I know this is for skylines but did not want to sign up to some mazda Rx7 forum to get qeustion answered.

My question is . Could you import an Mazda RX7 with the Veilside Kit. Rx7 are exempt from SEVs so i know they are out but this car has a diffrent silouette.

and they don't have the RX7 badge.

I want one please help!

vf-rx7-ff3-045.jpg

we supplied the actual film cars for Tokyo Drift, including the Veilside RX7s

2 of which (along with a number of the other cars) we shipped back from LA to newera Japan.

one of the FDs went to the UK, the other went to Oz

all the genuine paperwork etc came with the car to show it was the genuine film car

it could be bought. over 10k for panels. another 10 for fitting and paint. may as well be 10k for wheels.

I did see one for sale in canada for 20k. but I didn't have the cash spare.

whether you can register it once fitted is questionable.

Yeah, I would like to know that as well. There's no use if you can't register it once fitted. :(

we supplied the actual film cars for Tokyo Drift, including the Veilside RX7s

2 of which (along with a number of the other cars) we shipped back from LA to newera Japan.

one of the FDs went to the UK, the other went to Oz

all the genuine paperwork etc came with the car to show it was the genuine film car

so you guys have imported and registered a Rx7 series 6 - 8 with the veilside kit and still registered it here in Australia , or is the car unregistered.

If it is registered are you thinking of selling it.

Also the Veilside kit can be purchase for $120000 from Japan. I have a mate who would paint it for $1500 - $2000 tops. I could buy a damaged/ wrecked with an interior intact for maybe $8000 , or an rx7 with blow motor as i want to put 20b in it anyway ( bit worried how much 20 b will cost / availability ) . i reckon i could get one on the road for $30,000 ( don't say no i'm pretty resourceful)

here's the run down any comment would be appreciated and am i right on costing

• Rx7 wrecked/ smashed/ blown series 6 - 7 $7000 - $110000
  • Rx7 wrecked / smashed/ blown series 8 $13000 - $16000
  • 20 b rotary built $5000
  • veilside kit $12000 + shipping
  • fitting and painting $2000 - $2500 ( paint materials only )
  • rims second hand with tyres $2000 - $3000
  • spacers, lights f/r, $1000
  • reg /rwc $500

Total min $30,500 - max $41,000

I am so confused.

I looked on EBAY for a series 6 - 8 RX7 and they have them but the phot's are from Auction houses inn Japan. It says nothing about not being able to register them . . Why would they try to sell these cars in Australia.

I am right in saying you can't import an 6 - 8 RX7 into Australia and register it here.

Edited by nickor33

okay cool . So the series 8 's are considered a different model to the series 6 - 7 . I missed that put of sevs. Anyway answers my question thanks.

update on project.

Am finding it very difficult to find wrecked or cheap 6 - 7 - 8 series , RX7 . Anyone know where to get a cheap Australian delivered shell or wreck .

trying to spend under 10 k.

So Sad

Auction in Japan this week

can't register it here in Australia

I Hate Holden / Ford / Toyota , if they made cars that looked like this i would buy one , but they are all shit and look crap and are built really badly.

And for that reason i can't have this car

and that sucks

Can I just add, at this point, that if you actually purchase a car and the bodykit and get it to the point of registration, I will personally donate $100 to your rego costs...

Edited by Iron Chef

your main issue will be the headlights.

I can't see why you couldn't get that engineered.

also the width but i doubt they will pick up on that.

I saw a build video online its a stupid amount of work the panels don't simply bolt on.

you can't register that one here because they were sold here in 94'

your main issue will be the headlights.

I can't see why you couldn't get that engineered.

also the width but i doubt they will pick up on that.

I saw a build video online its a stupid amount of work the panels don't simply bolt on.

you can't register that one here because they were sold here in 94'

:blink:

I reckon the only way to do it is buy one already done like the one that was on import monster at USS T. import is as a race only vehicle. once you have it here, buy a regular RX7. swap all the veilside gear, wheels etc everything over to your aus car. put the aus cars bits onto the import. sell the import with it's now standard bits on it as a race car (that is all you could sell it as, it could never be registered). then get the now veilside modded aus car registered (if you can) and enjoy. but your budget is about half what it should be. I'd say double it to $60K and you'll get there. you may recoup some money from the sale of the race car though.