GDAY , i had all intentions of getting out to the Jamboree , but just .. excuses i wont bore you with them .

Am still interested in the auto box , ph me on 0423 546 380 .

regards

Don

Sorry gave you wrong ph no , its 0413 546 380 or work 32768781 or h 33799091

• Replies 390

Any video's a good video :laugh:

Here you go John:

http://www.flexi.net.au/~waradsl/ska/john400m.wmv

(right click, save as)

Thanks to LazyBastard for hosting too :no:

I am not to sure at what stage this was in Blacky's life so I'll let you explain that.

Hey mate,

Not sure where i was up to. Last time we took it out the stocko gearbox was finally giving up the goast. Mike from MV Automatics is just about finished the new Power Glide, built to handle big power, transbraked with all the goodies... we should be hopefully have it in the car and running this weekend. For the time being ive been focusing most of my efforts on finishing off the new fully enclosed trailer for the car.

With the new box, were hoping for some sort of sub 10sec pass, just how far were not sure yet. At the moment were looking into getting the offset changed on the rear rims to sit further under the guards and allow a taller tyre as we have effectively run out of speed in the top end. this combined with a 3.9 auto diff gears and raising the rev limiter should hopefully give us enough MPH to stop hitting the rev limiter before the line.

We will also be putting the chute on this weekend as with the extra mph we will be getting very close if not passed the 140mph parachute req'd mark.

Plans for the new engine are slowly coming together, but money is a little tight as usual with most around chrissy time, but i have been doing a lot of research and plans include:

VH45DE:

Custom Rods

Custom Pistons

Nitrided & Balanced Crank

Decked and O ringed block

ACL head gaskets

ARP headstuds and rod bolts

Port and Polished heads oversized valves

N13 GTiR Valve Springs

Custom Manifold

and the blower?? dollars permitting a PSI blower (same as what the fuelers run but a little smaller)

but yeah nothing to new yet, hopefully ill be able to report back next week with some new killer times, either that or ill be crying that i have destroyed the rear cradle in the car which is about to get a whole heap of reinforcement this weekend aswell. will try take a few more piccies of everything as it comes along.

saaaa-weeet

sub 10 sec pass on a stock internals engine is a bloody good acheivment

has it still got the original driveline (ie driveshaft and diff) - i would have thought that it gave up (specially the diff) long b4 u made a 10 sec pass

ohh - would a roots type blower work? or would that require a lot of custom fabrication

or is the PSI blower a roots type blower?

Edited by usherly

The diff is a nismo 2 way, and seems to be coping fine with the power, Try 09's skyline years ago still ran a standard turbo diff to get to where it did. Drive shaft stilll has the standard uni's and center bearing just adapted at the front to fit the infinity box. When the new driveshaft goes in it will be a beefed up condierably and if possibly, length permitting a one peice unit.

The PSI blowers a basically a roots style blower but require almost no horsepower to turn them. You can spin the pulley on the front back and forth without breaking a sweat which you simply cannot do on a weiland/holley/littlefield style roots blower.

nice - so does this mean supercharger poking out of the bonnet?

sounds like a pretty decent setup and plans for the driveline

Thats exactly what it means :ninja:

Well gearbox left adelaide yesterday on express freight so i should see it late this arvo or tomorrow some time, then it will be rush down to hardy and spycer to get the tailshaft made and a full weekend at the workshop, fitting and making new bits and hopefully we'll be out next weds or sat or both if there on at the Test and Tunes scaring myself again, getting excited now!!

Gearbox finally arrived today, looks awesome, will dummy it up in the car tonight so i can measure the drive shaft and send that off to be made tomorrow, getting really excited now...

haha, yeah. Bloody thing doesnt fit... have to trim some little wing things off it on the side near the back of the pan. Parachute and gearbox fitting on sunday, them some skids.. and then drags on wedensday, farken crazy excited!!

2 speed glide, tube fram front end has gone on hold until at lest the end of this season, we dont want to make to many changes to the car at any one time so we can keep track of how each change effects, advatages, or disadvatages the car and then go from there.

post-3649-1165539360.jpg

Edited by NA_R33