thanks for the suggestions. The car would be registered. I already have an unreg skyline and i miss having a sportscar to drive on the road.

I actually found one of the cars used in the tokyo drift movie for sale . Don't know the price though , probably heaps.

seriously peoples you can get a 1999 - 2002 rx7 s 8 for $16000 - $17000 landed and registered ( import ). The veilside kit cost $12000 + postage. I can put it on myself. The paint my mate could do for sub $2500. Wheels would cost $2000 . ( don't say no. Because if you have been to the states you would know they are about a third of the price there )

allow even another $6500 for lights and various parts and it still comes out at $40,000 . No way it would cost me $60,000 .

btw i realise $30,500 is a bit ambitious as that was based on wrecked RX7 ( can't find any )

Edited by nickor33

Can I just add, at this point, that if you actually purchase a car and the bodykit and get it to the point of registration, I will personally donate $100 to your rego costs...

Thanks. i'll do you one better. you do that and i'll come around and let you take it for a spin . Cheers.

might be a while though due to astronomical expense, but is my lifes mission so it will happen ( if i can register it which is my only hurdle )

will it help if I tell you i've been in and driven one of the veilside fortune RX7s that were used in tokyo drift, when they were back in tokyo? I can also tell you one of them had a little rear-ender on the freeway! d'oh. keep chasing the dream, but personally I don't see it happen. by the time you get all this together most likely they won't be producing the kit anymore.

I looked on EBAY for a series 6 - 8 RX7 and they have them but the phot's are from Auction houses inn Japan. It says nothing about not being able to register them . . Why would they try to sell these cars in Australia.

I am right in saying you can't import an 6 - 8 RX7 into Australia and register it here.

Because not everyone uses them as a road registered vehicle, some people like to do their racing on a track unlike in Tokyo Drift.

I Hate Holden / Ford / Toyota , if they made cars that looked like this i would buy one , but they are all shit and look crap and are built really badly.

And for that reason i can't have this car

and that sucks

Toyota? Built really badly? Really? And you're contrasting that to?

That's not the reason you can't have that car, it's because cars depreciate like a mofo in Japan. We don't have the same laws and taxes with regards to older cars and registration, so we have tariffs in place to protect our new and second hand markets from mass depreciation due to cheaper imports - not because the local cars are "inferior" in some way. Case in point, the Australian delivered RX7...how would you like to have bought one brand new for $90,000 and find out 3 years later that it's now worth only $30,000 because people can import them from Japan for that price? Thanks to the tariffs, the Australian delivered RX7s have sustained their value instead of falling to the bottom dollar like the Skylines, Silvias, Soarers and Supras of the same era that weren't sold in Australia.

seriously peoples you can get a 1999 - 2002 rx7 s 8 for $16000 - $17000 landed and registered ( import ).

In what, auction grade 3? Another $100 your way from me if you can achieve the above with an auction grade 4 or above series 8 RX7. Have you actually researched this stuff and listened to what people, who have a lot more experience importing cars, have told you in this thread? For someone claiming to be so resourceful, it's taking you a lot longer than most people do to realise how much more expensive their dreams are to realise than they initially thought. Instead of looking at how cheap you can get things for, maybe you should start with over-estimating costs, as is the safe way to go about it all.

Because not everyone uses them as a road registered vehicle, some people like to do their racing on a track unlike in Tokyo Drift.

Toyota? Built really badly? Really? And you're contrasting that to?

That's not the reason you can't have that car, it's because cars depreciate like a mofo in Japan. We don't have the same laws and taxes with regards to older cars and registration, so we have tariffs in place to protect our new and second hand markets from mass depreciation due to cheaper imports - not because the local cars are "inferior" in some way. Case in point, the Australian delivered RX7...how would you like to have bought one brand new for $90,000 and find out 3 years later that it's now worth only $30,000 because people can import them from Japan for that price? Thanks to the tariffs, the Australian delivered RX7s have sustained their value instead of falling to the bottom dollar like the Skylines, Silvias, Soarers and Supras of the same era that weren't sold in Australia.

In what, auction grade 3? Another $100 your way from me if you can achieve the above with an auction grade 4 or above series 8 RX7. Have you actually researched this stuff and listened to what people, who have a lot more experience importing cars, have told you in this thread? For someone claiming to be so resourceful, it's taking you a lot longer than most people do to realise how much more expensive their dreams are to realise than they initially thought. Instead of looking at how cheap you can get things for, maybe you should start with over-estimating costs, as is the safe way to go about it all.

Protection tariffs would be unnecessary birds if the Australian public was not f**ked in the ass every time they go to buy something, especially imported products.

Edit:

And further to this point, if they Australian consumer was offered the same range and specifications of product available to most of the rest of the world, even by companies which DO sell in the Australian domestic market...

We wouldn't have car importers, instead I could go down to "Iron Chef super car yard" and buy a R34 GT-R at a reasonable price with a warranty.

I thought Australia was supposed to have a free trade agreement.

Edited by Nee-san

well I do agree about the cost. no way are you going to import a NICE series 8 2002 RX7 for $16-17K. make it $30k and you will get something good. something that is worth owning.

Like 32 GTS4s/ GTRs there is no such thing as a cheap rotary.

corrected for accuracy.

I see your dream and I can tell you now it will take a LOT of money to achieve it CORRECTLY. yes you can probably do it for $40k but in my opinion it will be a half assed attempt.

S8 Rx 7 for 16k - yep - it will probably need a rebuild though.

buying a local S6 wil also be painful. I have just quoted one for the central locking to be repaired and that is over $1500 in parts!

rethink it a bit :)

I see nothing wrong with a country protecting its own economy by using tariffs to sustain a thriving domestic industry, which supports a lot of the population directly and indirectly. We don't get that badly ripped off...considering many of the performance cars up for debate cost near 100k and over in Japan - comparing them to local produce isn't a level playing field. But atleast here, you purchase a new car and sell after a year or two...you might lose 10-15% of its value. The effects of removing these tariffs would stretch far beyond allowing a couple of kids wanting to live out their Tokyo Drift dreams on the cheap. Complete and utter globalisation = a very skewed distribution of wealth throughout the world with you needing to buy a second computer screen from China just to see where Asia sits on the curve.

Our free trade is with the US, I'm fairly certain we have it with other countries too but cannot remember which...Japan is certainly not one of them. All it refers to is tax paid on goods though, not unrestricted import of goods.

When I said free trade agreement, I don't technically mean the actual free trade agreement like the one we have with the US.

I meant more in terms of trade restriction.

Tariffs were lifted by the Keating government I believe, Why should the auto industry be exempt ?

Industry is either competitive or it dies, propping it up for no real benefit just takes efficiency out of your economy.

Example:

Cost of R35 GT-R from Nissan Japan.

Cost of R35 from Nissan Australia.

Think about that.

Those shipping containers they send them over in must be made of gold, there comes a point where profit ends, and profiteering begins, unfortunately people are willing to pay that sort of price....

The auto industry is enormous in Australia, consider the run on effects of everything coming from offshore - it stretches beyond you wanting a cheap R35 from Japan or feeling ripped off as a consumer. If it's government profiteering, what's the big deal? Government isn't an enemy of the people, that's money back into local economy and sustaining jobs. How it's spent may be questionable, but it's certainly better than sending mass amounts of money offshore. The Australian auto industry isn't the only thing propped up, lots of industries in lots of countries around the world are run this way. If you let things run free market without being protected, everything goes offshore because there is always somewhere in the 3rd world that can do it for cheaper.

So you scrap the tariffs, and what are you going to find to replace all the jobs and money dependant on Australia having a domestic automotive industry? Remember the roll on effects...raw materials and logistics industries when cars aren't being built in Australia anymore. Inefficency is a small price to pay for the security we have.

have been doing some more research on this. I have decided it is going to be way to expensive to do. I really love this car but i doubt i can afford it.

I have decided to buy an AW11 mr2. know what your thinking thats totally different, but i decided not to waste any more money on cars. i can get a aw11 for about $5000 - $7000 and they are a different original type of car.

thanks for all the suggestions that have helped me make my decision

its a shame that u couldnt get your rx7 but congrats with your new car. it would have been really nice having an rx7 with a veilside fortune body kit because not everybody has one like a skyline. its a great looking car that looks more exspensive than what it really is lol nice to see someone really determined into doing something not many people would do :thumbsup: