.

Be relistic with your budget and what you can afford. To put out those figures for a daily realiably will cost $20-30K.

Stick to max of 300rwkw's and save gearbox issues etc.

11.3 actually with only 530hp at the time when i raced it ;)

+1 on the rest of the comments above, i think 420hp or so is max i would go for a daily, maybe 450hp but then you got to worry about gearboxes, clutches (if you go manual), axles and stuff like that.

Edited by unique1

Tangles sounds nice a nice cup of tea lol...Would love to know how they go :thumbsup:

wolverine 100% get what your saying..I always look at the "compromise" from the car to the bank account to the " Do I really need it " to the what else could I buy now with that money...but the Stag seems to have sum magic pulling power on my wallet hahah :worship:

But only 200Rwkw Atm is like :nyaanyaa: With Cars you guys would SMOKE !!!!

• 6 months later...